PDA

View Full Version : G46VW and 1866Mhz RAM



LCF_R
06-02-2013, 12:29 PM
Hello! Just upgraded my G46VW with OCZ memory kit CMSX16GX3M2A1866C10 (this kit includes 2x8Gb modules). Everything works perfect.
May be someone need this information.

P.S. Sorry for my bad English.

SHADO
06-02-2013, 02:00 PM
I'm a complete noob at this stuff, but doesn't the G46VW come with PC3-12800 (DDR3-1600) RAM from the factory?

If so, is there an advantage in installing PC3-14200 (DDR3-1866) RAM instead?

LCF_R
06-02-2013, 05:35 PM
This memory has less latency then my stock. Besites it has more throughput. My stock memory causes some freezes in Warface (I think this is because of memory incompability ot long latencis). I'll make some tests, but now my lags are gone.

ggBanks
06-02-2013, 05:42 PM
Doesn't the chip set limit it only to 1600. I've heard that even if you put higher frequency ram it will down-clock to 1600.

SHADO
06-02-2013, 05:50 PM
This memory has less latency then my stock. Besites it has more throughput. My stock memory causes some freezes in Warface (I think this is because of memory incompability ot long latencis). I'll make some tests, but now my lags are gone.

Glad to hear it has solved your issues! :)

SHADO
06-02-2013, 05:52 PM
Doesn't the chip set limit it only to 1600. I've heard that even if you put higher frequency ram it will down-clock to 1600.

That's what I was thinking (hence my question).

LCF_R
06-02-2013, 06:57 PM
Just look at my another screenshot, memory runs at full 1866 clock.21074

What proof should I post that you beleave me? =)

SHADO
06-02-2013, 07:38 PM
Never said I don't believe you. I was just surprised and/or misinformed from what I've read in the past. :)

LCF_R
06-02-2013, 07:44 PM
Yes, specification on Intel site says that all Ivy Bridge supports only up to 1600Mhz memory and there is no warranty that on all Ivy it will work on full 1866Mhz, but in this case (in this laptop) it works fine, that's why I posted this thread. I thought mau be that someone needs this information.

SHADO
06-02-2013, 07:46 PM
Yes, specification on Intel site says that all Ivy Bridge supports only up to 1600Mhz memory and there is no warranty that on all Ivy it will work on full 1866Mhz, but in this case (in this laptop) it works fine, that's why I posted this thread. I thought mau be that someone needs this information.

Very cool!!

JwPwns
06-02-2013, 07:55 PM
thanks for the info! do you feel any difference in performance? i can't tell apart from my desktop and laptop rams..

LCF_R
06-02-2013, 08:08 PM
It is hard to say... May be it is a placebo effect, but it seems that the game (Warface, online shooter I play) runs smoother. I can't say for sure about performance increase, but my input lags are gone, so I really satisfied for that.

ggBanks
06-03-2013, 06:12 AM
Have you noticed any difference in the score in the Windows Experience Index, and what are the scores between the two types of RAM?

LCF_R
06-03-2013, 08:39 AM
Windows Experience Index is not a reliable source of performance index, but yes, it is now 7.9 (7.8 on 1600Mhz). If you interested in testing real memory performance - you could advise any test you want, like 3DMark, PCMark or something else and I'll test it.

ggBanks
06-03-2013, 11:13 AM
Mine on G55 with 1600 is 8.1, but I guess you are using Windows 7 right?

LCF_R
06-03-2013, 12:17 PM
No, I have Windows 8. Like I said earlier WEI - is not a real test: it gives 6.3 marks (gmaing performance) for HD4000 on my Samsung Ultrabook with Core i5-3317U, and for my GTX660m in G46VW - 6.9 marks (gaming performance). Do you think this two videocards (HD4000 and GTX660m) differs for 10% performance? =)
I can post two screenshots as a proof =)
P.S. Sorry for my bad English. Hope you understand my words.

ggBanks
06-03-2013, 03:13 PM
Yes, yes I get you. Mine gives 7.2 on graphics performance with 660m, so there isn't much help of this thing.

whathedo69
06-03-2013, 03:46 PM
I can agree with LCF_R since the first day I got my g75 i put 2 8gb sticks of ram in my laptop i had my cpu upgraded and so when they upgraded i asked them to pull my ram that was under the key board so i didnt have to go back and do all the work wow thNk goodness lol but anyways this is the run down as far as I know and its from research and exotic pc tutorials the g55 and 75 can both run up to 32gb of ram filling in all 4 slots at 1600mhz now if you want to run at 1866mhz you can only use 2 slots and the reason for that is something to do with the power or voltage that are allowed from each slots and since 1866 is a higher mhz it somehow uses all four slot power for just 2 slots in which gives the power to run at the higher mhz with no problems so if you were to put 4 sticks of ram at 1866mhz the laptop would not have enuff power to run the higher mhz and would be clocked down to 1600 mhz. So im not qite sure what what the whole power thing is on the laptop for the slots but its what i know but if someone can help me with that fine detail that would be much appreciated