PDA

View Full Version : Questions about my new G750JW

pman3255
09-14-2013, 09:13 AM
Alright so last Saturday I bought this laptop from Best Buy! It is the G750JW-BBI... I forgot, but you get the point. The one and pretty much only bugger about this is the 5400rpm drive, which is easily fixable. What I have is a few questions.

1) - Does this laptop already have all the sata connectors needed to put in a fresh new ssd?

2) - Is there a difference in the drive bays? For say, what if I made a bootable windows 8 disc or whatever I chose to do, put in the new ssd, put the image on that and then transfer over the files, will it matter which bay the ssd is sitting in (which will be running the OS)? I know this might sound crazy stupid, but I really am just wondering, because I am quite new at this, and if anyone culd give some input on how this process would be done or link me to a page that tells me so, that would be great. :D

3)- Is the Samsung 840 Pro 256gb SSD a good choice? I've been researching for a few days now, and I am almost certain this the drive I am wanting to go with.

4)- Will an SSD really even be needed for a laptop that is primarily used for gaming, and rarely ever used for photo/video editing? It seems a bit overkill to pop an ssd into an expensive computer that would be made more expensive only to not be needed really for the purposes of why I bought it and why I'm using it.

Thank you for any input given in my situation, it is all very much greatly appreciated.

I hope you all have a splendid day!

edit - Link to the SSD (http://www.amazon.com/Samsung-Electronics-2-5-Inch-Solid-MZ-7PD256BW/dp/B009NB8WRU/ref=sr_1_3?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1379145421&sr=1-3&keywords=samsung+840+256gb)

hmscott
09-14-2013, 09:48 AM