PDA

View Full Version : How to upgrade your harddrive and memory on your G50 and 51 Series



Brian@ASUS
07-08-2010, 07:49 AM
To upgrade your harddrive and memory in your G50 and G51 Series notebooks, you need to be able to access the guts of the notebook. To do this you need to remove 12 screws highlighted in red to remove the bottom panel.

http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc4/hs021.snc4/33399_1513484080619_1339929353_1332662_8174082_n.j pg

Under the hood! As you can see there are 2 hard drives and 2 dimms for memory. Some models may only come with a single harddrive and can have a 2nd harddrive added.
http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash2/hs032.ash2/34971_1506941677063_1339929353_1315734_6226984_n.j pg

Unscrew the harddrive tray from the chassis (look for 4 screws)
http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc4/hs072.snc4/34971_1506941757065_1339929353_1315736_5512767_n.j pg
http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc4/hs052.snc4/34971_1506941837067_1339929353_1315737_3058646_n.j pg

Pull on the ribbon and slide out the harddrive
http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc4/hs052.snc4/34971_1506941877068_1339929353_1315738_7631463_n.j pg

You will notice there are 4 screws holding the harddrive. Unscrew these.
http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash2/hs032.ash2/34971_1506941917069_1339929353_1315739_1257803_n.j pg

We have upgraded our harddrive with an OCZ Vertex Series SSD.
http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash2/hs001.ash2/33418_1506942477083_1339929353_1315740_6627322_n.j pg

Pop it back in and and screw back everything from steps 1 and 2.
http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash2/hs001.ash2/33418_1506942517084_1339929353_1315741_7589092_n.j pg


Remember you can make either harddrive the Primary Drive. If your computer does not recognize the drive as your primary, you can either switch it in the bios or physically swap the harddrives.
If your computer came with a single harddrive and you plan to add a secondary slave drive be sure to get a hard drive tray otherwise your harddrive will fall out.

grayfoxmg1
10-16-2010, 04:04 AM
Because the estore no longer carries the HDD trays, I just used some foam rubber to hold my second HDD in place. Been in there for almost a year now

Brian@ASUS
10-16-2010, 06:17 AM
or velcro works

grayfoxmg1
10-16-2010, 07:30 PM
or velcro works
hmm never thought about velcro, was worried it wouldn't take the heat well

Brian@ASUS
10-18-2010, 06:25 AM
if you just velcro the edge or corners, itll be fine. you will actually get a bit of space to create a small layer of air. better heat dissipation then nothing. i use SSD in my notebooks, so i dont really worry too much of heat. should upgrade =P world of a difference.

maybe ill do a DIY ghetto guide with velcro and other such material

grayfoxmg1
10-18-2010, 02:27 PM
yeah velcro, duct tape, zip strips, and JB wield. Staples for any DIY pro

RainMotorsports
02-18-2011, 08:11 PM
I know this thread is a little old but... "Will fall out"?

With the bottom on I don't see it going very far. Main worries would be flexing of the SATA connector and on a bad day the drive moving backwards out of the connector. But nearly 2 years without a caddy and never an issue on my 50. As of last week I actually have wires running under the HDD making the situation worse then it normally is.

jewie27
03-14-2011, 06:20 PM
I thought the G50's RAM can't be upgraded past 4Gigabytes. According to Crucial.com

alby1976
05-04-2011, 12:59 AM
I upped mine from 4gb to 8gb with no problems.
Just run SIW to check if your not sure. (SIW = System Information for Windows, just google SIW and download the free version, build 0714)

jewie27
05-12-2011, 06:41 PM
good to know that it can take 8gigs. I wonder why even Corsair's website says 4 gigs is the max for a G50.

jewie27
08-05-2011, 09:25 AM
why doesn't corsair or crucial list the G50 as compatible with 8 gigs?

grungeboy2
04-05-2013, 09:28 PM
officially it only supported 4 GB. as we all know, they'll handle 8 just fine, but it's not OFFICIALLY supported.

iceman1943
10-08-2014, 04:06 PM
I have 2 questions, 1st: what is the max memory that be installed on the G50vt (bestbuy)?
2nd: I recently replaced the primary drive with a PNY 240g SSD drive and did a clean install of Windows 7 Pro and love the speed, I was able to download all the needed drivers from Asus with the exception of the driver for the DVDRAM drive. Windows recognizes the drive for what it is (HL-DT-ST DVDRAM GSA0T50L) and it all works except the Light scribe feature and Nero does not recognize it as a light scribe drive. Everything else works fine. I can not find the driver for the drive anywhere. Any help would be greatly appreciated.[

xako
01-28-2015, 10:58 PM
Hello all!

I am planning to do it, to change my hdd on my G50V for a SSD. I did not really get it what I woul have to do before change it. Do I need any upgrade or similar? My idea is to add the new SSD but keeping the other in the second slot as storage only. Any suggestion to do that??

I am a little bit lost right now, thanks for your help!

Regards
XAKO

DSDegochan
01-26-2018, 05:00 PM
I have read that all place memories of 8GB, my question is whether the G750JX accepts 16GB memories, for example this http://ebay.to/2nfuTCp

I'm buying memory for Update, but if I can buy this, I will not have to discard the 4GB that comes from the factory. so in total I will have 8 + 16 + 4 = 28GB
otherwise, if you do not accept the one of 16 I will have 8 + 8 + 8 = 24GB

I appreciate your help.!!!