PDA

View Full Version : My G75 gets locked up/freeze (desktop use)



ZoidbergForPresident
05-02-2013, 06:51 AM
Hello,

Been having lock up (freeze) issues with my G75 recently.

When I'm using it on High Performance doind desktop apps (internet mainly), at one time it just freezes.
Using Hardware Monitor I get some strange temp readings sometimes: the THRM sensor gets from 40 to 70+ with no reasons, then gets back. The air on the back is sometimes really hot, again with no reason.

I've checked and cleaned the fan filters (they were barely dirty) but I still got it this morning.

Now I'm checking with HW Monitor for when I get it again I see all the temperatures.

It's the G75V with windows 7 ultimate and the latest Beta drivers for the 670M.

Anyone been having this issue?

shadow_smile
05-02-2013, 07:37 AM
I am also having this issue. Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit with Beta 670m.

My temps are not getting as high as yours however. I have my G75 outputting via DisplayPort. When it is the laptop standalone, it works fine.
Could be the beta drivers? Havnt had time to look much into it.

Pitcher@asus
05-02-2013, 07:46 AM
what is your model G75VW or VX? what kind of app do you use? could you use driver from asus support site?

ZoidbergForPresident
05-02-2013, 07:51 AM
what is your model G75VW or VX? what kind of app do you use? could you use driver from asus support site?

I think it's the VW (it's just written V on the sticker), it's the one with an SSD and win 7 Premium.

And I was using firefox. Just tried the Bioshock Infinite Bench three times in a row and a small game of binding of isaac and all seems normal (around 70°C with Bioshock and 50-60 with Isaac).

I really do want to know which temp gets out of whack in addition to THRM, if it's the GPU I'll revert to the non beta drivers.

Apexing
05-02-2013, 07:55 AM
most likely its just the sensors that are funky.
the temp in itself is nothing to worry about.
You never said if you had these issues when you were on none beta drivers, so IŽll asume its the beta driver that causes the freezing

ZoidbergForPresident
05-02-2013, 08:01 AM
most likely its just the sensors that are funky.
the temp in itself is nothing to worry about.
You never said if you had these issues when you were on none beta drivers, so IŽll asume its the beta driver that causes the freezing
Well, I may have had this issue before but not sure, and not sure if those were beta either.

I'll probably revert for now, any tips on downgrading the drivers? An uninstall/CCleaner will be enough?

ZoidbergForPresident
05-02-2013, 09:53 AM
Just got a freeze, but this time I waited a bit (like a dozen seconds), and it unfroze.

Temps were normal...

What could it be?