PDA

View Full Version : How do I get to the menu that lets me select a boot device, want to reinstall windows

MooMooCow
08-20-2013, 11:44 AM
So i have Win 9 x64 on a stick, want to install it fresh, because for some odd reason when I'm playing DayZ Origins with my friends my mouse pointer goes nuts in the game and its menus, I have tried changing drivers and turning the touchpad off but it isn't helping, and I know the mouse is good, so it must be some piece of software asus included on the machine that's causing this,

please help fast o.o I am a server admin for Origins and so as you can imagine I am often needed to mediate disputes between my server's patrons and such >.<

also don't know if it matters but I got this from best buy just today, the laptop I mean

MooMooCow
08-20-2013, 12:14 PM
im getting the boot menu now but the only option there is to boot into the already installed os, its like it's not seeing my usb stick

Dr4g0n36
08-21-2013, 08:56 AM
If you still want to boot from USB sticks that arent Backtracker devices (for example Linux live distributions), you have to enter in BIOS option, deselect SECURE BOOT under security tab and FAST BOOT under boot tab. Then, restart, enter in BIOS option for second time and under boot menů will be available "CSM" select it and the machine will boot normally like every 10 y.o. PC

coolsbrah
08-21-2013, 09:26 AM
I also had to figure this out, but I want to know why do this motherboard goes to so much hassle in order to get to boot from other devices like its really a pain, all of this deselecting options I dont know what they do. secure boot? fast boot?

Also when I activate fast boot, I cant even select which hard drive to prioritize does anyone know? I want to keep fast boot activated

Dr4g0n36
08-21-2013, 09:43 AM
ok, try to better explain:

CSM is the "old" boot mode, the raw initialization sequence of devices.