PDA

View Full Version : [Help] How to disable Intel HD Graphics - ASUS x52jc-ex434d



overlucked
08-18-2011, 10:42 AM
I'm here to ask for help, I have a laptop Asus X52Jc with double video card Nvidia Geforce 310M and Intel HD Graphics (technology Nvidia Optimus)

There are 2 options in the bios for video card

1) Run the laptop only whit video card Intel HD Graphics
2) Run the laptop with nvidia optimus (the switch between the two video cards is automatic)

When I run the Aero test ot Windows 7, the system shows me the score of 4.2, which is the score of intel video, I don't want to run my desktop on the intel. I want to run my notebook only with NVIDIA.

Thanks.

xeromist
08-18-2011, 03:32 PM
May I ask why you want to do that? The Nvidia graphics takes a lot more power so your battery will not last. Unless there is a problem with the Intel graphics you should stick with it for 2D.

Brian@ASUS
08-18-2011, 06:00 PM
optimus is designed to only run when needed. its designed to save battery life. if you really want you can also configure your applications to use optimus in your profile settings in the nvidia control panel.

overlucked
08-18-2011, 07:59 PM
May I ask you, do you have that kind of notebook ?
I think you don't.
So, when you buy OPTIMUS we will talk again about this ECONOMY type of work and technology.

xeromist
08-18-2011, 08:38 PM
You are free to do as you choose. We are just trying to help you get the most out of your machine. As Brian wrote above you can enable Optimus for more things in the Nvidia control panel.

BTW, Brian is an ASUS employee so he is very familiar with Optimus and its usage. He gives very good advice.

Brian@ASUS
08-19-2011, 05:00 PM
uhh yea what he said^ i am using a optimus notebook as we speak. heres a picture from "MY" optimus notebook. u33 bamboo. you can see that there is a auto select setting, dedicated nvidia setting or dedicated integrated graphics setting
2492

overlucked
08-20-2011, 06:37 AM
Yeah thanks, but I already know this option..
Why ASUS don't make an option in BIOS for Asus X52jc-ex434d to disable VGA?

I am a Half-Life 1 player and now I can't play it on my notebook, because THERE IS NO SWITCH OPTION like in the picture, go download Half Life and I want to see how you will change to NVIDIA !!!
I can only play Half life 1 with maximum 60-70 frames per second.

Brian@ASUS
08-22-2011, 09:27 PM
if half life doesn't show up in the list of programs you can add it, with the "add" button. there is no way to disable the intel VGA, this is how optimus was designed. 60-70 frames is a lot higher than i expected from a nvidia 310 gpu, and you wont be getting those frames from the intel gpu. im not sure what kind of performance you are expecting from the 310 and how you are determining that the 310 gpu is not running while playing games. did you turn off vsync?

overlucked
08-23-2011, 02:14 PM
Vsinc is tuned off, In some games the 310 gpu is turning on, but Half life is using The intel chip. I can see any task that is running on the nvidia gpu, by entering in the task nvidia menu. And 60 frames is nothing in Half life... With this video the game should be running in 100 fps.

Brian@ASUS
08-23-2011, 09:20 PM
halflife locks on default at 70FPS. have you typed in console fps_max 100?

overlucked
08-24-2011, 12:10 PM
halflife locks on default at 70FPS. have you typed in console fps_max 100?

Yes, of course,I also typed "net_graph 1" to see the fps...
And guess what's happening when I minimize the window while I'm playing half life: start the nvidia task manager... No half life task in Nvidia menu, so I guess it's loading from the intel vga... so optimus ****s ! The driver I've installed is the last one from the nvidia site, so is it optimus the global problem, or the driver of the optimus ?! In both cases it's nvidia fault...

overlucked
09-09-2011, 02:39 PM
Come on? isn't there any solution how to turn off intel video?

MrSzekely89
09-12-2011, 04:26 PM
Helo. I have the same laptop. I dont know why but my 310m card is hidden or something because i cant install nvidia driver, it says "cant find compatible grafic card". So i can install only the intel driver, but i need the nvidia for games... Someone knows why i have this problem?

Daniel.
04-12-2012, 09:41 AM
Optimus technology is a really, really bad result to a genius idea. Locking the machine on a specific configuration is a tradidional Asus procedure, bad and stupid.
There is no way to disable the Intel HD and the optimization between nVIdia and intel HD on this machine is not good.

Brian@ASUS the selection in the nVidia control panel is fictive, the result is that there is no way to manually select the graphic card. Run tests in both manual selection and auto and you will see the same results. But if you really work for ASUS then you know better than me. The only way you can activate the nVIdia (to work behind the Intel HD) is from Windows. Click right on the shortcut and select : Run with graphic proc.... .

@MrSzekely89 : Your problem is the Windows. Use Windows 64Bit, Ultimate. Not professional or home edition.
I had Win 7 Prof. 32bit and I had the same problem, and when I spend more of MY money to upgrade the problem was solved.
You should also check that in BIOS, the VGA option is set to Windows 7/Vista, not Reserved.


My advice (as a Hardware Engineer)...sell it fast and buy something else.
Cheers.

Klemken
07-16-2012, 07:08 PM
I have same problem on my pc whit Intel HD graphic and Nvidia 630M. So if i understood correctly, Optimus switches from Intel HD, to Nvidia onyl when laptop needs more Graphic power? SO where can i enable this Optimus? :P

Thanks :D

nerofea
08-10-2012, 04:34 PM
Hi all,
I'm new here.
i have the same problem with nvidia optimus, i also tried to disable intel graphics.

what i tried:
go to control panel, system, device manager.
then list devices, expand graphic cards. Then right click on intel graphics card and deactivate it.

The screen goes black. Force power off the pc.
Then, when rebooted, the pc will be forced to use the high performance graphic card as default (for me a geforce gt540m).

now the problem is, that there is no driver for the high performance card alone.

I tried to install downloaded drivers, but the card is still not recognized as a stand alone card.
When i looked for specs of the graphic cards, a lot of information fields resulted empty.


So the question is:
Disable the integrated intel card is possible, but how to make the high performance card work properly??
When the integrated card is disabled, screen resolution options, under the high resolution cards are almost disabled, so the card does not work.

Can onyone make a try?

Thanks.

NF.

Zygomorphic
08-11-2012, 01:30 AM
You have Optimus, which is a very special type of graphics card. Optimus uses either the Intel chip alone or both the Intel chip and the nVidia chip simultaneously. When nothing is taxing the graphics card (no 3D operations), then the Intel chip handles everything. However, when 3D operations (such as games) are being done, the nVidia card takes those operations and uses them to render the scene into its video memory.

For hardware reasons, you cannot have two DACs (Digital to Analog Converters) hooked up to the same monitor at the same time and both be driving the same interface. Thus, the Intel is the only card connected to the monitor, and it is responsible for converting the memory image into a physical image on the screen. In order for it to do this, it must have the image that the nVidia card renders. It gets this by having the nVidia card push the final image out onto the PCIe bus into main memory, where the Intel card works. The Intel card takes this and uses it like a video to render to the display.

Because the 60 fps at system resolution is uncompressed video, it chews up a lot of bandwidth, which can cause a bottleneck when running graphics and memory intensive games. Alienware's m11x, for instance, actually has situations where the first revision (core 2 duo) outruns the second (first-gen i5) because the former had the nVidia card physically attached to the GPU (it used BIOS level switching, causing screen blanking), whereas the second used the Optimus technology.

AjGilee
09-20-2012, 11:27 AM
That mean if you have optimus laptop, you are screwed? you are tied up with Intel display...

But please tell me why my friend: Asus A43 laptop with i3 2330M and nVidia GT 520M

on windows 7 device manager show nVidia only as the only VGA without Intel HD 3000.

As far as I know i3 2330m is a sandy bridge with Intel HD 3000, and GT 520M is one of optimus enabled cards.

I am really confused, is there something to do with: "mux-ed" laptops before and "mux-less" laptops now??

xeromist
09-20-2012, 07:55 PM
That mean if you have optimus laptop, you are screwed? you are tied up with Intel display...

But please tell me why my friend: Asus A43 laptop with i3 2330M and nVidia GT 520M

on windows 7 device manager show nVidia only as the only VGA without Intel HD 3000.

Only laptops marketed with Optimus have it. Your friend's A43 doesn't have Optimus so the HD3000 is not used and the 520M runs as a dedicated GPU.

Zygomorphic
09-21-2012, 01:42 AM
Only laptops marketed with Optimus have it. Your friend's A43 doesn't have Optimus so the HD3000 is not used and the 520M runs as a dedicated GPU.

My guess is that it does. What does the palm sticker say? It will tell you if Optimus is enabled.

AjGilee
09-22-2012, 05:38 PM
Mine is N46VM is Optimus Laptop i5 3210m with nVidia GT 630M. It is optimus (only) laptop.

There is no optimus label, only intel inside and Nvidia GeForce 2Gb label on the left side and
Asus feature on the right, nothing mention about Optimus.

My friend's A43 just about the same on his palm stickers.

Everybody says that is imposible to disable Intel HD and use nVidia only.. What do you think about this BIOS photo?
Is it fake? It looks real though.. Please advice, I am super confusing right now..
11942

May I ask is there ASUS official support forum to have hardware expert to ask within this case?

Edit: Some guys on other forum confirmed they can do this in their BIOS on other manufacturer's optimus laptop..

gahehe
11-04-2012, 01:21 AM
i think ASUS diabled it, for what reason i don't know

Zygomorphic
11-04-2012, 11:19 AM
Note the "Boot Display Device [ThinkPad LCD]" It's not an ASUS. Thinkpads, being business machines, may very well have that ability. Check in the BIOS of your systems and see. Nothing will go wrong if you do.

jals
11-13-2012, 08:34 PM
Hello! Sorry to disturb, I have too a laptop Asus X52Jc with double video card Nvidia Geforce 310M and Intel HD Graphics (technology Nvidia Optimus) and a week ago I reinstalled windows 7 32-bit and since then it just won't recognize the Nvidia video card.What can I do? I don't know much about computers, but I don't think it's a hardware issue since I didn't drop it or any kind of shock didn't occur. Can somebody help me? Thank you!

Zygomorphic
11-14-2012, 01:59 AM
@jals, try installing the latest drivers from ASUS' site. If that doesn't work, let us know. My guess is that the drivers are not properly configured for the system.

crayzeeteri
01-13-2013, 05:01 AM
@jals, try installing the latest drivers from ASUS' site. If that doesn't work, let us know. My guess is that the drivers are not properly configured for the system.

Hey guys, just like @jals above, I reinstalled Windows (mine 7 Home Premium 64 bit) and I have the same problem. I have the ASUS Bamboo Series U43. No matter what I do, I can't get it to recognize the NVIDIA card. I've tried so many things - ASUS' drivers from the website (which are seriously old btw), official NVIDIA drivers, beta drivers, modified INFs, all to no avail. If I get past the "no compatible hardware" error, then the closest I get is "Windows has found a driver for your device. However this driver does not support this version of Windows." I know the hardware is there because I used it right up until the reformat/reinstall. Looking at the inf files, each one I've tried using, Windows 7 and Vista 64bit are both included as supported. I'm stumped. Believe it or not, the Optimus worked well for me for the things I use it for, I enjoyed it - I should say well enough, that is, as I can't afford what I'd really like! ;-) But I don't like Intel by itself alone. Good for a lot, but not everything, so I'd really like the use of my NVIDIA card back! Any ideas at all? That don't include a new laptop? LOL! One thing I noticed, if this helps at all, (sorry if this is noobish, but learned all I know from guys like urselves on forums like this, but mostly in the Android phone dept. Haven't built much techy know-how up on the laptop yet, I'll git there!) When I did the reformat/reinstall, I used the ASUS included recovery partition as I bought the laptop from Newegg, and ships with all installed, no disks, the drivers and utilities in the folder you'd use to create your backup/ASUS Drivers & Utilities disk (labeled "esupport") now had even OLDER drivers and utilities! Thinkin this may have once had really old Windows OS on it originally and was upgraded, maybe even more than once. Yep, it was purchased refurbished. Thinkin this could be my prob?? Any help at all would be incredibly appreciated!!!

3XcEpTiOnAl
06-27-2014, 06:05 PM
Hey... I have an Asus Notebook K55VD And it Has Nvidia Geforce 610M And Intel 4000 Graphic cards and i know Exactly what Overlucked says...
I Play Call Of Duty 4 and the maximum fps that i can get is 70-80 with doing Everything That you could tell... Changing Nvidia Control panel settings...
Right Clicking on the program and Choose Run with Nvidia Processor...Even Disabling the Intel Driver! but the game Always Run with the Intel...[When I disable the intel I get 4-5 FPS in game like i have no graphic cards] When I use my Laptop i separate the Battery so the battery life is not important.
I Really want to know how to Run my game on the Nvidia how hard is it if its Possible (Disable the Optimus Technology)