PDA

View Full Version : Asus G75VW malfunctioning!



Xerav43
06-20-2013, 12:57 AM
5 months ago I bought an Asus G75vw , the specs are i7 , gtx 660m , 4gb ram. The problem is I think the gpu is malfunctioning. I get horribly low FPS in all games . even WoW with low settings on I get 8-15 fps. I can't even open games like Metro Last Light even on low settings it just is impossible to play the FPS lag is too much. I tried formatting , using different driver versions and all that , I feel like I have tried everything and I'm real frustrated Anybody know what's going on?

Xerav43
06-20-2013, 01:01 AM
Also I forgot to add something I noticed , Minecraft gets RIDICOUSLY high FPS? It gets around 200 FPS and sometimes it drops to 40 for some reason? I Really don't know what's going on but my speculation is minecraft is the only game running the dedicated graphic card while the rest are running the intergrated ? Please help.

parasurfer1979
06-20-2013, 04:52 AM
I didn't know there was a G75 model with that small amount of ram. I've only seen them with 8gb the smallest amount. Might want to start there. Also make sure you've done all your updates. Nvidia updates their GPU drivers almost BI-WEEKLY. Try that out then get back to us.

TokoDude
06-20-2013, 07:35 AM
Already checked if you're running Power4GearPerformence? Or advanced settings maybe you're settings are changed.

Xerav43
06-20-2013, 09:32 AM
I tried power4gearperformance no hope. I just uninstalled it , I tried high performance aswell no hope. I'm starting to give up here :(

Clintlgm
06-20-2013, 11:46 AM
Observations, This is the first G75VW I have noticed that only had 4gb of Ram? G75VW only has 1 video card there are no integrated graphics? Maybe you could post some pictures of what Hwinfo64 (http://www.hwinfo.com/download64.html) reports on your system?

Xerav43
06-21-2013, 04:14 PM
Oh , the integrated graphics thing was just an assumption I wasn't quite sure. I'll post the pics in a second. Also , the only model they had was the 4gb ram when I bought it.

Jihilian
06-21-2013, 07:59 PM
Make sure your note is connected to power supply. Battery can't hold the GPU power (i think), so will be huge FPS drops.

Xerav43
06-22-2013, 05:47 AM
its connected.

Xerav43
06-22-2013, 05:48 AM
Something weird though , tried opening far cry 3 and when I put the settings into optimal everything was set to 'low' (and the game was still laggy kinda) , why does the game assume the laptop is ****? is the gtx 660m not good enough or do I need ram?

TokoDude
06-22-2013, 11:23 AM
No the GTX 660M is a good card you can see here what FPS you should gain on any game:

http://www.notebookcheck.net/NVIDIA-GeForce-GTX-660M.71859.0.html


But yeah 4 GB RAM is very low Im always using already 3,5 GB RAM with surfing on the internet. and a game can use 1-2 GB RAM more so its recommended to upgrade your RAM but i think that's not the issue that gives you the LOW FPS it's really you graphic card or some settings wrong.

Can you send us a check list what you already tried?

Like updating your drivers. Checking settings of power4Gear etc....

Apexing
06-22-2013, 02:45 PM
Yea, as other have suggested, try removing the gpu drivers, then run driversweeper after a reboot and remove any remaining gpu drivers. then go to nvidia and do the driver scan, install newest which is 320.18.
let us know if anything changed.
-edit-
oh, and you might want to try the version prior to 320.18 since, some are having quite serious issues with it http://www.overclock.net/t/1399104/mc-nvidia-320-18-whql-display-driver-is-damaging-gpus I havent had any issues tho, and it mostly seems like the issues are for desktop graphic cards. But just felt I should warn you.

Xerav43
06-23-2013, 07:18 AM
I have already tried a clean install of a driver (tried many also some modded ones) but no hope. Maybe the gpu is faulty? I still got guarantee i bought it 6 months ago should I go return it or try some more?
Things I've tried so far.
1. Installing different OS (was Windows 7 Home Edition x64 changed to windows 8 ultimate x64)
2.Using old drivers (tried clean install)
3.Overclocking (I just over clocked for 5 mins to try if it would make a difference (barely 2-3fps lol))
4.Power4Gear was set on gaming. Tried uninstalling it completely and putting the power to high performance
5. It's plugged so i'm not running on batter.
6. Returned back to the windows I had before (windows 7 home edition x64)
7.Somebody help me im going to commit suicide :(
8. I promise whoever manages to fix this will become my lawfully wedded wife/husband (Yes , I will turn homosexual for whoever finds a fix)

Xerav43
06-23-2013, 07:28 AM
One question though , why do all games put the settings on low when I optimize them , it's like they know that it cant run on anything better (even on low it still lags :() but how come games know that? Isn't the 660m a good card? I'm really confused and upset

Clintlgm
06-23-2013, 02:57 PM
Well it would help if you could let us know what your hardware is doing? is your CPU & GPU running normal temps? are your fans working. Hwinfo64 (http://www.hwinfo.com/download64.html) will tell you that. you have stated you did a clean install do you have the correct drivers running? Trouble shooting this needs to start with your hardware. Once assured your hardware is working correctly. You can sort out the software issues. What AV Anti malware programs are you using. What happens when you run Furmark (http://www.geeks3d.com/20130328/furmark-1-10-6-gpu-videocard-burn-in-stress-test-utility-nvidia-geforce-amd-radeon/). Does you NB work normally when not playing games?

Xerav43
06-23-2013, 06:28 PM
Well it would help if you could let us know what your hardware is doing? is your CPU & GPU running normal temps? are your fans working. Hwinfo64 (http://www.hwinfo.com/download64.html) will tell you that. you have stated you did a clean install do you have the correct drivers running? Trouble shooting this needs to start with your hardware. Once assured your hardware is working correctly. You can sort out the software issues. What AV Anti malware programs are you using. What happens when you run Furmark (http://www.geeks3d.com/20130328/furmark-1-10-6-gpu-videocard-burn-in-stress-test-utility-nvidia-geforce-amd-radeon/). Does you NB work normally when not playing games?

Hwinfo64 Screen Shot : http://puu.sh/3mxBo.png (The cores were jumping yellow green all the time they look 'unstable' just going yellow green , I don't know if that's normal or not just thought I'd point it out.

Hwinfo64 Summary : http://puu.sh/3mxDq.LOG

DxDiag Summary : http://puu.sh/3mxE1.txt

These were taken while the modded driver was installed ( Some guy on a thread with a similar issue recommended it)

Xerav43
06-23-2013, 06:32 PM
http://www.alienwarearena.com/forums/topic/40890/world-of-warcraft/nvidia-660m-low-fps-in-wow/

This guy had a VERY similar issue with the same card (GTX 660m) but apparently he got it fixed or something so he didn't respond to the thread no more :/

Xerav43
06-23-2013, 06:35 PM
Also I didn't install any anti malware after the recent format yet.

Xerav43
06-23-2013, 11:58 PM
bumppp :((

Clintlgm
06-24-2013, 01:59 AM
Well one thing off the top your still running BIOS 207, perhaps you should upgrade that to 210, 210 seems to work good for me, Be sure to update it through the BIOS EZFlash method.
You didn't post the Hwinfo sensors what are your temps running GPU And CPU, at Idle and running Furmark.
I wouldn't recommend fooling around with Modded drivers until you get your NB working correctly
If you are not having a hardware problem your NB should run great on standard drivers NVidia WHQL , In fact until your NB is running correctly you should probably use the latest drivers posted on the ASUS Download page.

Dreamonic
06-24-2013, 02:21 AM
One thing I would strongly recommend checking is what were your core/mem clocks and GPU load % at during any running 3D application?

It's likely possible due to current drivers and the .207 vBIOS combined that your dynamic switching clocks are not switching to the appropriate P-state on load. Your GPU load % would be low if the stated above is found true. In the past I had used the .207 vBIOS with my factory .218 BIOS for further modding needs, as it turns out the .207 vBIOS is very buggy! I find it incomplete. I had similar problems with card stability with it due to crashing and resorting to no boost state. This will lock your lower idle P-state clocks, which results in little to no performance. I am using my modded .210 vBIOS with my factory .218 BIOS. It's the perfect combo.

I would recommend updating BIOS to .210 like Clintgm suggested, then go from there.

Xerav43
06-24-2013, 04:18 AM
Can somebody link me a guide on updating the BIOS to .210 I have never done it before and I don't want to mess it up , also what's an 'NB' ?

Xerav43
06-24-2013, 04:31 AM
Okay researched on it a bit , should I update with the EZ flash method or through Winflash?

Xerav43
06-24-2013, 04:51 AM
Updated bios to .210 , going to see if it fixed now.

Xerav43
06-24-2013, 04:55 AM
Same thing ... apparently I have no hope in fixing this :(

Xerav43
06-24-2013, 05:07 AM
Okay here is a screenshot before running furmark : http://puu.sh/3mWGU.jpg
Here is a screenshot in furmark 1600x900 for 1 min : http://puu.sh/3mWHr.jpg (3 fps lol gpu load 99% , mem load 12%)

Dreamonic
06-24-2013, 05:12 AM
Exactly as I stated, you are running on lowest P-state. There is a problem with your current driver.

Xerav43
06-24-2013, 05:14 AM
Wait the gpu fan is 0% i just realized that check the furmark screenshot is that normal ?

Dreamonic
06-24-2013, 05:18 AM
Yes, the only way to detect fan speed on our machine is through the EC_SC sensors, which HWiNFO can display, not many other utilities can (Furmark included.)

The problem is your drivers. Try uninstalling all NVIDIA drivers, cleansweep it and install driver version 320.00 from ASUS website for starters.

Also don't forget to restart when prompted to do so. After installing your drivers, regardless if it asks you to restart or not at the end, restart!

Xerav43
06-24-2013, 05:28 AM
I will do that right now and get back to you. :)

Xerav43
06-24-2013, 05:31 AM
I can't seem to find the 320.00 driver , if you have time could you link it to me? NVM found it.

Xerav43
06-24-2013, 06:10 AM
Okay this is furmark after updating driver as you asked : http://puu.sh/3mYzD.jpg
MSI Afterburned after update aswell : http://puu.sh/3mYz5.jpg
Going to open far cry 3 and check if it fixed.

Xerav43
06-24-2013, 06:15 AM
Okay Far Cry 3 is still the same.

Dreamonic
06-24-2013, 06:16 AM
I noticed your GPU temps are extremely high.... what are the idle temperatures?

Xerav43
06-24-2013, 06:17 AM
Idle as in not ingame? The first MSI afterburner screenshot is outside game (no game running / before furmark )

Dreamonic
06-24-2013, 06:25 AM
So it's 57C..... OKAY then! Your card is throttling. Your max temp is 96C and on that screenshot you are 3 degrees from matching that. The issue... you need to do a repaste.

Where is your laptop facing... is up against a wall... in a cubby....


Your card is reaching it's thermal limits.. then it throttles and locks you at the lowest P-state until you restart to reset it back. The drivers worked, go by the core clock... it shows min 135 and max 835 now.. your first ss of the same thing on your old drivers.. showed 135 for both.


You need to do a repaste to fix this issue.

Xerav43
06-24-2013, 06:30 AM
Repaste as in applying thermal paste to the gpu? I have never done that and does it void the warranty , is there a guide for it?

Xerav43
06-24-2013, 06:32 AM
Also the laptop is 6 months old and I didnt even play anything on it. I bought it and kept it for like 4 months opening it once or twice maybe to copy some stuff .

Dreamonic
06-24-2013, 06:47 AM
Yes, it will void warranty if YOU do it yourself, however a certified shop can do it for you I believe and still keep warranty; Dig deeper to find the answer on that one. I don't recommend sending it to ASUS because the same paste will be applied to it again and possibly poorly. You'd be taking a chance.

I don't know what happened to the paste, maybe as it was sitting for so long, the rise in humidity may have dried it out or possible didn't have it applied properly from the get go.


This is your call on what you'd like to do. I recommend doing it yourself, but that's just me.

Xerav43
06-24-2013, 06:57 AM
I found my cooling pad and I put it , is the cooling pad enough to make the temps low for normal gaming or will it still throttle , also how hard is repasting , for someone whos only ever just added ram to a PC (never did anything to a laptop) should it be easy done.

Xerav43
06-24-2013, 07:07 AM
I tried running WoW on Ultra settings, GPU reached around 95 C at one point :(

Dreamonic
06-24-2013, 07:09 AM
Unfortunately it won't be with yours. You might lower your temps a few degrees with a cooler, but not enough for gaming. Repasting is the only option.

Repasting is not difficult, even for a first timer, it's just involved but with steps anyone can complete it. This way, in the future when you get another laptop and want better temps, you'll have a better understanding on how to do it on that one.

Xerav43
06-24-2013, 07:12 AM
Also it's funny how the FPS just jumps up and down. At first it was http://puu.sh/3n08L.jpg , then it just kind of quickly jumped to http://puu.sh/3n08L.jpg and then dropped back to something in the 20s , it's like it's trying to reach it's full potential but it cant.

Xerav43
06-24-2013, 07:16 AM
Okay 1 last question before I try to repaste tomorrow , is this a GUARANTEED fix ? I mean if I repaste good bye warantee so i want to be sure that this will fix my issue and I can run games at at least med-high settings with stable fps

Dreamonic
06-24-2013, 07:23 AM
I'll answer that question after you verify for me that your fans are working. None of your posts show anything regarding fan speeds.

Check with HWiNFO please and report back.

Xerav43
06-24-2013, 07:27 AM
http://puu.sh/3n0y7.png Here is the screenshot for fans.

Dreamonic
06-24-2013, 07:37 AM
Good, they are working. A repaste is a guaranteed fix because the issue is temps.

If you'd like to wait until more people verify what I believe is the problem, then please do that.


I'd recommend you do some research on GPU throttling and temperatures. Try to link what you read and see how it fits with your new found light of the problem.

Xerav43
06-24-2013, 07:45 AM
Al right mate I'll start reading up on that topic , I just want you to know that youve been a really huge help so far and I really appreciate it , I don't know if more people will come it seems it's only me and you on the thread now haha. Anyways I can't do the repaste now , travelling in 4 days and I'll hopefully do it when i get back there , by then some people should have confirmed this and I'll do it. Do you suggest trying to clean the fans now?

Dreamonic
06-24-2013, 07:54 AM
Thanks for being communicative and following of suggestions, this played a huge role in narrowing the problem down. It's not about having the answers, it's about asking the right questions. I'm glad to have helped.

Every bit of cleaning, raising, removing or relocating of your NB (notebook) can help you confirm subtle changes in temperature. Just keep yourself attentive towards it until you decide to take the leap.

Xerav43
06-24-2013, 07:57 AM
Al right then mate thank you so much! I guess that's it there's really no more to it until I get a repaste , I would like to get back in touch with you when I do the repaste though , so is there a way to add like a 'friend' on this website or something :)? Anyways it doesn't really matter that much and thank you a lot again, Have a nice day !

Apexing
06-24-2013, 08:51 AM
is it at all possible for you, to bring the laptop to the place you bought it from, say what issues you have, and have it swapped with a new one? if so, then I would do that since its still under warrenty and all that.

Xerav43
06-24-2013, 09:02 AM
I think it's possible , but I bought it when I was in vacation and I don't know if im going back there anytime soon.

Clintlgm
06-24-2013, 04:01 PM
What's important in these screen shots is that your GPU Temp is high at Idle, and under load your GPU is Throttling. I agree you need a repasting.
If your in the States you should have a 2 year warranty? You don't seem to be a real techy type I think I would have this done somewhere that won't VOID you your warranty!! It might be worth your while to PM cl-albert to see if he can assist you with this hardware problem. I myself have used the Asus Repair station in Calif. 1st time I got a quick turn around and no further damage to my NB=NoteBook, however they did not solve my problem. 2nd trip to Calif repair. I think they had my NB 2 weeks and did solve all my problems with no further damages to my NB. I also think I would have your RAM upgraded to 8GB at the same time filling both your un accessible slots.

Xerav43
06-24-2013, 09:11 PM
Al right there is an a asus repair center where I'm going , hopefully they'll repase thermal paste and I'll add 4 more gigs of RAM.

Xerav43
06-24-2013, 09:12 PM
It isn't the fact that I'm not the techy type I'm just 15 years old :/ Trying to learn though.

Clintlgm
06-25-2013, 01:50 AM
Cool, then you probably can accomplish the repaste if you study up, Dreamonic has a pretty good description of what he did in another thread. I would still consider this a pretty serious stuff and losing your warranty could be a big deal if perchance your video card is bad!! or fails in the next few months!! There are a few dissemble videos on U tube. There may be some on the actual repasting.
http://support.computerupgradeking.com/wiki/index.php?title=ASUS_G75VW_Disassembly_Manual
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z9KHrJKInmA
http://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread.php?33681-Laptop-Intake-Mod

Xerav43
06-26-2013, 01:07 AM
I am going to try to take it to the shop to be done , if that's not possible I'll do it myself and take the chances :)

SgtSlaughter
01-19-2014, 08:44 AM
I kinda have the same problem, and I was wondering if that worked for you since there's no new replies.........Thanks

Xerav43
09-13-2014, 10:50 AM
LOL , been so long , I just checked this thread , yes I got my laptop fixed , I decided that before I try to repaste myself Ill send it back to ASUS and make them repaste it , if that doesn't work I'll repaste it myself , long story short , when I sent it back to warranty they said that the warranty is void and somebody has tried to unscrew the gpu sink or something (????????????) I just ended up sending it to a pc mechanic friend who repasted himself and problem was solved , still pissed that they would lie about something like that though.