PDA

View Full Version : BD Combo firmware



mstcobra
08-19-2011, 05:48 PM
Hi guys and gals

Does anyone have region free firmware for the Mata****a UJ141as drive, or even the original firmware?

Long story short: I am an American but I live in Germany, I also speak German so naturally I have my dvd collection from the states that I like to watch and I also like to rent and buy movies here too. At the moment I have left my computer on region 2 and just use my dvd player for region 1 movies (lucky for me my normal dvd player for the TV is region free) Any way I would love to make it where my good old g73 can work at its full potential in both of my countries.

ps. I have already googled till my fingers bled and I have also extensively searched through rpc1.org and found nothing.

Thanks for the help guys

FLiNT
08-19-2011, 06:03 PM
AFAIK, there isn't a code-free firmware for this drive, but there are some free software solutions (like Passkey Light) out there.

chrsplmr
08-19-2011, 06:04 PM
I looked also...keep coming up with panasonic firmware..
then i saw another forums post..with a link to asus for that
firmware... did panasonic buy them out, then asus?? who knows??
http://support.asus.com/Download.aspx?SLanguage=en&m=Optical%20Disk%20Drive%20Firmware&p=3&os=8
Look at it for yourself..I make no claims to it..this is what 20min...found me.

And there is always Burn4Free...

A second drive is out of the question?

mstcobra
08-19-2011, 06:26 PM
FLiNT

AFAIK, there isn't a code-free firmware for this drive, but there are some free software solutions (like Passkey Light) out there.

I have tried a bunch of the software solutions and none of them have worked. Even AnyDVD although it will remove the region code from a dvd when ripping it, will only read a dvd with a region code matching that of the drives region code.




chrsplmr

I looked also...keep coming up with panasonic firmware..
then i saw another forums post..with a link to asus for that
firmware... did panasonic buy them out, then asus?? who knows??
http://support.asus.com/Download.asp...mware&p=3&os=8
Look at it for yourself..I make no claims to it..this is what 20min...found me.

And there is always Burn4Free...

A second drive is out of the question?


I checked the asus support link you have sent me and I too have arrived at that page once and although they do have a few panasonic drives with a UJ code in there, they dont have the UJ141as. I too find it quite confusing how Mata****a seems to be mixed in with or owned by panasonic and asus.

As far as I can see, isnt burn4free just burning freeware or will it also giving reading abilities through different regions?

Na, a second drive isnt outa the question, atm it seems like my only real solution, I was just kinda hoping to find a solution that was lighter on the wallet and on my desk, at the moment between the external HDD, mouse, game wheel/gas/break/clutch/shifter, joystick/throttle/rudder pedals and then a external drive I am afraid my laptop will become a transformer and try to take over my house xD

Kipper
08-19-2011, 07:03 PM
AnyDVD needs to be running in the background and then it should render the player software region free.

There are a few region free player software programs such as DVD Xplayer (http://www.dvd-x-player.com/) that will work for your DVD collection. DVD±R burners must be set by Region and you only have 5 changes available.

Blu-ray is not set by the drive itself but the software player being used and the software allows for 5 changes; there are a few different ways around your situation such as having two BD software players on your system. Say, PowerDVD 11 and set it for region 1 USA and say maybe Total Media Theater 5 and set for region 2 Europe. More info can be found here (http://www.reviewmaze.com/2011/08/region-free-blu-ray-player-software.html).

mstcobra
08-19-2011, 09:32 PM
I just tried DVD Xplayer and even that doesn't work. At the moment I'd even be happy if I could get my hands on a dump program that works for this drive's bios so I could atleast dump my firmware and reflash it every time my 5 changes are done but I doubt that will happen.

btw I thank you guys for your help and speedy replies :)

Kipper
08-20-2011, 01:03 AM
There has to be something else going on with that drive; AnyDVD running in the background will render the disc region free.

Have you tried the Slysoft support forums (http://forum.slysoft.com/)? There are very knowledgeable folks there and I know for a fact that several of the slysoft programmers are lurking most of the time.

FLiNT
08-20-2011, 02:47 AM
I have tried a bunch of the software solutions and none of them have worked. Even AnyDVD although it will remove the region code from a dvd when ripping it, will only read a dvd with a region code matching that of the drives region code.

Now that's really weird. Did you use a recent version of AnyDVD? Was it running and active (i.e. red fox symbol in the system tray) when you inserted the DVD? All relevant boxes checked under "Settings -> Videos DVD -> Settings" and "Settings -> Drives -> Selection"?

mstcobra
08-20-2011, 12:53 PM
I have AnyDVD HD 6.8.0.0

Here is the error anydvd gives me when I insert a region 2 disk. (I switch my player to region 1 in hopes that it might help the programs work)
http://666kb.com/i/bw8luq0o238s36mui.jpg

as far as the settings are concerned I have them all on default.

chrsplmr
08-20-2011, 01:13 PM
bummer.

Kipper
08-20-2011, 02:22 PM
Looks like you might have to change out the slim-line burner for a lite-on or a Sony-Optiarc drive.

If you can find one of the Lite-on drives there is a great deal of support for them; you might find what you need here. (http://forum.rpc1.org/portal.php)

Probably the least amount of trouble would be to just pick up a nice external drive such as this one (http://www.asusrog.com/forums/showthread.php?3194-ASUS-BW-12D1S-U-Blu-ray-DVD-Burner-Review).