PDA

View Full Version : Upgraded my thermal paste



TX2000
07-14-2013, 09:44 PM
i removed the old paste and replaced it with coollaboratories liquid pro
23339
the old and messy paste
23340
cleaned the old paste and a little drop of liquid pro
23341
and also did the gpu this is the clean 770m gpu.. forgot to take more pictures

computer is running cool . 5degrees less than before.

was scary to get in there but it was worth it

adamsyes
07-14-2013, 10:01 PM
did the GPU had thermal pads on the VRAMS? if so can you guess the ? mm? im guessing it's using 0,5mm but would be nice if you could let me know!

TX2000
07-14-2013, 10:05 PM
it didnot had any pads just huge blobs of thermal paste
you can see it in here 23343

i replaced with a better one but that part i cannot use liquid pro. had to be traditional paste

EpIcSnIpErZ23
07-15-2013, 02:00 AM
Hi TX2000, is the CPU Soldered onto the mobo? Is the GPU Soldered to it too?

TX2000
07-15-2013, 03:54 AM
yes the cpu is soldered on the mainboard but the gpu is not but i think is a custom video card for our machines

roryh86
07-15-2013, 10:42 AM
Thanks for the pics TX! I have a Thermaltake TG-1 lying around that I'd love to use :p When you screwed back on the heatsink, do the screws have a tightening limit inorder not to damage the CPU chip with too much pressure? Or do they just keep tightening as much as you screw?

Also, why couldn't you use liquid pro on vrams?

TX2000
07-15-2013, 02:21 PM
the screws do have a limit so no worries there . and i did not use liquid pro on vram because of the gap, it was bigger on that part and and liquid pro is practically liquid and soo thin it wont do anything on there. and with liquid pro you have to be careful because it is metal and can short something it it runs over.

EpIcSnIpErZ23
07-15-2013, 05:24 PM
Sucks that the CPU is soldered to the mobo. Even if the GPU is custom that means it is possible for upgrades! (with a little modding of course :D)

roryh86
07-15-2013, 09:10 PM
the screws do have a limit so no worries there . and i did not use liquid pro on vram because of the gap, it was bigger on that part and and liquid pro is practically liquid and soo thin it wont do anything on there. and with liquid pro you have to be careful because it is metal and can short something it it runs over.

Oh okay. Well, I might just give it a go then. I have regular paste so I'll just use it on everything. Used it on my desktop and it took off a good 13 degrees. I have my Asus maxed out at x36 multiplier and undervolted by -70 mV, max temp on hottest core is 87 degrees when using Cinebench and stress testing. What's your CPU clocked at and what are your temps under stress?

TX2000
07-16-2013, 12:23 AM
i am running at stuck atm but i cannot test atm because i removed the hdd and replaced with 2 ssd 256 in raid 0 :D

AAndrei
07-20-2013, 09:56 AM
Hi TX2000, do you have more picture taken of the motherboard? Could help a lot to see how the rest of the components/chipsets are arranged on the motherboard.

Thanks!

TX2000
07-20-2013, 03:40 PM
here is the other picture i have . i forgot to take a pic of the underside tho :(

23618

AAndrei
07-21-2013, 07:30 AM
Thanks! Are there any other slots for mPCIe on the other side of the motherboard?
In the last pic I can see there is only one used for wifi.

TX2000
07-21-2013, 02:52 PM
i don't remember any mPCI free back there

AAndrei
07-23-2013, 09:01 AM
Still bugging you, but do you have more pics? For both sides maybe? :)
I would like to see the cooling system, heatpipes position, arangement, etc...

EpIcSnIpErZ23
07-24-2013, 02:13 AM
BTW, let me know if you find a mSATA connector built into the mobo. Might have to bring out meh old soldering iron :)

TX2000
07-24-2013, 02:44 AM
i dont saw an msata connector
23876

TX2000
07-24-2013, 02:49 AM
this picture
23877

from this website

http://www.notebookcheck.net/Preview-Asus-G750JX-Notebook.93319.0.html

bothers me

Vicodin
07-25-2013, 06:17 AM
Wow I can't believe the CPU is soldered to the board like that! I re-pasted a G55 and even that was in a socket. Very odd they went this route. It is good to know that if a CPU happens to fail, you get to replace the whole motherboard.... lol

XDamage
07-25-2013, 09:34 AM
Surely, if they soldered the cpu onto the motherboard without ruining either, it must be possible to desolder it? :confused:

I'm thinking about getting the JH version, but yeah, the soldered CPU is a pretty big minus.

roryh86
07-25-2013, 09:56 AM
Do you guys really switch out CPUs? I dunno, I've had 3 laptops before this and never switched out CPUs and they probably had sockets. But maybe that's just me.

TX2000
07-25-2013, 07:48 PM
Do you guys really switch out CPUs? I dunno, I've had 3 laptops before this and never switched out CPUs and they probably had sockets. But maybe that's just me.

i have never switched cpu/gpu from any laptop i have had . i changed memory and HDD/SSD thats all

rewben
07-26-2013, 04:41 AM
yes, we do. well, i do. i use the laptop for work purposes. i need more cpu power.

c3141rog
08-04-2013, 03:34 AM
Soldering is standard practice now for Haswell CPUs. It is Intel, not ASUS making this change. There are still a few PGA (socketed) versions but most Haswell laptop CPUs are BGA soldered. In particular, the 4700HQ only comes in a soldered version : http://ark.intel.com/products/75116. Only the MQ and MX models remain socketed. BGA offers better power and thermal characteristics which is why they are switching to it.

You do NOT have the equipment to desolder and change out the CPU. You can't do BGA soldering with a soldering iron, you need specialized equipment.

TekNiko
08-06-2013, 04:23 PM
i removed the old paste and replaced it with coollaboratories liquid pro
23339
the old and messy paste
23340
cleaned the old paste and a little drop of liquid pro
23341
and also did the gpu this is the clean 770m gpu.. forgot to take more pictures

computer is running cool . 5degrees less than before.

was scary to get in there but it was worth it

So what were your temperatures for CPU and GPU before you repasted? And what are they now?