PDA

View Full Version : G75VX Windows 8 migration from 1TB HDD to 256SSD clone or clean install and HOW TO?



holymacaroni
05-01-2013, 05:39 PM
Hello everyone! I`m new to the club. Just received my superb g75vx.
Bought it at bestbuy. So there weren`t any dvd`s included. Just this notebook with 1tb hdd inside and windows 8 preinstalled.
I would like to use this hdd as media storage and my ssd as system disk. What is the best way to migrate to ssd. I have already installed it in the left sata3 slot. Is my win8 version is OEM, should i download it from somewhere and use some key iincluded?

Clintlgm
05-01-2013, 06:59 PM
Here's how to get it back to Win 7 if you still have a Win 7 license http://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread.php?29983-Clean-Windows-7-on-Asus-G75VX-(Win8-pre-installed)&country=&status=

Otherwise you'll need a Win 8 ISO to clean install win 8, the version you'll need would be the OEM version.
Check out this thread http://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread.php?31733-Clean-Windows-8-install-on-GPT-SSD-drive-(G75VX)&highlight=Clean+Install


Also you could try cloning from your HD to your SSD. I think most are using http://www.macrium.com/reflectfree.aspx to accomplish this.

Matrix Leader
05-01-2013, 07:05 PM
cloning is the easiest way

pathfindercod
05-01-2013, 07:12 PM
Your Win8 key is stored in your BIOS. So if you get a OEM disc it will install and activate without needing one to type in. Cloning is the easiest but not the best option for performance and wasted pre-loaded space. If the option is available I would re-load instead of cloning. That way you can be sure that Windows will setup and make TRIM work. It isnt always efficient cloning a mechanical drive to a SSD and TRIM sometimes doesnt kick in properly even at all in some cases.

holymacaroni
05-02-2013, 08:02 AM
Thanks for reply! Will try clean install

holymacaroni
05-02-2013, 06:56 PM
so i did clean install. but now, when i`m trying to activate it after installation i always got windows activation error 0x8007007B. Can i somehow export OEM key from BIOS and use it in activation?

holymacaroni
05-02-2013, 07:21 PM
LOL Seems like i did clean install of win8 pro iso.
So i need key from pro version now?

pathfindercod
05-03-2013, 02:48 AM
Yep.. You
Have to I stall the exact OEM version for the imbedded key to work
. Otherwise you'll have to type in a new key for the corresponding I stall.

Clintlgm
05-03-2013, 08:31 PM
Check out this thread there is file in your iso that need to be modified to allow you to put in your Product Key http://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread.php?28758-GUIDE-G55-G75-Upgrade-Notes&country=&status=