PDA

View Full Version : G75 corrupt BCD...BAD



richcj10
07-01-2013, 05:36 AM
I was trying to migrate a HHD to SSD.
It screwed up the HHD. It will no longer boot farther than to the BIOS.
F9 doesn't work. I ran the repair disk i made and it cant recover back, repair, etc.
I have tried:

BootRec /FixBoot -works (CMD states it executed ok)
BootRec /FixMBR -works (CMD states it executed ok)
BootRec /RebuildBCD -Doesn't work (requested device not found)

I have tried this: http://superuser.com/questions/460762/how-can-i-repair-the-windows-8-efi-bootloader
Any other help?
I need this for work tomorrow....

Apexing
07-01-2013, 06:43 AM
most likely, you have to boot with a windows disc, then format the disc in question befor reinstalling.

richcj10
07-01-2013, 06:49 AM
The recovery disk? Or a W8 disk with a OS image?

Pitcher@asus
07-01-2013, 06:56 AM
so, is old HHD work normal? what is your os type? win7 or win8, if win 8 and old hdd work find you can downlaod ASUS Backtraker (http://www.asus.com/supportonly/ASUS_Backtracker/#support_Download) to do recover.

richcj10
07-01-2013, 06:57 AM
The hhd is fine.
W8

richcj10
07-01-2013, 06:59 AM
How do I run this on the computer?

Gumwars
07-01-2013, 10:54 AM
If you have another working computer, you can make a USB bootable W8 disk and repair the installation by booting from that. If you have a disk, same thing. If you don't have another computer then you can make a live CD of a Linux distro and then make a bootable W8 USB from there. You can also try repairing your MBR (which is what sounds like got corrupted) by using Partition Magic.

When switching over to a SSD, just go for the clean install. If you don't have anything you need on the HDD, format and start clean.

Clintlgm
07-01-2013, 01:17 PM
OK I see your trying to repair a MBR? you original HD should have been UEIF GPT?
Copy Disk using Maciurm Reflect (http://www.macrium.com/reflectfree.aspx)seems to have worked well for all that used it.

These guides and upgrade (http://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread.php?28758-GUIDE-G55-G75-Upgrade-Notes&country=&status=)note cover all the issues we worked out upgrading and changing all your answers are here

I think your going to need a USB Boot Key set up UEIF Boot. unless you converted your HD To BIOS MBR. If you did convert to MBR your recovery image may not be able to run on a MBR partition they are not compatible and you can not convert back to UEIF with out Cleaning your disk first!!

If your original disk is not damaged, Use diskpart to clean the SSD then try the Copy Disk again. Guides to do this are I the upgrade notes I linked for you above

Macrium Reflect has not failed for anyone I've heard of. Samsun Migration has failed for some people. Of course a clean install is the preferred method of installing a SSD

So far as I know Partition Magic does not support UEIF GPT so will fail on a copy disk operation.

Minitool Partition Wizard (http://www.partitionwizard.com/landing-page.html?gclid=CI2I8qiVj7gCFRBgMgodgVsA3g) does support UEIF GPT and is free for home use.

ClepticNova
07-01-2013, 01:21 PM
just a quick question. if i use my old 80GB HDD to clean install a new win8 just to have a back up boot drive, can i re use my Original Boot drive again??like Plug and Play Boot drive?

richcj10
07-01-2013, 01:56 PM
I have the W8 that came with the laptop. So, I don't have a disk.
Where would you download the ISO?

Gumwars
07-01-2013, 02:20 PM
I have the W8 that came with the laptop. So, I don't have a disk.
Where would you download the ISO?

Rich, following what you were trying to do, you cloned your HDD to your SDD, correct? Afterward, your computer wouldn't boot and probably gave the "bootable drive not found" error on startup. It's probably due to both disks having the MBR with each being the primary. Have you tried trying to boot with only the SDD or HDD installed?

richcj10
07-01-2013, 02:49 PM
It did not get to the cloning part.
The software went to partition the SSD and then reboot to clone the drive.
After reboot is when I had issues. The SSD has been removed.

Gumwars
07-01-2013, 03:04 PM
Is there data on the drive that you need?

Also, do you have another computer that you can work from. I'm asking that because you'll need to create a bootdisk to work from which isn't going to happen on your rig in its current shape. I recommend following the steps here to create a W8 bootable USB:

The legit copy way: http://www.techanger.com/create-windows-8-bootable-usb/

The other way: http://www.guidingtech.com/create-bootable-windows-8-usb-drive-iso-image/

You can find ISO images of windows at kat.ph or Piratesbay.se

DISCLAIMER You surf at those sites at your own risk. They have been known to carry copyright infriging data that can get you into trouble. Also, you might have key problems if you the hash doesn't match what your computer came with, i.e., your BIOS might pass a windows key during installation that doesn't line up.

If you do have files that need to be recovered, you'll need to use either a Linux live CD (or USB) or Partition Magic, which will allow you to load and run an operating system in the computer's RAM.

http://partition-magic.soft32.com/

From here you can repair the MBR, transfer files and perform SMART diagnostics on the drive. You can also format, resize partitions and do the old school "low level" formatting.

richcj10
07-01-2013, 03:07 PM
The HHD has the OS still on it.
The Bios doesn't recognize the HHD has a bootable OS on it.

Gumwars
07-01-2013, 03:25 PM
I'm still leaning towards your MBR being fouled or you've got a problem with the HDD that coincidentally popped up when you started this adventure. If you've got another computer to work from, set up a USB with partition magic. That's a power tool for sorting out these issues. A word of caution, it's a very robust toolkit and can save you in a situation like this or it can totally push this problem to a point where you have no choice but to format the drive and start over. I recommend it because it's saved my bacon before (had a HDD fail with a bunch of work sensitive stuff on it) and you seem to be in a pinch.

Take your time and be careful, you should be able to resolve this.

richcj10
07-01-2013, 03:32 PM
Is there a guide on this?

Gumwars
07-01-2013, 03:36 PM
Is there a guide on this?

PM me bro.

richcj10
07-01-2013, 03:37 PM
On how to use partition magic

Gumwars
07-01-2013, 06:02 PM
Any luck with the your rig?

Sadler13
07-01-2013, 07:01 PM
richj10,
Best thing to do is always do fresh installs when installing new hard drive(s).
You will need to call the Asus estore http://us.estore.asus.com/index.php?l=product_detail&p=4969
and buy the recovery software.
Start with the SSD first with clean install them shut off your G75 and install the HHD in the other bay
and format it.
The Recovery software does include the OS, you will need your product serial number to order it
to insure the correct drives and OS.

richcj10
07-02-2013, 02:35 AM
I decided to do a clean install w/ W8 on the SSD.
I still have the HHD. I was thinking when I have time I want to try to fix it and document the process.
This will help others in the future.

Clintlgm
07-02-2013, 03:07 AM
else wise just clean it and format it as a storage drive. If you were able to clean install, you don't need the recovery partition. Just make your Images, to roll back to incase you have problems down the road.

Gumwars
07-02-2013, 03:30 AM
Awesome Rich. You've got options for recovering data from that drive. Windows doesn't offer alot, IMO, when it comes to that. You'll find Linux better equipped for it. Also, you've got time to dig now that your rig is up and running. I went through nearly an identical event with my HP and ended up downloading a whole OS through my phone! I'm sure Sprint wasn't happy about that but heck, when you gotta get your computer up and running, right?

GottiBoi55
07-03-2013, 02:27 AM
You should try this procedure below to fix you stock HDD.

Spam the "F8" key after you hit the start button (make sure to start spamming as soon as you hit start button)
This should bring you to the OS repair options (Screenshots below).


1. Select "advanced options".
http://i.techrepublic.com.com/gallery/6379668-620-443.jpg



2. Select "Automatic Repair".
http://i.techrepublic.com.com/gallery/6379672-620-391.jpg


Hopefully this will fix your problem!
Good luck!