PDA

View Full Version : ROG G75-VX switching between digital and analog audio



Executor
08-25-2013, 02:21 PM
Hello

I am an owner of a G75-VX T4043H and one of the reasons why I bought it was because i have a Logitech Z906 sound system and I am using an optical audio cable and a 3.5mm connector and wanted a laptop that can support digital output.

I also own a Turtlebeach usb audio adapter that I used on my previous laptop for that same purpuse, it was just I didn't want to use a USB slot for that purpose :)

So the question is the following:

Is it possible to configure the G75 to automatically detect if I have plugged a digital device plug in the headphones jack and switch to the digital output automatically?

Because right now I have to manually set the digital device to be the default audio device each time I want to connect the Z906 sound system, and when I want to switch to headphones or laptop speakers I need to manually switch to the analog audio output?

And I am asking this because my turtlebeach audio adapter can work with both the digital jack and analog headphones without having me specify what I've plugged in.

If anyone has a solution to this I would be really grateful :)

Kerly
08-25-2013, 08:44 PM
I don't think there is a way to auto detect this. I understand it is quite annoying to change the audio output each time.
Luckily you got your optical output working. For some reason my Yamaha AV receiver isn't outputting any sound when I hook up the optical cable.

Executor
08-27-2013, 10:11 AM
Does anyone else have any ideas?

And Kerly regarding your issue, did you try it with another output device, to make sure that the problem is infact with the notebook, and did you try to manually tell it to use the digital output as the default audio device?

Executor
08-29-2013, 02:49 PM
So no one knows if the RoG is just incapable of recognizing if it has a digital or analog device in the 3.5mm plug, or if it is just some software issue that can somehow be fixed?

Clintlgm
08-29-2013, 03:27 PM
OK I don't know for sure, but I'm thinking that the Digital Sound it through the Video Card and only work through HDMI? I really have no idea about this nor does any one else it appears.

Executor
08-29-2013, 07:01 PM
No it's not.
I have 2 NVIDIA HDMI Output devices (port 0 and port 1). I would guess they are for the hdmi and thunderbolt ports probably?

I also have Speakers (Realtek HIgh Definition Audio) and Realtek Digital Output (Realtek High Definition audio) as audio devices.
see attachment bellow:

25596

And as logic suggets, Speakers are used for speakers and headphones, whereas Realtek DIgital Output is used for digital output.

I have no problems getting the sound to work, but as it seems, the realtek Digital Output device appears to always be active, (i.e. can not detect whether a cable is plugged in or not (see hdmi devices as reference)), and because of that windows will not auto switch to and from that device, and I have to manually set the default device each time I want to change the output.

Clintlgm
08-29-2013, 07:05 PM
Yep sorry I missed that your OP stated you have a VX