PDA

View Full Version : G53SW This device cannot start. (Code 10) after changing the bios chip



funkysoup
05-01-2013, 02:05 AM
Hi guys,

recently I have bricked my bios, when trying to update to the throttle free bios. (the usb stick I was using, was formatted to NTFS). Anyway I have found a service center that had the technology to change the bios chip, so I went for it. When I got it back the keyboard light didn't worked anymore no matter how many kb filter drivers I tried, and my realtek network card is showing with a ! in the device manager and it's not working.
I tried to reinstall windows, reinstalled driver, installed older versions also and no luck. I updated my bios to the throttle free version and still no change in the network card.

the keyboard light was fixed in 5 minutes at the asus center, but somehow I forget to tell them to check the network card.

so ... does anybody has a solution for my problem ? or is somebody else experiencing the same issue ?

Pitcher@asus
05-02-2013, 02:14 AM
please send back to asus service center.

winggndm
05-04-2013, 11:15 PM
I'm in the same boat here. I recently flash my bios and a usb flash drive formated as NTFS. I sent it in to have the bios reflashed, but now the ethernet is not starting. I'm guessing there is some information in the bios that is unique to the laptop that the network card needs to start up properly.

winggndm
05-07-2013, 01:41 AM
So the issue is the MAC address of the nic. Right now its set to FF:FF:FF:FF:FF:FF, which is not right. So when they flashed the BIOS, they didn't save the original first 1.5MB of it, which contains it, and over wrote not just the MAC address, but the serial numbers also. Check with:

wmic bios get serialnumber

it will return an wrong one.

I found this out when i loaded Linux, checked what what was happening with the nic, and saw that it was returning the wrong mac address. Which I'm guessing the check for in the windows drivers. In Linux i can just change my mac to my original one, and bring the interface up and I'm good to go

The only way to fix this is to real the full bios image, find out where in the bios image the mac address and serial numbers are, edit the image, and re flash the whole chip.

I knew i should have done this myself. Oh well, lesson learned.

funkysoup
05-07-2013, 08:02 PM
My problem is the same. The mac address. But for some unknown reason, my widows keep failing to start, even after a clean install. It works a week and than suddenly when i boot, after the windows start logo it crashes with a black screen. I tried with windows 7 sp1 x64 and windows 8 x64 same problem.
Maybe is related to the change of bios chip also?

winggndm
05-07-2013, 08:34 PM
I would leave the network card disabled. Just to be safe. As for windows, that's a little weird, i don't think window needs this information to start (mac or serial numbers). Are you installing any programs before you reboot? Is there an error message or just blank screen?

funkysoup
05-07-2013, 10:36 PM
I would leave the network card disabled. Just to be safe. As for windows, that's a little weird, i don't think window needs this information to start (mac or serial numbers). Are you installing any programs before you reboot? Is there an error message or just blank screen?

beside the drivers, no other programs that might be the cause for this. no error message....just a blank screen imediately after the windows loading logo.

funkysoup
05-08-2013, 08:42 AM
I think it might be the video adapter. Yesterday when i powered it on, when it logged in windows i noticed a low resolution, and the laptop stoped responding. After reset the windows will just freeze imediately after windows logo.
I tryed with windows restore, and after couple of tryes without succes i finnaly managed to log into windows.
Everything worked normal, no change, in device manager everything was working. I used the computer 2-3 hours and than I shut it down.

Today when i powered it on i have noticed the same low resolution change, but this time the laptop didn't freeze imediately so i managed to acces device manager and noticed video adapter had a yellow ! In 10 sec the laptpp stpped
responding, and as usual, it didn't load windows anymore, it keeps freezing after wondows logo.

I must say this is a clean windows 8 x64, and i had this simptom on windows 7 also.

I have the last nvidia video driver.

Anyone knows what could be the problem? Is it a driver issue? Or a hardware malfunction ?

winggndm
05-08-2013, 02:38 PM
Sounds like either a hardware failure on the video card, or they left the video board loose. If i remember the GPU is on a seperate board than the motherboard. One thing you could do is open it up, reseat everything and see if that helps. It might be a loose connection.

funkysoup
05-08-2013, 06:57 PM
it might be a driver issue. i managed to restore windows to a prior state. i noticed again the low resolution, and managed to open device manager. the display adapter was faulty and actually with no driver installed. and by the time i was seeing the list windows installed automatically a driver for the display adapter and changed my resolution back to normal, and in 10 seconds the computer stopped responding.

after a couple of restarts i managed to run the nvidia official driver and untill now windows did not stoped responding.20471 20472