PDA

View Full Version : Planning to install SSD on G75V

muymachine
07-13-2013, 04:23 AM
Hello, newbie here. I've been lurking these threads recently, anticipating the day I received my G75VW!
Your posts have been very helpful, by the way.
So as the title implies, looking to upgrade it! I actually just got it today, and I paid a visit to the 'first things to do after buying' thread, so: ridding of live update utility, updating the recovery utility and burning the four recovery discs, and I just installed Avast and Malwarebytes, and finally checked the GPU temps. So all of that is covered! I admittedly didn't do a clean install though.

I was hoping I could get some pointers regarding a SSD... I have a feeling I may not require much more than 180gb, but if anyone recommends higher, I will certainly consider it ( I just figure I won't need as much because I don't have a lot of cpu games as it is). Also, specific brands and such would also be very appreciated, as I'm a little indecisive. Lately I've considered samsung pro, or maybe hyperx3k. But let me know what you guys think!

As far as any other upgrades go, I'll probably look into upping the RAM a bit. It's just 8gb, so I might add an additional 8gb at some point or another.

One more thing, and this is probably something simple just flying over my head:
The screen resolution... pages seem so tiny compared to my old laptop, and I guess I could get used to it, but are there settings anywhere to keep the pages zoomed in? I recall zooming them, but when I closed the browser it would just become tinier again.

Anyways, I'd really appreciate the help!

muymachine
07-13-2013, 11:02 PM
Never mind, went ahead and got one myself.

Quasimodem
07-14-2013, 01:46 AM
Get at least a 256gb even if you know you need less, and you'll get used to 1080p

Sadler13
07-14-2013, 01:55 AM
What did you end up buying?
I have the Samsung 128G pro and its been awesome ( Its been installed for about a year now) and not one issue at all.