PDA

View Full Version : G73SW upgraded to GTX 560M! Working Great! How to + 3DMark11 Results.



Muratus
04-18-2013, 01:13 AM
Well after a couple small issues it all worked out and my G73SW is running a GTX 560M. The 560M came from a G53SX.

First are a few pics of the 2 cards side by side. The 560M is on the Left and the 460M on the right.

19671

You can see the heatsinks are very similar but the 560M's covers more of the card.

19672

When the heatsinks are removed, the cards are pretty much identical as far as the layout. I decided to use the 460M's heatsink. What I did is cut off the part of the 560M's heatsink that is not covered by the 460M's heatsink. Then I lined up and attached it to the 460M's heatsink. I used some Quick Steal to connect them. The stuff is great, hardens quick and like steel.

19674

19673

The last picture is the 560M with the modified heatsink mounted on the motherboard. You can also see my relocated DC Jack wires coming off my new SW Motherboard. The last one died a horrible death.

19675

The laptop booted right up with no problems until Windows 8 loaded. It refused every attempt to install drivers for the 560M. First it kept giving an error that it was the wrong hardware for those drivers. I got past that by using the .inf file from this site: http://forums.laptopvideo2go.com/topic/30120-v31421-windows-8-64bit-nvidia-mobile-oem/

I would now get up to the point where the drivers tried to installed, but always failed. And after starting a thread here at ROG forums. Adamsyes had the answer "boot with signature driver disabled (metro>settings>general>windows boot options)". That did it! Drivers installed.

I've been playing a bit with 3DMark11, pushing my clocks. Here is a screen shot with the best stable score I was able to get so far.

19677


I'm now on the look out for a affordable 670M from a G75. They are quite a bit different shape, so I'm not sure if it can be done. I sure want to try though.

Anyway let me know what you think or have any questions let me know.

Red Rose
04-18-2013, 03:18 AM
Bravo sir and thanks for the guide. I too have a G73SW and was curious to try this out myself. Ill keep this bookmarked in case I want to do some modding on my G73 while i continue to use my G74.

Zygomorphic
04-18-2013, 10:22 AM
@Muratus, +rep for the excellent tutorial and impressive mod! I'm quite impressed and looking forward to more of these! :) Great work!

ValleyOfShadows
06-26-2013, 08:29 PM
this is great! but tell me, how are you able to get your card to clock that high? mine is at 768/1500/1535. notice i had to down-clock the core & shader speed.

EpIcSnIpErZ23
07-07-2013, 10:31 PM
Hey man, i found a GTX 670m From the Asus G75 on ebay. Here ya go :D - http://www.ebay.com/itm/NEW-ASUS-G75V-G75VW-VGA-Graphics-Video-Card-60-N2VVG1200-B23-Vidia-GTX-670M-3GB-/370703425184?pt=PCC_Video_TV_Cards&hash=item564fa55ea0

lendon
11-29-2013, 04:06 PM
may i ask?
My 560M can lite the external LCD but not lite the original LCD
why?

am I lack of the Vbios?
My card come from G53SX
please help me
thanks

jmhdj
11-30-2013, 12:40 AM
may i ask?
My 560M can lite the external LCD but not lite the original LCD
why?

am I lack of the Vbios?
My card come from G53SX
please help me
thanks

Yes it looks like you need to find other vbios. Look for Picture of his 3dmark score there you can see wich vbios Version he has on his own card and compare With Your if not same ask him or Google for his vbios. Good luck

shamakh
12-07-2013, 01:50 PM
I have a G73sw3d and my graphic card origional driver is causing my pc to crash and the screen also starts flickering however when I remove the nividia driver and run the pc with windows driver the computer is stable. I believe that the graphic card is faulty and needs replacement. I have looked on the internet and found a few places where I can get the graphic card in a working but used state and also one new is available my question is that are all the gtx460m chips of same size and layout even if they come from Dell M17x also if there is any alternate to this graphic card that is compatible with Nividia 3d and my laptop and is a direct replacement. I do not play any games on my laptop but I do like to watch some 3d films oceasionaly. Please anybody let me know what my options are as my system is out of warranty. Many thanks in advance.

Zygomorphic
12-07-2013, 08:00 PM
may i ask?
My 560M can lite the external LCD but not lite the original LCD
why?

am I lack of the Vbios?
My card come from G53SX
please help me
thanks
That sounds like a failed/failing video card or cable, not a faulty VBIOS.

ansformore
01-12-2014, 08:58 PM
hello
j have the same situation
gtx560m installed inside a G73sw with windows 8.1 (ssd 256G +16g memories)
but after F7 et reflash bios 205 orign asus
Impossible to install driver nvidia
please help me
thank thank

ansformore
01-13-2014, 01:04 PM
I ned your help please
thank a lot

Zygomorphic
01-15-2014, 02:07 AM
@ansformore, I would assume that you are asking how to get the nVidia drivers installed with the original BIOS. I believe that isn't practical, since you are running a different video card for which the system was not designed.

Redfox442
04-01-2014, 10:26 PM
Im having the same issue with the driver install however, I am using windows 7 64-bit, not windows 8. Any idea on fixing?

Zygomorphic
04-02-2014, 10:14 AM
Im having the same issue with the driver install however, I am using windows 7 64-bit, not windows 8. Any idea on fixing?
Try the nVidia drivers from nVidia's website. Those are pretty universal.

Redfox442
04-17-2014, 09:42 PM
That was my first step, when I run the .exe it says that it couldn’t find compatible graphics hardware. I am having difficulty getting the computer to recognize the 560 in device manager or dxdiag. Maratus says this:

“I would now get up to the point where the drivers tried to installed, but always failed. And after starting a thread here at ROG forums. Adamsyes had the answer "boot with signature driver disabled (metro>settings>general>windows boot options)". That did it! Drivers installed.”

Is there a way I can do this in windows 7? "boot with signature driver disabled" I know that this is probably my best shot at a solution.
My other guess is that a generic video driver is being run via the intel HD 2000 graphics and not on the dedicated gpu, therefore causing for no need to enable the gpu in the first place. PLEASE SOMEONE HELP... I really want to utilize this graphics card, its been almost a YEAR! :)