PDA

View Full Version : Overclocking a gtx770M

crusen257
07-29-2013, 10:34 AM
Im not an expert so I didn't want to proceed without some suggestions.
To what extent is it safe to over clock the 770M? Also, can anyone post a before-after overclocking performance, just to see if it's worth it?
Thank you

StereoROG
07-30-2013, 07:38 PM
I'm surprised no one has replied to your question yet.

1 - I dont have the G750 with the gtx 770m graphics card so I can't give you a a clear asnwer.

2 - U dont need to be expert to overclock these days as the only thing u need to do is to download a software that allows you to do that, from what i see you haven't got any experience in OC'ing so to point number 3.

3 - Overclocking will avoid warranty as you are doing something outside the rules and regulations so if you are unsure than forget about it.

4 - With mobile graphics you cant expect to have a big difference in performance bcozzzz :

1 - Overclocking = producing more heat ( the G75 had a gr8 cooling module , which i think is used on the G750 series so as long as ur overclocking slowly that should be fine ( please do more research as this is my personal opinion) but still you are LIMITED

2 - If you are overclocking a lot which is pushing the graphics card that might reduce the lifespan of the graphics card

5 - I use MSI afterburner on my 670m on demanding games you will get between 1 to 5 percent extra performance as you see that is not a big difference in FPS getting t 2 or 5 extra frames per second will not make a big difference on the eye IN MY OPINION !!!!

IF you want to overclock start increasing the clock value slowly keep the margin small to be safe, then test for artifacts and keep an eye on the temperatures with GPU-Z. go up slowly till u get that extra frames that satisfies you. Youtube "how to Overclock and you'll get a step by step guide if your not familiar with the vocabulary )