PDA

View Full Version : Overclocking my G750JW



EpIcSnIpErZ23
07-15-2013, 06:09 PM
Hi everyone, I have been slowly OC'ing my GTX 765m. I got it to 997, 881, 5500. It upped my preformance from 28-30 fps in High on Far Cry 3 to 29 - 30 fps on Ultra in Far Cry 3. My temps have maxxed out at 65 degrees C. Has anyone gone farther than this OC?



Thanks.

EpIcSnIpErZ23
07-15-2013, 06:24 PM
UPDATE - I pushed it to 997, 881, 6000. My preformance went up to 30-32 fps on Ultra In Far Cry 3. Temps maxxed at 67 degrees C under load.

EpIcSnIpErZ23
07-15-2013, 06:44 PM
UPDATE AGAIN :D - I got it to 997, 900, 6000. It is pretty stable. Good temps 5-10 fps improvement in games. If you raise the Memory Clock to anything above 6000, games start to get glitchy. I raised it to 6100, and Far Cry 3 started having weird texture issues. This is the max overclock i have been able to get. Temps max at 67 degrees C.

Best Preset for Far Cry 3 with this Overclock is Very High. It manages to average 30-31 fps.

:D

roryh86
07-15-2013, 10:07 PM
Can you explain a bit your numbers and what software you used. Is it Asus GPU Tweak? I use MSI afterburner and maxed out the core overclock +135 and the memory +1000. So under load, my core reaches 1032 Mhz and memory 3005 Mhz (as double rate), max temp 67, I haven't touched the voltage, but it's been stable.

What's your second number (900?) after 997? And I dunno why GPU tweak puts memory as 6000, it should be half that. Have you played with voltage?

EpIcSnIpErZ23
07-15-2013, 10:55 PM
Yea, I am using Asus GPU Tweak. I got my GPU Clock to 997. I played around with the voltage and brought it up to 900 with no issues. For some reason in GPU tweak i can bring the Memory clock up to 6000 MHz, but if i bring it anywhere above, my games start to have tearing issues.

Neptun
07-16-2013, 12:11 AM
Nice, i'll try 997/900/6000, max temp i have gotten is 71C , not graphics card but in like everything i guess, i used realtemp ... btw try overclocking your processor it will help with performance.

EpIcSnIpErZ23
07-16-2013, 02:37 AM
Yea, i will try OCing my CPU. I just played far cry 3 for 2-3 hours and my maxx temp was 70C.

hmscott
07-16-2013, 09:57 AM
Neptun, there is a "Monitor" app bundled with Asus GPU tweak, scrolls down for more readings too, you can adjust the time base for the graph and save readings over a longer time as well.

I also use the Monitor option of the Intel Extreme Tuning Utility (top right of XTU dialog, small icon says monitor) for watching cpu temps.

AIDA64 under Windows 8 using 8GadetPack -brings back Gadget functionality to Windows 8 + a bunch of gadgets:

http://www.aida64.com/downloads/a64xe

http://8gadgetpack.net/

23440


Nice, i'll try 997/900/6000, max temp i have gotten is 71C , not graphics card but in like everything i guess, i used realtemp ... btw try overclocking your processor it will help with performance.

roryh86
07-16-2013, 02:40 PM
Yea, I am using Asus GPU Tweak. I got my GPU Clock to 997. I played around with the voltage and brought it up to 900 with no issues. For some reason in GPU tweak i can bring the Memory clock up to 6000 MHz, but if i bring it anywhere above, my games start to have tearing issues.

EpicSniper, thanks for the reply. I stopped using Asus GPU Tweak cause it had some crashing issues, and its monitor feature doesn't have FPS monitoring, so I'm using MSI afterburner. Yes, I've noticed too than anything over 6000 (actually 3000 it should be) causes throttling on the GPU and core drops to 450 Mhz.

As for your 900 voltage setting, in fact that isn't doing anything. Because the GPU has a dynamic Voltage from 0.850 idle to 1.037 under load. If you want any benefit from voltage, you have to set it to anything above 1.037v, like 1.1v, which would then become the new voltage ceiling (0.850 to 1.1), it will stay dynamic. But I don't see any necessity to adjusting voltage as yet, maybe when we have an unlocked VGA bios to increase core clock higher.

hmscott
07-16-2013, 10:47 PM
...
As for your 900 voltage setting, in fact that isn't doing anything. Because the GPU has a dynamic Voltage from 0.850 idle to 1.037 under load. If you want any benefit from voltage, you have to set it to anything above 1.037v, like 1.1v, which would then become the new voltage ceiling (0.850 to 1.1), it will stay dynamic. But I don't see any necessity to adjusting voltage as yet, maybe when we have an unlocked VGA bios to increase core clock higher.

roryh86, thanks for pointing that out. I set it to 1043mV in Asus GPU Tweak, and the monitor showed it did max out at 1043mV during a Furmark run.

23491

I would like to limit the voltage to below 1037mV to see if it still runs, to reduce heat. How can we do that?

Increasing the voltage made my 6400 Cinebench 11.5 run fail much more spectacularly - nice artifacts and my first freeze requiring reboot - voltage is back to under 1037 :)

roryh86
07-17-2013, 05:04 PM
roryh86, thanks for pointing that out. I set it to 1043mV in Asus GPU Tweak, and the monitor showed it did max out at 1043mV during a Furmark run.

23491

I would like to limit the voltage to below 1037mV to see if it still runs, to reduce heat. How can we do that?

Increasing the voltage made my 6400 Cinebench 11.5 run fail much more spectacularly - nice artifacts and my first freeze requiring reboot - voltage is back to under 1037 :)

Hehe yea, it froze with me as well with higher voltage. Well the Asus GPU tweak (the only app I know of that allows you to play with voltage on our Asus GPU) doesn't work Windows 8.1 which I have installed. Keeps crashing. So I'm not sure if there's a way besides a modified VGA BIOS to lower the idle voltage. Have you tried lowering the Asus GPU tweak voltage to like .8 or .825 and see if it undervolts (using GPUZ)? Btw, I've noticed, ironically, that with +960 Mhz on memory I get better FPS and scores than +1000. Although +1000 is stable.

I've been seeing your Futurmark results over the forum a few times, have you tried 3DMark 11 Performance (P) preset? Curious to know your score. My latest highest (Also currently G750JW online highest :o) is 4927. Here (http://www.3dmark.com/3dm11/6880189).

23512

My new high actually. Here (http://www.3dmark.com/3dm11/6880472). :p

23514

hmscott
07-18-2013, 10:12 AM
roryh86, did a new run, first after updating to 320.49 and XTU bump, first run 4969
http://www.3dmark.com/3dm11/6883395

roryh86
07-18-2013, 10:46 AM
roryh86, did a new run, first after updating to 320.49 and XTU bump, first run 4969
http://www.3dmark.com/3dm11/6883395

Very nice result hmscott! :) I hit 4985 (http://www.3dmark.com/3dm11/6881265) last night on second run that I didn't upload here yet although you can see it on the 3D mark comparison. I'm sure you should be able to get higher though since your memory is clocked higher. Is your GPU still at stock voltage? Can I ask you what your CPU overclock and voltage settings are? I noticed that lowering CPU voltage helps keeps high GPU overclock stable.

Edit: I also noticed you're getting Valid result verified driver on Futurmark. I'm still getting a Graphics driver is not approved :confused:

hmscott
07-18-2013, 11:34 AM
The 320.49 driver gives me a Valid Result now at completion. The recent Asus driver gives Invalid Result. Both results revolve around how FutureMark only approves certain drivers.

Bouncing around 6288 for the memory setting, I get a lower score for lower memory setting, and artifacts/crash for significantly higher settings.

For now 4970 is the highest score I can claim - enjoy your top spot :)
http://www.3dmark.com/3dm11/6883547

It would be nice to break 5000!

I haven't done much to tune XTU, but have attached my settings, please do the same so we can compare.

roryh86
07-18-2013, 01:11 PM
The 320.49 driver gives me a Valid Result now at completion. The recent Asus driver gives Invalid Result. Both results revolve around how FutureMark only approves certain drivers.

Bouncing around 6288 for the memory setting, I get a lower score for lower memory setting, and artifacts/crash for significantly higher settings.

For now 4970 is the highest score I can claim - enjoy your top spot :)
http://www.3dmark.com/3dm11/6883547

It would be nice to break 5000!

I haven't done much to tune XTU, but have attached my settings, please do the same so we can compare.

Haha thanks. It would be very nice to break the 5000 mark, definitely possible with unlocked BIOSes for VGA and G750. If they fix Asus GPU Teweak for Win 8.1, maybe I can try pushing the memory again past 6000. Thanks for the profile, I've uploaded mine for a comparison. Here you go.

hmscott
07-18-2013, 02:21 PM
Thanks roryh86, I will work with the negative offset. What do you use to check stability for a new voltage setting?

Just dropping in your XTU config gave me the same 3dmark11 score. I wonder what is holding me back?

I have loaded a lot of stuff on this system, I probably need a clean install SSD to get best numbers, but I am happy with the performance as is for now. :)

EpIcSnIpErZ23
07-18-2013, 03:18 PM
Hey guys, i have noticed if i raise my memory to 6001+ Far Cry 3 starts to have tearing issues. Is anyone else experiencing this?

hmscott
07-18-2013, 04:06 PM
Haha thanks. It would be very nice to break the 5000 mark...

Overrode some global Nvidia settings, and voila! 5008!
http://www.3dmark.com/3dm11/6885478

Running with -70mV has been stable so far, ran some processor intensive tests and no hiccups. What did you run to find the sensitivity toward undervolting?

roryh86
07-18-2013, 10:02 PM
Overrode some global Nvidia settings, and voila! 5008!
http://www.3dmark.com/3dm11/6885478

Running with -70mV has been stable so far, ran some processor intensive tests and no hiccups. What did you run to find the sensitivity toward undervolting?

I told you you'd break the 5000 mark :p You have a good chip it seems. I usually test with Cinebench, I run the OpenGL test while having GPUZ>Sensors tab open beside it and I check for any core throttling, it usually stays at 1032 Mhz, but if unstable drops to 450 Mhz and you can instantly see the fps drop in Cinebench, and requires machine restart. CPU I test also with Cinebench, a bad overclock might be stable but will give you a worse CPU score than even stock sometimes (something to do with voltage steps, eg. CPU can't process correctly at -70 mV but can at -71 mV).

If those are stable, I test with my own software that I use for work (Revit Architecture & 3ds Max). I've had the computer pass Cinebench and XTU15 min stress test only to fail 3 minutes into a Revit rendering. Time is the best stability test, I've had computer crash just on general use like browsing, after passing everything. I don't use Prime95 etc as it increases temp ridiculously and puts unrealistic strain on the chip. Most of my crashes through undervolting have been through playing Battlefield 3.

hmscott
07-20-2013, 06:07 AM
Thanks roryh86, it is consistent around 5003/5008/5009 for all the drivers, Asus stock, 320.49, and 326.19. -70mV is stable as well, might try for a bit more. Have you considered undervolting the cache too? Do you think they should track each other, both voltages?