PDA

View Full Version : Do the newer NVidia drivers allow you to overclock over +150Mhz? [G75VW 660m]



WarhNeeks
05-19-2013, 08:54 PM
Hi guys,

It's been a while since the last time that I updated my gpu drivers of my 660m, and I heard that some drivers don't allow you to OC over +150. Is it still true?

Now I am OCing forcing the p-states, with a stable 1200MHz, and it does make a huge difference.

Thanks

dctokyo2
05-20-2013, 02:23 AM
GIYF: Google Is Your friend!

ggBanks
05-20-2013, 06:42 AM
If Google's everyone's friend, why the fudge would people post in this forum ?!
WarhNeeks, no it is not possible yet.

HulkSmash
05-20-2013, 07:23 AM
WarhNecks, yes it is. I'm currently running on 320.14 @ 1200 on my GTX 660m...And I was the first person to post about 320.00 drivers and test them, confirming that those allow you to OC by forcing PStates as well..

ggBanks
05-20-2013, 08:24 AM
I think he was asking if we can overclock without forcing P-states.

HulkSmash
05-20-2013, 11:10 AM
Oh, I thought he was reffering to the fact that the drivers between 310.19 and 320.00 wouldn't let you go over 150+ on core, even by forcing PStates. Sorry if I misinterpreted :P. If not, again, 320.00 or higher does allow you to use the Pstate method...

srmojuze
05-20-2013, 01:47 PM
Hi guys,

It's been a while since the last time that I updated my gpu drivers of my 660m, and I heard that some drivers don't allow you to OC over +150. Is it still true?

Now I am OCing forcing the p-states, with a stable 1200MHz, and it does make a huge difference.

Thanks


Oh, I thought he was reffering to the fact that the drivers between 310.19 and 320.00 wouldn't let you go over 150+ on core, even by forcing PStates. Sorry if I misinterpreted :P. If not, again, 320.00 or higher does allow you to use the Pstate method...

Yup latest [non-Beta] Nvidia drivers do not allow force P-states to go over 1085mhz core on 660M. Memory can be pushed as much as you want though...

Edit: @HulkSmash Interesting! I will try and download beta 320.00+ to see if I can have sweet P-State goodness back again!

WarhNeeks
05-20-2013, 01:59 PM
Sorry guys, I should have explained it better. I want to keep using the Pstates method, and I know that some of the newer drivers don''t allow us to use it.

Thanks HulkSmash for the answer, I'll try the 320.14!

srmojuze
05-20-2013, 02:10 PM
Sorry guys, I should have explained it better. I want to keep using the Pstates method, and I know that some of the newer drivers don''t allow us to use it.

Thanks HulkSmash for the answer, I'll try the 320.14!

YESS IT WORKS! Yay, back to P-State goodness! Thanks HulkSmash...