PDA

View Full Version : The Wonderful Journey in the world of ROG RealBench



Zka17
07-27-2013, 02:46 AM
I recently got my hands on an Asus Maximus V Extreme and a 3770k. Lately I was benching on the RIVE, so I kinda forgot how to tweak the Z77 platform... I have decided that I will start tweaking/re-learning and checking the results with ROG RealBench! :cool:

It proved to be a very exciting experience, so I'm willing to share it... :)

The objective was to get as high score as possible in RB, but keep the tweaking as simple as possible - I was curious primarily about this platform's and CPU's performance... more serious tweaking will come later...

Let's start with the hardware:
Mobo: Asus Maximus V Extreme - stock cooling
CPU: Intel Core i7-3770k - it is a used, de-lidded & re-lidded specimen (TIM has been changed in it), watercooled (chiller)
RAM: GSkill TridentX, 2x4GB, 2600MHz, 10-12-12-31 2T, 1.65V - stock cooling
SSD: Samsung 830, 128GB - for OS and applications
HDD: some small laptop platter - for data
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate - with all the updates installed
VGA: GeForce Titan - stock cooling (has no importance in this experiment)

ROG RealBench is the newest version to date: v1.1

As it can be seen, the only watercooled part is the CPU... it's connected to my chiller and the coolant temp was set to 65F/18.33C, while the room temp was 23C...

The OS is running in Diagnostic Mode, Realbench.exe's priority is set to Realtime and explorer.exe is turned off... after each set of runs, restarted the system...

1. After setting up the system and installing all the updates, I run my first RealBench test... just to set a baseline...
At this point everything was on BIOS defaults - got a system score of 570

2. The first tweak was to choose the XMP settings form Ai Tuner: 2400MHz/10-12-12-31 2T - score went up to 645

3. just to have the sensation that I'm controlling the tweaking, I set the memories at their XMP spec manually... and set the CPU to 3.9GHz (39x100)... I started to run two tests one after another - got a max score of 646

4. Then I switched the memories from 2T to 1T - just a little bit of increase in scores: 648

5. Then I have started to push the CPU, basically by only increasing the multi... but before, I disabled the CPU Spread Spectrum, Execute Disabled Bit and all C-States... CPU at 4GHz (40x100) - score 662

6. Just continued increasing the multi... CPU at 4.2GHz - score 690

7. CPU at 4.4GHz - score 719

24029

8. CPU at 4.6GHz - score 746

24030

9. And CPU at 4.8GHz - score 770

Please, note that I haven't changed anything else in BIOS beside of those mentioned above...
However, the next step, moving to 5GHz started to present some trouble:

24031

The system booted up fine, even the AIDA64 stress-testing was going on well... - only the RealBench was not happy...

10. So, I took some extra measures... enabled the Internal PLL Overvoltage, set LLC to Ultra HIgh and disabled VRM Sread Spectrum... also, started to push the Vcore manually..
. at 1.520V finally got a result with CPU at 5.0GHz - score 796

11. Got very excited and applied an another tweak: reduced the screen resolution to 1024x768... had to push the Vcore a little bit more (to 1.530) - and finally passed the 800 mark with a 4-core CPU! 5.0GHz - score 809

24032

12. Then followed a long period of trial and - mostly errors - while I was pushing the Vcore further for 5.1GHz... when I passed 1.6V, I actually set the coolant temp to 60F/15.5C, just to stay on the safe side... also, enabled the Xtreme Tweaking (not sure if this one helped) and set the LLC to Extreme... I was running AIDA64 in background to monitor the temps... when I got to 1.66V, finally passed with CPU at 5.1GHz - score 805

24033

Temps reached 80C during the second test!

13. And finally I reset the screen to the lower resolution... CPU at 5.1GHz - score 821

24034

Here is the summary of my journey:

24035

And a chart with the evolution of the scores:

24036

I'm showing the each score from both of the runs, so it can be seen that it is a big difference running RealBench for the second time! Also, check how much improvement brings if you set the screen resolution lower!

One more thing... you also can see how the Vcore got increased... - please, monitor your temps while tweaking!!! The role of this thread is to show some basic tweaks (maybe, letar on some more detailed ones too) and not suggesting that your CPU can do the same clocks at the same voltage! Your CPU can be actually better, needing less voltage... or can be worse... - don't forget that I used a chiller for cooling...

So, that's it for now... hope you will enjoy it...

Myk SilentShadow
07-27-2013, 02:58 AM
WOW!!! that's impressive Z!!! now, were you testing all the time in Diagnostic mode, or just standard Win7 Boot?

Zka17
07-27-2013, 03:02 AM
All the time in Diagnostic Mode!
You just set the Realtime and turn off explorer.exe after each restart of the system, then after RB finished you can turn back explorer.exe and save your results

Myk SilentShadow
07-27-2013, 03:07 AM
Awesome thanks!!! I never knew dropping the screen resolution would have any impact, so thanks for the tip!!! i'm getting a bit toey, I hate looking at my poor RIVF, 3820 and Pi RAM and i'm unable to play with them...no CPU cooler lol

Zka17
07-27-2013, 03:09 AM
i'm unable to play with them...no CPU cooler lol

Man, just get some kind of air-cooler and fire up that system! Start familiarizing with the BIOS...

Myk SilentShadow
07-27-2013, 03:14 AM
Man, just get some kind of air-cooler and fire up that system! Start familiarizing with the BIOS...

i'm flat broke right now mate, I can't even afford a low end air cooler lmao. I got paid 2 days ago and i'm broke, it's just gonna have to wait, my car is over-due for it's 6 monthly service.

Arne Saknussemm
07-27-2013, 08:04 AM
Nice post and info Zka17!

nikosa43
07-27-2013, 09:50 AM
Z that's why you are a VIP member of this place! That's amazing. I keep notes mate but you are to a level by yourself. Again congratulations, for the score but also to your effort to make this thread and share all these with all the ROGERS.

ganji
07-27-2013, 10:10 AM
Nice post Zka17, it will come in usefull for a lot of folk.

KPRage
07-27-2013, 11:56 AM
Awesome Z.. Its always a learning when u guys are around.. +++ for the share.. :) Thanks Nodens for the awesome work on the bench.. Zolt mate, there is so much learning to do.. Its really awesome.. :)

Zka17
07-27-2013, 12:49 PM
Thanks, guys! :)

My intention with this first post was to show that you don't have to do a heck of lot tweaks to see some nice increasing results... just keep it simple...

Then, we will get to the more detailed tweaking too... :cool:

Detleg
07-27-2013, 12:52 PM
Awesome Z...thanks for sharing this with us!!! next Rep.
You must spread some Reputation around before giving it to Zka17 again.

Detleg
07-27-2013, 12:58 PM
after i done some testing myself, i didnt see any improvement running Diagnostic mode, i did however see some when changed to realtime, and explorer off, but on the other hand, alot of my sercvices where turned off already. and i ran the batch file that HiViz posted.
I think it has a lot to do with a clean SSD, I upgraded to the 250gb 840 Pro series and had a 20 point increase just by doing so.

Detleg
07-27-2013, 01:04 PM
I wanted to create a ram disk, using RAMDISK ultimate edition but im just not comfy with that ...i know im weird like that lol

Zka17
07-27-2013, 01:07 PM
Yes, the Diagnostic Mode is for those lazy guys like me... :) If you have stripped OS, then no reason to use it...

I did not get to the RAMDisk either... one day will certainly try it out, but now an SSD is just fine...

Zka17
07-27-2013, 02:45 PM
In mean time I have played a little bit in BIOS... :cool:

This time the goal was to see if I can push the RAM a little bit more - but still was trying to keep it simply...

So, I choose to play with the BCLK... for that I have reduced the CPU multi to 50 and left the Vcore at the same 1.66V (the CPU-Z is showing 1.7, but that's perhaps an overshooting because of the LLC extreme... when under load it goes back to 1.66)

1. Raised the BCLK to 102, RAM went up to 2626MHz - score 829

24049

Note: for this run, I actually did not have set the Realtime and did not turn off explorer.exe... - but it was a double run...

2. Then raised the BCLK to 102.1, RAM at 2627MHz - score 831

24050

This time i used every tweak described before... :)

Also, note that with raising the BCLK, the CPU speed got some extra MHz...

Now I will let this system to rest a little bit and going back to the RIVE... - only 2 more days left from the Summer Sizzler!

KPRage
07-27-2013, 02:51 PM
Oooo sweettttt.... :cool: There is some real heat already here mate.. ;) Now, don't make the sun shy in the summer sizzle.. I guess wee need to ask NASA to send some cooling glasses for the SUN.. :cool: ;)

megastarkey
07-27-2013, 04:50 PM
Thank you for the awesome post!

One quick question... I cannot get windows to put RealBench into Realtime mode. I have tried through task manager, I have tried to create a batch file (having issues with that)

Any advice for this realtime challenged OC n00b?

Thanks!

Detleg
07-27-2013, 06:12 PM
what options does it give you Mega? you open task manager>>Processes >>> right click on RB >>>scroll down to Set Priorities....select Realtime.

KPRage
07-27-2013, 06:33 PM
Mega, if you have tried what Detleg has told and yet, find yourself in the same situation (has happened to me), please close explorer first and all your anitvirus and then try to change it to RealTime.. This generally works for me.. However, that did not work once and, I simply closed and reopened RB and did the above steps again.. That worked.. :)

nikosa43
07-27-2013, 07:29 PM
Guys to set anything in real time (except some win services), first you need to press the button or tick the box, depending on the OS, on the bottom left corner of task manager, that says "show services for all users". Then allows you to change everything.

megastarkey
07-27-2013, 08:25 PM
Thank you! Will try on next run!

This is addicting...

Edit: It worked!

Zka17
07-27-2013, 09:49 PM
Cool! By the time I got your question, the boys resolved it for you - this is ROG, my friend... :cool:

megastarkey
07-27-2013, 10:37 PM
Great people here indeed.

Nodens
07-28-2013, 01:18 PM
Great thread Zka17!

_
07-28-2013, 02:45 PM
1.66V! You absolute nutter! Awesome job!

Huge, huge smiles reading that!! :D:D:D:D

Menthol
07-28-2013, 03:14 PM
Zka,
You are a true gentleman, thanks for sharing your results with us

Detleg
07-28-2013, 03:15 PM
1.66V! You absolute nutter! Awesome job!

Huge, huge smiles reading that!! :D:D:D:D

lol he said he wants a 2 core cpu :D

Zka17
07-28-2013, 03:18 PM
Thanks, guys! :)

Don't forget, Richard, that even with that crazy voltage the core temps are just about to reach 80C at max stressing... idle temps are in mid 20'ies.. Now, imagine what I could do with a chip which does 5GHz at 1.25-1.3V! :D

CiNCiTy
07-28-2013, 03:44 PM
i need to get some air cooling man for my pc what do you suggest i do

PS: my case nzxt Phantom 820

i have like 2 or 3 fans running and i have CPU cooler nzxt kraken x60 280m

Zka17
07-28-2013, 04:52 PM
Please, keep this thread for RealBench tweaking... CINCITy you have your own thread, you will get your answer there...

megastarkey
07-28-2013, 05:30 PM
I was looking at your phase change. I want one.... But ... That's some crazy money.


I think I will have to build a totally new test bench. You have inspired me... To break the bank... Sigh.... Such a bad influence.

Zka17
07-28-2013, 06:17 PM
LOL, Starkey, benching is really addictive... an can get costly too...

Phase Change can give you a real difference, but you need to take extra steps to use it... - it's running way below 0C, so condensation is getting a serious issue... you need to insulate your mobo...

But actually I would more curious here about how that FX8350 performs in RealBench... how much can you push the memories?

IM2L844
07-28-2013, 06:51 PM
I didn't want to feel responsible for sending anyone off on a wild goose chase, so I spent a little time paying closer attention to ramdisk results by comparing fresh extractions of realbench on purely default BIOS and Windows 8.1 System settings and the ramdisk version actually performed worse on Multitasking by a significant margin. Enough to bring the overall score down by nearly 20 points. I'm not sure why I had slightly positive results the first time unless it was because I was using a junction then whereas this time I extracted directly to the ramdisk. I don't know, but I thought I would share.

Also, Windows 8 with Haswell didn't respond well to Z's other tweaks either (collectively. I didn't implement and test each one individually).

I haven't gained much in the way of scores, but it's still fun to try and sort all this stuff out. We need a comprehensive sortable spreadsheet.

Zka17
07-28-2013, 06:57 PM
IM2L844, that's a very valuable info! (I would rep you again, but just did in an other thread)

The thing is that the Win 7 was proved to work better for RealBench - if I recall correctly... and I haven't tried Win 8 yet...

If you noted down your results, you can easily create an Excel spreadsheet and post it here - I'm sure that it will be useful!

IM2L844
07-28-2013, 07:05 PM
"If you noted down your results, you can easily create an Excel spreadsheet and post it here"

I haven't, but I think I might start doing that. It really would be the easiest way to keep track of things.

BTW, have I said how much I hate Windows 8? I'm a couple of months in and I've finally stopped yelling profanities at my monitor and have resorted to just mumbling under my breath. There are some things I love about it though. The 10 second boot time for instance. :)

Zka17
07-28-2013, 07:40 PM
Yeah, everybody says about that short boot time... and then they're not even turning off the system, just put it in sleep... - so, what's the big deal with fast booting then?!

I'm old school... I'm turning off my system every night and completely powering it off... then, in the morning I have my ritual... - wake up, put the coffee in the coffee maker, bathroom, then turn on my system, then have my morning coffee while I'm reading the news... by the time i finish the coffee and the news, usually my system is up and running... Sincerely, I do not need faster booting time than that... but once it has booted, I do expect to work flawlessly!

megastarkey
07-28-2013, 11:56 PM
My FX8350 Hit 613 in RealBench. I am at the top of the AMD list. However I took the memory and h100i off of it and combined those on my 4770k system.

I gave it to my son. I had memories up to 2088mhz at stock speed. We are going to add another h100i and he will get my memory when i get some of that Team memory or better in a few weeks. I think I can get close to 650 maybe more with some new tweaks, maybe.

IM2L844
07-29-2013, 01:19 AM
"so, what's the big deal with fast booting then?!"

For day to day use it isn't such a big deal, but It sure comes in handy when you are fiddling around in the BIOS and testing and crashing and rinsing and repeating. :)

Zka17
07-29-2013, 01:44 AM
Yeah... I do have a lot of crashes while benching... - but still enough boot time... :D

Masterbobo
07-29-2013, 01:54 AM
you said your using a chiller, what is that? lol

Zka17
07-29-2013, 01:59 AM
It's an aquarium cooler, adapted for PC use... :)

It can cool the water approx 5-10C below ambient... of course, that depending on the relative humidity and your willingness to insulate your system (if the dew point is reached, condensation will happen)

Masterbobo
07-29-2013, 02:29 AM
It's an aquarium cooler, adapted for PC use... :)

It can cool the water approx 5-10C below ambient... of course, that depending on the relative humidity and your willingness to insulate your system (if the dew point is reached, condensation will happen)

wth? pics? links? is it submerged in water? ive seen that but not sure if its a prank HAHA

Zka17
07-29-2013, 03:02 AM
Nothing is submerged in water...

Here is a review of mine: http://www.bit-tech.net/hardware/cooling/2010/07/20/hailea-hc-500a-water-chiller-review/1

Detleg
07-29-2013, 02:59 PM
drip drip Booom

nikosa43
07-29-2013, 04:40 PM
Five stars for the thread, for the work and the people to see!

HiVizMan
07-29-2013, 04:51 PM
Nice thread ZKa folks do not really understand the hour and hours that can and should go into testing for a particular benchmark.

Zka17
07-29-2013, 05:46 PM
Thanks Nikosa and HiVizMan!

Well, yes, the time... I intentionately didn't mentioned it... - but who does this kind of tweakings/benchings must enjoy it... so, then time doesn't really matter... :)

Zka17
07-29-2013, 05:50 PM
Okay, in an attempt to automate a sortable spreadsheet, I created a form that automatically enters the data into a spreadsheet once it is filled out and submitted. I think I have it configured so anyone can use it or edit it from the link and I don't think you need to be signed in to Google.

This is just sort of an experiment to see how something like this might work. I don't know if anyone would have the time to create something similar "in house" for the ROG site.

If you want, you can give it a whirl here: https://docs.google.com/forms/d/1zhePmWylUq80tKA58TYd0TYoG5EGnMhHSQflXyA-KLE/viewform

Suggestions and criticisms are welcome. It's just an idea.

That would complement nicely the thread where we're submitting the RB scores! However, if you want more infos about details, you may need to list there the whole BIOS' settings... and for every socket type... - it would be a huge database...

HiVizMan
07-29-2013, 06:02 PM
Works well just need it to be integrated into a league table now.

IM2L844
07-30-2013, 03:36 AM
Sorry, Z. Didn't mean to be inconsiderate. It was just a little proof of concept test. I may tinker with it a little more and re-post a better description of the idea to a more appropriate thread when I get some spare time.

Zka17
07-30-2013, 11:34 AM
No problem, mate! :)

meankeys
08-17-2013, 01:47 PM
Nice setup Z

Good suff to know. I have my 3 360 rads up and running now. I am able to pass the 2nd part of the RB encoding @ 4997 but temps are high and shes throttling down during 100% load giving me a low encoding score. Nik gave me some tips on my memory witch allowed me to push my trident X memory up past 2700 MHz (thx Nik) so I may rollback my OC and push memory further.

25065

25066

Menthol
08-17-2013, 06:04 PM
Meankeys,
Did you make that cool can yourself or are they purchasable,
Awesome setup you have, are your rads just setting on top of each other?

Zka17
08-17-2013, 06:25 PM
LOL, I love your setup, meankeys! :cool:

If you're using that icy water tank, you may consider to use it alone, only for the CPU for short runs like RB... if you have that icy tank inline with your rads, the rads actually will warm up the water... - the icy water has it's temps below the ambient (pretty close to 4C), and your ambient is surely higher - the rads will just inverse their role since the air going through them is warmer than the water, so they will start heating up your coolant to room temp...

Now, if you use only the icy water, then the risk of condensation is very high! That's what I meant earlier to pay attention and insulate your mobo...

Also, keeping a distance of 30-50 cm behind the rads (can not appreciate how much is behind them now) will improve the airflow through them and subsequently improve their cooling performance...