PDA

View Full Version : SSD Installation on G53SX



Mirumoto
08-24-2011, 09:08 PM
Hello everyone,

I've just ordered a SSD and I would like to prepare for the Windows 7 installation.

I have some questions however on the best way to proceed:

I've already burnt the 5 dvd via AI Recovery burner and also downloaded the ISO in the sticky topic.

Which way do you think is the best? A clean install using the ISO or using the 5 dvd's?

If I use the 5 DVD's will I be able the recreate the 25gigs recovery partition on the SSD?

I would be up for using the 5 dvd's if I can have the 25gigs recovery partition but if I can't I'd rather have a clean version of Windows 7 installed.

Thanks in advance ! :)

Chastity@ASUS
08-25-2011, 01:15 AM
Clean install with Driver updates would be best.

I'd recommend:

Win 7 OS install, and turn off Windows Update.
Install SP1 Redist
Install USB Hotfix
Install Intel INF
Update other drivers
Turn on WU, and do the other updates

You can get your drivers and other hotfix from my Drivers page, linked below.

Mirumoto
08-25-2011, 06:30 AM
Well that's a delailed reply!

Thanks, I'll do that when I receive the SSD :)

Dual
08-25-2011, 07:06 PM
Also make sure that the ssd is the only hdd/ssd in the system when you install Windows. If you want to have both hdd and ssd wait until Windows has installed. I would also suggest you you put a different hdd in the 2nd slot (after windows install) so you keep the original drive in case you want to rma the laptop in the future or check on a software installation or something like that.

Mirumoto
08-26-2011, 10:15 AM
Hello Dual,

Why do you think the SSD should be the only drive in the Laptop while installing windows?

Cat
11-30-2011, 10:36 AM
I wouldn't recommend trying to get the recovery partition on your SSD. On a HDD 25 gigs is not much, but that SSD memory is expensive and precious and shouldn't be wasted on something like that. Use it for your programs/games instead and keep any data files like movies, pictures, music and stuff you don't need to run fast on your HDD.

JRd1st
11-30-2011, 10:38 AM
I wouldn't recommend trying to get the recovery partition on your SSD. On a HDD 25 gigs is not much, but that SSD memory is expensive and precious and shouldn't be wasted on something like that. Use it for your programs/games instead and keep any data files like movies, pictures, music and stuff you don't need to run fast on your HDD.
+1. Totally agree!

MPerni
11-30-2011, 12:35 PM
What about if i am editing a video. I put all the videos that i need to use in the SSD, this will improve something that i will notice or it will be the same if they are in the normal HD?? In my projects i got like 30-50Gb of videos.

Cat
11-30-2011, 02:33 PM
What about if i am editing a video. I put all the videos that i need to use in the SSD, this will improve something that i will notice or it will be the same if they are in the normal HD?? In my projects i got like 30-50Gb of videos.

The problem with editing uncompressed video on an SSD is that you're gonna run out of space very quickly, and it's not gonna affect video quality in the end. Something to look at is a video player or editor that can play such large videos smoothly, like virtualdub, which I seem to recall is supposed to be able to do that (also, make sure you have lots and lots of RAM). You should be able to run virtualdub on the SSD, have the files on a HDD and compress them to the HDD. Will probably take longer than doing it all on an SSD, but the end result will be the same and you won't be starved for space as much and you're also not gonna wear out your write sectors as fast (someone correct me on this if SSD wear isn't actually a factor anymore or ever was. My knowledge of this is severely limited).

EDIT: A good idea is to ask this question on a dedicated video editing site, since they should know more about this specifically.

jdanon
03-21-2012, 11:05 PM
My G53SX came with a 64GB HD. I'd like to run Win7 from a SSD and add the HD back for extra space. Which SSDs would you recommend, do you have any suggested tutorials, and does anyone know of anyone who installs these for people?

sunninho
03-22-2012, 12:09 AM
If you can afford it, go for the SATA III 6GBs SSD drives. The better ones are OCZ Agility 3, Crucial M4, Samsung 830 and Intel 520 (in order of expense/performance, I think).

There is a really detailed Youtube video showing you how to disassemble the G53JW to install a 2nd hard drive:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ev8y8xlCdHE

Area 66
03-22-2012, 12:52 AM
Intel 520 ( may be 320) right away , they have 5 years waranty, with the trick OCZ did to use with the Vertex 2 I will never purchase anything from them, Crucial are not bad too

Hernandus
05-09-2012, 07:33 PM
Hi, I have installed a Corsair Force Series GT 120GB on my G53SX. I want to have Windows 7 installed on this drive, could you please tell me what's the best way to do this?. Is there a way to use the Recovery Partition to install the OS on this new drive?.

I noted that on the BIOS the drive is not being displayed on the sata devices list.
I see this:
Serial ATA Port 0 - ST9750420AS (750 GB)
Serial ATA Port 1 - Empty -------------------------------------> It should display the Corsair SSD
Serial ATA Port 2 - HL-DT-STDVDR ATAPI
Serial ATA Port 3 - Empty
Serial ATA Port 4 - Empty
Serial ATA Port 5 - Empty

I have the latest Firmware and Bios.

Any help will be appreciated.
Thanks!
Hernandus

BrodyBoy
05-10-2012, 03:08 AM
Is there a way to use the Recovery Partition to install the OS on this new drive?.
Yes, but not directly. You can do a factory restore to the new SSD, but not from the recovery partition (F9) method. You must use a set of recovery DVDs. The result is the same.

So basically, here are the steps:


Boot from the original hard drive, and make a set of recovery DVDs (with the AI Recovery program).
Physically install the new SSD and disconnect or remove the secondary hard drive.
Boot up and press ESC immediately to access the boot menu.
Insert Disk #1 (of the recovery DVDs) into DVD drve, then choose the ODD option from the boot menu.
Follow the instructions to do a factory restore to the SSD. Allow at least a couple hours, and respond ONLY to prompts for the next disk. DON'T touch anything else or interrupt the restore as it proceeds. It's done when the out-of-the-box first-use wizard has been on-screen with no disk activity for at least 10 minutes.
If you intend to use the OEM hard drive (or another HDD) as a secondary drive, power down and install it. In Disk Management, you can format and repartition it to suit your needs.

Hernandus
05-15-2012, 10:23 AM
hey BrodyBoy, thanks for the reply. I'll follow these steps to install W7.
Thanks again,
Hernandus

Hernandus
05-15-2012, 06:05 PM
BrodyBoy, I followed the steps as you described, but something happened. After the restore process completed, on the language selection screen the machine freezed and showed up a Blue Screen of dead. Now the system doesn't recognizes the SSD and can't boot up.
I checked the SSD on another PC and the data is there, all Windows files etc, I assume the drive is not bricked.
What do you suggest to continue?
Thanks

BrodyBoy
05-16-2012, 06:49 AM
BrodyBoy, I followed the steps as you described, but something happened. After the restore process completed, on the language selection screen the machine freezed and showed up a Blue Screen of dead. Now the system doesn't recognizes the SSD and can't boot up.
I checked the SSD on another PC and the data is there, all Windows files etc, I assume the drive is not bricked.
What do you suggest to continue?
Thanks
That's weird.....it blue-screened during the first-use wizard? The only possible causes I can think of are (1) the SSD may have an incompatibility, which can hopefully be corrected with a firmware update, or (2) the factory restore was interrupted before it was done.

To try and cover both bases, I would first make sure that the SSD's firmware is up-to-date, and by all means, update it if necessary. Then I would re-run the factory restore. Make absolutely sure that the process is completely done before you try to use the computer.

Hernandus
05-17-2012, 02:46 PM
BrodyBoy, thanks for the reply.
I did the instalation again and didn't had any problem. It works like a charm.
Thanks so much for all your help!!!
Hernandus

BrodyBoy
05-17-2012, 05:11 PM
Fantastic! Glad to hear that it all worked out. :)

skoobiedoo
05-17-2012, 09:02 PM
Good luck with the SSD... I had a OCZ Agility2 in my G53SW blue screened every so often and the occasional audio stutter or hang for 30seconds on boot. In the end I pulled the SSD out and sold it, I'll go back to SSD later when I build a desktop.

And yes the SSD and laptop were latest firmware...and yes all the drivers were loaded RST..etc.etc... :)

BrodyBoy
05-17-2012, 09:50 PM
Good luck with the SSD... I had a OCZ Agility2 in my G53SW blue screened every so often and the occasional audio stutter or hang for 30seconds on boot. In the end I pulled the SSD out and sold it, I'll go back to SSD later when I build a desktop.

And yes the SSD and laptop were latest firmware...and yes all the drivers were loaded RST..etc.etc... :)
Although some owners rave about their OCZ SSDs, I must say I've seen the most SSD issue reports (like yours) about OCZs....more than any other brand. When you decide to try again, you might want to take a look at an Intel, Crucial, or Corsair. I see few of these kinds of complaints about those brands.

Hernandus
05-21-2012, 11:04 AM
Good luck with the SSD... I had a OCZ Agility2 in my G53SW blue screened every so often and the occasional audio stutter or hang for 30seconds on boot. In the end I pulled the SSD out and sold it, I'll go back to SSD later when I build a desktop.

And yes the SSD and laptop were latest firmware...and yes all the drivers were loaded RST..etc.etc... :)

Well... when I thought everything was working fine the problems began...
I had any kind of issues:
- bootmgr is missing
- disk read error
- No boot device
- Freeze on Windows logo screen

I'm starting to think of this is a support issue. Maybe the G53SX is uncompatible with Solid State Drives. Would be cool to report this to Asus and wait for a Bios upgrade that fixes this issue.

BrodyBoy
05-21-2012, 07:20 PM
Well... when I thought everything was working fine the problems began...
I had any kind of issues:
- bootmgr is missing
- disk read error
- No boot device
- Freeze on Windows logo screen

I'm starting to think of this is a support issue. Maybe the G53SX is uncompatible with Solid State Drives. Would be cool to report this to Asus and wait for a Bios upgrade that fixes this issue.
It's far too broad to say the a model itself is incompatible with SSDs. Rather, certain SSDs seem to have problems with some chipsets and and their SATA drivers. (This is one of the reasons why SSD manufacturers issue firmware updates.) If you experience bluescreens, freezes, and so forth with a particular SSD, the first task is to ensure that its firmware is up-to-date. Then check the support resources on the manufacturer's website to see if this is a known issue with your drive, and hopefully find a known solution.

Hernandus
05-21-2012, 09:37 PM
BrodyBoy, you are right, but the SSD has the latest firmware version, and BIOS is up to date.
Besides this, I found what is causing these issues in my case. I discovered that something is physically wrong on my G53SX. I opened the machine, installed the two disks, booted without closing it and it detects all of my drives. When I put all the screws back something happens internally causing that sometimes I can see one or none of the drives in the BIOS or screen to choose the drives to boot from.
I put a ticket on vip.asus.com and now I'm awaiting for someone to respond to start the RMA process.

BTW, I tested with both Corsair SSD and Intel SSD. Both brand new.

wjhalverson
09-03-2012, 10:00 PM
If you can afford it, go for the SATA III 6GBs SSD drives. The better ones are OCZ Agility 3, Crucial M4, Samsung 830 and Intel 520 (in order of expense/performance, I think).


But does the G53SX have a SATAIII bus for the hard drives? I can't find specs for the bus anywhere ...

Zygomorphic
09-03-2012, 11:34 PM
But does the G53SX have a SATAIII bus for the hard drives? I can't find specs for the bus anywhere ...

Yes ... the first two sata channels are Sata III 6 Gb/s ... like all Sandy Bridge mobos. So the two internal HDD bays are Sata III ... the DVD drive is Sata II.