PDA

View Full Version : G53SX GTX 560m vs G53SW 460m



Lorentzen1337
08-22-2011, 05:54 PM
As mentioned above in the title.
I have heard from a lot of sources that the G53sx only carrys the 128bit version of GTX560m.
Whereas the older G53SW should be with the 192bit version of GTX460m.
Can anyone confirm or deny this?
I do know that the GTX560M is also produced in an 192bit version but havent found any official sources saying that it is produced as an 128bit model and that is this model which is shipped in the G53SX.
So if an official could confirm this or maybe someone who has bought this machine could send me a screenshot of GPU-Z as evidence.

Looking forward to answers!
By the way - I live in denmark do not know if the models shipped here are different from models else where.

jorlanm
08-22-2011, 07:39 PM
the 460m will be better in the long run since games that will be using more VRAM will actualy take advantage or the 192 bit bus

Lorentzen1337
08-22-2011, 08:12 PM
the 460m will be better in the long run since games that will be using more VRAM will actualy take advantage or the 192 bit bus
That i do know!
What i wanted was an official confirmation that the GTX560M in G53SX is a 128bit as no official sources has reported that so far hoping some Asus guy would show up and confirm or HOPEFULLY deny it.
Or at least some guy who have bought the laptop could give a screenshot of GPU-Z to confirm it.

jorlanm
08-22-2011, 11:00 PM
Yes the G53sx is 128-Bit GPU hence the 2GB VRAM
The G53sw is 192-Bit GPU hence the 1.5GB VRAM

iraqiboy90
08-23-2011, 12:47 AM
why does it states at nVidia official site that the 560m is "up to 192"?
http://www.geforce.com/Hardware/GPUs/geforce-gtx-560m/specifications

jorlanm
08-23-2011, 02:03 AM
correct..."Up to"...The 1.5GB and 3GB GTX 560m are 192-Bit...

The 2GB GTX 560m are 128-Bit...

Lorentzen1337
08-23-2011, 01:36 PM
correct..."Up to"...The 1.5GB and 3GB GTX 560m are 192-Bit...

The 2GB GTX 560m are 128-Bit...

Well that just seems plain stupid to put a 128bit GPU in the machine, making it pourer than its predecessor...
So the G74SX 3gb. will be a 192bit and it ships for the same price in my country :P
However i need a 15inch...
This is just so stupid haha...

Can any official or owner of the machine confirm this?