PDA

View Full Version : Swapping wifi card



mrc00l88
04-15-2013, 07:50 PM
Is the Intel 6300 the best way to go? What antenna do we leave blank - is it the far right spot? If anyone has any insight on the swap or which wifi card is the best to put it, I'd appreciate it.

Thanks!

ushhh
04-15-2013, 10:24 PM
I have the intel 6235 and haven't had any problems good card not sure about the 6300 sorry

Pitcher@asus
04-16-2013, 01:58 AM
i know most of people do the change wifi card, but asus suggest do not do it, because maybe it have compatibility problem, asus can not promise all of wifi card are use normal.

mrc00l88
04-16-2013, 04:36 AM
Thanks uhh. Did you have to remove the harddrives or are you able to keep them in the trays as you remove the keyboard? Thanks!

ushhh
04-16-2013, 07:58 AM
U can leave them in if u want

mrc00l88
04-16-2013, 10:49 AM
Thank you ushhh. Anything else I should look at swapping while I'm in there? Already eyeing the ram and the wifi card. Thanks!!

ushhh
04-17-2013, 12:45 AM
since ur going to have to take the keyboard out now is the time to swap the ram saves having to pull the laptop apart later unless u like pulling it apart lol

Quasimodem
04-17-2013, 01:01 AM
The 6235 only has 2 antenna connectors, the 6300 has 3, use the outer two...

Well aware this is a crappy pic, but I use it as reference if I forget where I had the white and black antennas at...

http://i1226.photobucket.com/albums/ee409/bfielding80/1360993331253_zpsf1a48cad.jpg (http://s1226.photobucket.com/user/bfielding80/media/1360993331253_zpsf1a48cad.jpg.html)

tkolarik
04-17-2013, 03:51 AM
The 6300 only makes sense if you have a wireless router that can send 3 streams, at 450, total, like my WNDR4500. If your are away from it you wont benefit from the speed advantage on other wifis. I installed the 6235 and it works great, great range on the bluetooth also

I was able to swap mine without even disconnecting any of the ribbon cables under the top. The is a very good youtube video of someone doing it

Good luck.

Quasimodem
04-17-2013, 05:50 AM
The 6300 only makes sense if you have a wireless router that can send 3 streams, at 450, total, like my WNDR4500. If your are away from it you wont benefit from the speed advantage on other wifis. I installed the 6235 and it works great, great range on the bluetooth also

I was able to swap mine without even disconnecting any of the ribbon cables under the top. The is a very good youtube video of someone doing it

Good luck.

I have an EA6500, so I originally planned on installing the third antenna, but have decided to wait until I have a Wireless AC chip installed...

mrc00l88
04-17-2013, 11:00 AM
What drivers are you guys running with the 6325?