PDA

View Full Version : Asus G750-JW - Windows 8 not detecting HDD



Jeracan
08-28-2013, 07:29 AM
Greetings! :)

I hope someone here is able to help me out a little since I'm kinda running desperate :P

Anyway, last night I got my brand new G750. It was deliverd without SSD, just a standard 750GB HDD.
So, I downloaded asus software (can't remember name) to make an image of my whole drive (750gb one)
over to an USB. Removed the HDD, installed the SSD in the same slot and booted up.I got windows to boot
up on from the USB and installed perfectly, so far...so good.


Then finally done, and everything had worked out, I decided to install the 750GB in the other slot.
Here's where the problem starts.....

If I remember correctly, F2 when the computers boots sends me to the bios. With the 750GB installed
I'm not able to access the bios at all, so I can't tell if windows detects it or not, even thought I can
hear the HDD spinn.

Once in windows, the diskmanager-utility is not able to see the 750GB Disc at all, I can only see the SSD
with the following partitions W8 makes. It's not listed at all, SSD plus DVD drive only.

Anyone please have something to throw at me so I can get on using this nice laptop? :-/





****** SOLVED ******

Flea0
08-28-2013, 07:46 AM
Did you try rebooting? Otherwise, type Disk Management into the start menu and open that application, it will let you initialize and format the secondary hdd. You will either get a popup or you will have to right click on the disk to format it into a new volume. Go for MBR since that will be ok for a drive of that size.

Jeracan
08-28-2013, 07:52 AM
Did you try rebooting? Otherwise, type Disk Management into the start menu and open that application, it will let you initialize and format the secondary hdd. You will either get a popup or you will have to right click on the disk to format it into a new volume. Go for MBR since that will be ok for a drive of that size.


Thanks for fast reply Flea0 :)

That's actually what I did, the disk managment built in W8 were to make partitions, format and general all harddisk activity stuff...It's not listed there
at all. It's like the disk isn't installed at all. I've also booted up with Windows 7 just to format this 750GB and hoped W8 would see it once it was formated. But with no luck.

I have to add, I have not fully updated W8 yet to last version, but should that matter? I will eventuelly do that but would like to get everything working before I do. Also, can there be any settings in the bios that I have missed?

Flea0
08-28-2013, 08:35 AM
try deleting all partitions on it with w7 and then letting w8 initialize it?

Jeracan
08-28-2013, 08:47 AM
try deleting all partitions on it with w7 and then letting w8 initialize it?

Yes, the 750GB that originaly came With the PC had W8 installed in the first Place... so what I did was boot With the W7 disc, and just format
the Whole disk and all the partition. Left if With unalocated 750GB of Space. Then booted up With the SSD and W8 again and Windows is not able to see the 750GB at all, not even in the diskmanagment/utility. Also I'm not able to Access the BIOS and see if it's listed there. If I remove the 750GB Disk I will be able to enter bios again.


This is just a mess :(

Flea0
08-28-2013, 09:09 AM
see I wish my memory wouldserve me better because I had the same problem wih my 1tb drive not showing up until I used a very specific tool to initialize it and that was the only program that actually detected the hard disk.

Liger
08-28-2013, 09:46 AM
I had the same issue mate, when you go into disk management is there not anything listed next to a 100mb partition? I'm not at my machine but it wasn't blatantly obvious it was there. All I needed to do was allocate a drive letter to it. I'll check when I get in tonight.

Jeracan
08-28-2013, 10:33 AM
I had the same issue mate, when you go into disk management is there not anything listed next to a 100mb partition? I'm not at my machine but it wasn't blatantly obvious it was there. All I needed to do was allocate a drive letter to it. I'll check when I get in tonight.

If you do however remember please let me know, running out of ideas :-(


will try tonight install the 750GB disk again and pray w8 will eventually see it.

Jeracan
08-28-2013, 11:14 AM
I had the same issue mate, when you go into disk management is there not anything listed next to a 100mb partition? I'm not at my machine but it wasn't blatantly obvious it was there. All I needed to do was allocate a drive letter to it. I'll check when I get in tonight.

I'm at work now but will check once I get home and post some pictures within W8 and from the Bios and hopefully that helps figuring this out. :)

Jeracan
08-28-2013, 02:53 PM
Here is a picture with the Hardisk installed.
http://gyazo.com/377a9da995810c155da4538cd396b75d
http://gyazo.com/4ce20150c5ff7f0269d9baa9a7eb5e92

Still not able to see where I can format or atleast do something with the disk :-(

Maxter
08-28-2013, 04:17 PM
I had a similar issue. I installed a 2nd disk (from my old laptop) and win8 won't detect it. I wonder if we have to adjust this through BIOS. I wanted to transfer all my stuff from that 2nd disk, but never could make the computer detect it. I used a usb-HDD adaptor instead. Sucks.

Jeracan
08-28-2013, 05:42 PM
I had a similar issue. I installed a 2nd disk (from my old laptop) and win8 won't detect it. I wonder if we have to adjust this through BIOS. I wanted to transfer all my stuff from that 2nd disk, but never could make the computer detect it. I used a usb-HDD adaptor instead. Sucks.

Did you ever figure this out some how? or is this an issue with all the G750JW models? if so I will probably just retur it back.

Jeracan
08-28-2013, 06:20 PM
YES!!! Finally got it to work!!! :D


To everyone else in the same situation here's what I did:

Intel Rapid Storage Technology driver
Versjon V12.6.0.1033
(latest version)

And.....



BIOS 207
1.Update EC firmware
2.Support new power 4 gear

Basicly updated my system with these drivers. Not sure you need both, but I did it anyway.



So now I can see my second harddrive and can finally enter the bios once more, with BOTH disks :D


HAPPY! :)

slammurai
12-13-2013, 02:42 AM
I know this is a little late , but here is how.
Once second drive is installed and verified in bios complete these steps.
1. Click Start.

2. Right-click Computer, then click Manage. The "Computer Management" window will open.

3. In the left pane, click Disk Management (under Storage). If your disk is not initialized (as is sometimes the case with brand-new drives), you’ll be prompted to initialize it. If your disk is 2TB or more in size, select GPT; otherwise, stick with MBR.

A list of all connected disk drives is displayed in the center. Unpartitioned drives appear with solid black bars and the label "Unallocated." Partitioned drives appear with solid blue bars and a drive letter.

If your drive isn't partitioned, follow these instructions to partition it. Otherwise, skip down to the next section.

1. Right-click the black bar or the unallocated white space below it and select New Simple Volume… In this case, "Volume" is another term for "partition".

2. Click Next. To create a single, whole-drive partition, make sure the "Simple volume size in MB" value is the same as the "Maximum disk space in MB" value. Click Next.

3. Assign a drive letter of your choice. Click Next.

4. Select Format this volume. For File System, choose NTFS if you’ll be using the drive only with Windows machines. If you will be sharing the information on the drive with Macs, choose exFAT. Keep Allocation unit size at Default. Choose a name for the partition under Volume label. Do not select Perform a quick format or Enable file and folder compression. Click Next.

5. Confirm your selections and click Finish.

If your drive is already partitioned, follow these instructions.

1. Right-click the blue bar or the white space below it and select Format.

2. Choose a name for the partition under Volume label. For File System, choose NTFS if you’ll be using this drive only with Windows machines. If you will be sharing the information on this drive with Macs, choose exFAT. Keep Allocation unit size at Default. Do not select Perform a quick format or Enable file and folder compression. Click OK.

3. Confirm your choices.

taberetta
01-05-2014, 04:14 PM
To Jeracan or anyone with experience on the ASUS G750 JW... I have the same laptop and situation as you did with installing the HDD back in and getting the laptop to recognize that it's there. Where exactly did you download the updates you mentioned that solved your problem? Any other quick tips that might help would be greatly appreciated. I got my new SSD working and all is great, but naturally I want to get the factory HDD back in for extra storage so I wanna make sure I have all the facts right. Thanks to anyone who lends some extra advice. GB!