PDA

View Full Version : Heat concern, and also limited voltage.



Boofus
07-03-2010, 09:00 AM
So im wondering i have a string of capacitors to the left of my CPU that get really really hot under load should i be worried or should i just not worry about them like i have been. and also with this Asus M3A78 im limited on the CPU voltage amount to +50mv +100mv and +150mv. which i top out at about 3.35Ghz. and also when overclocking by CPU multiplier my ram speed drops below stock. as i have a Amd Athlon 64x2 5400+ Black edition that i have overclocked by fsb also to bump ram speeds up.

ottoyu34
07-07-2010, 04:33 AM
I believe you're talking about the CPU PWM, or the power regulators for the CPU.
Usually they are rated tempertures over >100C, and it really depends if your board is built for overclocking using high-quality components. so YMMV.

Yes seems like the board is limiting you.

V2-V3
07-07-2010, 05:13 AM
So im wondering i have a string of capacitors to the left of my CPU that get really really hot under load should i be worried or should i just not worry about them like i have been. and also with this Asus M3A78 im limited on the CPU voltage amount to +50mv +100mv and +150mv. which i top out at about 3.35Ghz. and also when overclocking by CPU multiplier my ram speed drops below stock. as i have a Amd Athlon 64x2 5400+ Black edition that i have overclocked by fsb also to bump ram speeds up.

You dont have to worry about the capacitors getting to hot, they dont really need any cooling as they are not the source of the heat.

the heat is coming from the voltage regulators under the motherboard heatsink, if you can get some mild airflow on the board cooler it will help a lot. but i doubt your board temps are anything beyond acceptable.

for your RAM speed issue you should manually adjust the speed to lock it in or compensate for the drop in MHz.

it is probably a divider that is being changed in relation to CPU speed or FSB.

Boofus
07-07-2010, 10:03 PM
Ive set the manual ram speed aswell. its when i usually use any multiplier under or over 14 it seems to drop. but as ive found a sweet spot for my system at 230x14. but i think i should be able to run much higher than 3.35ghz i can get it to post at 3.4ghz but then doesn't make it to windows. and Amd overdrive wont let me clock with fsb.

V2-V3
07-24-2010, 02:50 AM
Have you tried more or less voltage on the CPU @ 3.4GHz

Windows loading puts a big load on the CPU, if the voltage is too high it will overheat and the system will crash. not enough voltage and the CPU is unstable and will crash.

Boofus
07-24-2010, 10:08 AM
Have you tried more or less voltage on the CPU @ 3.4GHz

Windows loading puts a big load on the CPU, if the voltage is too high it will overheat and the system will crash. not enough voltage and the CPU is unstable and will crash.

Ive gone to the max voltage and the lowest voltage and i don't think my CPU would overheat. my load temperatures are between 40-45c with lowest fan setting in about a 80 degree room. when i max all my fans out it drops below 40c at 1.392v right now stable, at 3220.2mhz and i can get more voltage up to like 1.5v with the amd overdrive but it doesn't allow me to control my fsb, only multipliers. and i have a Amd RD770 north bridge and a Amd SB700 south bridge

V2-V3
08-05-2010, 05:24 PM
Is there a CPU Overvoltage jumper on the board? if there is it will enable higher CPU Vcore options in the bios.

also are you running the latest BIOS?

Boofus
08-07-2010, 07:00 AM
I am running the latest bios and no there is no CPU voltage jumper, but as of right now im running a phenom II 940 at 3.6Ghz. with no issue. but im dreading falling back to my 5400+

V2-V3
08-19-2010, 09:17 AM
If you are willing there is a modification for your motherboard that will allow higher CPU voltage, If you are interested in soldering 2 wires onto your motherboard I can post a guide for you to follow. I believe with the Voltage mod you can reach up to 1.9 volts

Boofus
08-19-2010, 12:40 PM
oh yeah i would like to try that mod out im not really worried about breaking anything.

V2-V3
08-19-2010, 05:40 PM
Boofus,

can you read me all the informatio on the chip circled in this picture?
http://i54.photobucket.com/albums/g94/V2-V3/Asus%20M3A78%20Vmod%20Guide/AsusM3A78.jpg

Also, can you take a nice, clear close up picture of the chip and surrounding area?

Boofus
08-27-2010, 11:27 AM
i will take those pictures for you once i get a new watercooling pump as mine died a few nights ago. But i am running a pretty insane cooling solutions till then. Vf700 as the heatsink with a 120mm fan.