PDA

View Full Version : mxm on g750jx?

Mangame
06-27-2013, 07:18 AM
Can I upload a nvidia geforce770m with a gtx780m on an asus g750?
Thank you

Clerbois
06-27-2013, 07:29 AM
I'm not an expert... but definitely I'd say: no.

G750 is not a very upgradable machine.
More, I read that the gtx780m model will be thicker, with improved cooling. So...

Mangame
06-27-2013, 07:32 AM
Thanks. How much does the version with gtx780m cost?

Pitcher@asus
06-27-2013, 07:41 AM
asus do not agree you change any part without HDD and DIMM.

AntDX316
06-27-2013, 08:24 AM
I talked to an Asus rep and they said you can upgrade through Best Buy or Buy because they are authorized Asus service centers.

If the parts and compatibility turn out as ok it would work.

Thicker cooling on the JH so they can keep the ambient noise low as possible.

I feel if you are plugging in (thick carryon for travel) you should just bring a thunderbolt egpu set which exceeds the 780M performance actual.

The HD4600 at 1.5GHz is suffice to not bog down on websites and high resolution multimedia video.

More, I read that the gtx780m model will be thicker, with improved cooling. So...

Zygomorphic
06-27-2013, 10:22 AM

The 780M, if it is anything like the previous generations of nVidia laptop cards, is a higher TDP card than the 770M. Thus, it is no woner that the computer might be thicker, since ASUS wouldn't likely want the noise - or temps - to increase.

_
06-27-2013, 10:52 AM
The card does use an MXM slot but it's not interchangable as the board design is custom to the shape of the casing/around the fan. Also, you cannot upgrade to a higher power model due to power/cooling restrictions. The GTX 780 model has a larger physical chassis to compensate for more cooling, more VRMs (and bigger power brick).

Only 2x HDD and 2x DIMM are changable without warranty loss (if you're upgrading yourself).

Zygomorphic
06-27-2013, 03:24 PM