PDA

View Full Version : G55VW W8 clean install mistake please help?

getabu
04-18-2013, 03:16 AM
So I have a good one for you guys

keep in mind that this is my first time dealing with a GPT partition disk system
plenty experience with normal drives (ntfs)

so I recently purchase an asus g55vw ES 71 and it came with W7 so I decided to upgrade to W8
I boot the W8 from usb flash drive and planning to do a clean install to the os partition but I was not
aware of the gpt..... so I format and it don't let me install the new Windows (panic panic buttom on)
I restart to do a recovery (f9) and when I chose to recover in the first partition only, it says that there's a
missing file on C:/ (of course I wipe that partition) and I didn't make or have a recovery disk!!!!! :"(

question is; can I install W7/8 (I don't care at this point) without formating the whole disk, only installing on the partition
meant to it?
unlock or anything the main partition?
format the os partition to a new file system so i can install normally Windows? And how
I read a lot but as I said before I don't have any experience on this kind of partitions systems or UEFI mother boards

please help.

ps: I would like to purchase the recovery DVD but I'm outside the us (Venezuela) and is very difficult to get one immediately.

rewben
04-18-2013, 05:03 AM
hi @getabu, try this:

1. boot the laptop up with your usb stick plugged in;
2. press esc key on boot and select from the blue menu uefi:<usb.stick> to proceed.

good luck.

Pitcher@asus
04-18-2013, 06:24 AM
if you just one HDD, when you into win 8 install display, press shift + F10 to show cmd and type "diskpart" -> select your disk (ex "select disk 0") -> "clean all"

getabu
04-18-2013, 11:07 AM
hi @getabu, try this:

2. press esc key on boot and select from the blue menu uefi:<usb.stick> to proceed.

good luck.

first of all thanks for the suport in advanced.
I hit the esc key with the flash plug in and just show me "general USB Flash disk 1100"

getabu