PDA

View Full Version : Power4Gear...should I use High Performance setting for gaming?



dogfart
06-13-2013, 03:14 PM
I normally run in Entertainment mode. Should I switch to High Performance setting for gaming? Thanx

ggBanks
06-13-2013, 04:21 PM
Usually that will not be a bad idea if you want best performance.

Djask
06-13-2013, 05:28 PM
Hence the name high performance, you should expect high performance in your games. :)

Kaerbear86
06-14-2013, 07:03 PM
Go with high performance! No Brainer ;)

Zygomorphic
06-15-2013, 01:10 AM
Doesn't really matter, High Performance solely reduces the CPU power-saving states (maximum frequency), which makes the system run hotter, and slightly more noisy. Either is fine.

Quasimodem
06-15-2013, 03:32 AM
You don't actually have to install Power4Gear, its just extra profiles...

I use high performance all the time, and edited the profile to never turn off the HDs and WiFi to Max Peformance

ggBanks
06-15-2013, 01:42 PM
Well P4G is useful in the sense that if you do not have it you will have to manually switch between power saver and high performance everytyme you plug/unplug your charger. With P4G it does the thing automatically :) And it uses somewhat 4MB RAM so its not at all noticeable to performance.

dogfart
06-15-2013, 04:06 PM
OK thanx guys. Yea I want all power I can get when gaming, but like to stay as cool as possible when just surfing or watching movies.

mrwolf
06-15-2013, 07:54 PM
Well if u really want to maximise power you should unpark all your cores and go make sure to set all your powersavings options off..

Power4gear high performance mode just clocks your CPU to 100%.. It would hit 100% or near it on entertainment too :)

Zygomorphic
06-15-2013, 11:10 PM
OK thanx guys. Yea I want all power I can get when gaming, but like to stay as cool as possible when just surfing or watching movies.

Entertainment mode is the best bet then. I will allow CPU frequency scaling.

SHADO
06-16-2013, 12:21 AM
I normally run in Entertainment mode. Should I switch to High Performance setting for gaming? Thanx

Question: Entertainment mode? All I have is Performance or Battery when I push the button.

Zygomorphic
06-16-2013, 02:06 AM
Question: Entertainment mode? All I have is Performance or Battery when I push the button.

Weird. I have all of them. Maybe you can check the Power4Gear settings to ensure that all the modes are enabled?

SHADO
06-16-2013, 02:21 AM
Weird. I have all of them. Maybe you can check the Power4Gear settings to ensure that all the modes are enabled?

Not sure exactly where to check. I'm not gonna worry about it. :)

ggBanks
06-16-2013, 08:03 AM
That is because the versions are different! Zygomorphic you are using older version of P4G. The newest version only has high performance and power saver.

SHADO
06-16-2013, 02:19 PM
That is because the versions are different! Zygomorphic you are using older version of P4G. The newest version only has high performance and power saver.

Good. Now I don't feel so bad after looking at every freaking possible setting and finding nothing about "entertainment mode", LOL... :)

dogfart
06-16-2013, 06:21 PM
Well if u really want to maximise power you should unpark all your cores and go make sure to set all your powersavings options off..

Power4gear high performance mode just clocks your CPU to 100%.. It would hit 100% or near it on entertainment too :)

What does unpark cores do and how to do it please.

Zygomorphic
06-16-2013, 07:03 PM
That is because the versions are different! Zygomorphic you are using older version of P4G. The newest version only has high performance and power saver.

Golden moldie, that's what I am LOL. Actually, it is because I run LINUX, which doesn't have Power4Gear. Also, my computer is 18 months old.

Quasimodem
06-17-2013, 02:03 AM
What does unpark cores do and how to do it please.

Windows will park some of the cores if they aren't needed... It's registry settings... To unpark them:

http://www.coderbag.com/Programming-C/Disable-CPU-Core-Parking-Utility

kimiraikkonen
04-03-2018, 03:45 PM
In High Performance mode, it silently overclocks FSB by 9 mhz which turns my stock 133 MHZ into 142 MHZ.

Is it really necessary? I also found no option to disable it around P4G GUI, just like also missing the option in BIOS. Why?