PDA

View Full Version : G750JW-RB71 wireless issues on windows 7



innamorente
09-15-2013, 03:42 PM
It's really frustrating guys (first of all, hi to everyone)...

I read every single post in every single thread that I found on the web, about this problem...and followed all the instructions trying all the workarounds available...nothing...

nothing...

I can't use this absurd wireless chipset from broadcom in a win7 setup...

I really don't want to use win8 for the ONLY wireless function...but I need a wifi connection because, even if it's not so portable, it's still a laptop!...

please, if anyone of you have some advice or a tip I'll appreciate...

another thing, I don't know if it's normal, but I can't see ALL the posts in this board, for example "intel dude"...I know that he is a member of the forum but only because I saw his posts in some quotes, but I'm not allowed to see the original post...I found a few topics where it seems that users speak with themselves!!!


edit:

it's ABSOLUTELY unbelievable...

Now it works...

the only thing that I did was, booting the pc...that's it...

maybe during the night something inside the chassis worked for me ahahaaha...anyway, seriously...

do you think that it's something related to the reboot/shut down/wait 30 seconds/remove the battery tricks? or it's just something that has completely RANDOM results?

you know what, I'm going to format once again and start from fresh...I'll use the ONLY driver that really worked for me, I found it on the dell website, for the aw17 windows 7 section...

BCM4352_W74_X04_A00_Setup-W49DT_ZPE
Communications_Driver_W49DT_WN_6.30.95.31_A00

And then I'll try again to simply shut down and wait some minutes...

Wait for news...

Cykon
09-15-2013, 04:18 PM
Intel Dude aka ibbi has been banned from the forums, all associated threads/posts have also been removed.

hmscott
09-15-2013, 04:24 PM
edit:

it's ABSOLUTELY unbelievable...

Now it works...

the only thing that I did was, booting the pc...that's it...

maybe during the night something inside the chassis worked for me ahahaaha...anyway, seriously...


Check Windows Update, and look at the update history, and see if an updated driver was installed while you slept :)

It could also be that your router is parked on a channel that is heavily used, but someone turned off their router.

Get a program like inSSIDer to look at the other AP/routers your wireless card sees, look for an open space to pick as your routers center channel, and configure your router to use that channel instead of automatically picking one - routers usually pick a bad channel - wild right?

Here is what mine looks like, I changed my router name to dlink and enabled SSID so you can see it.

26236

http://www.metageek.net/products/inssider/#prettyPhoto

innamorente
09-15-2013, 04:28 PM
but...

without any connections it's impossible that windows update worked during the night! and the pc was shutted down!!!

so we can skip that possibility! :D...

hmscott
09-15-2013, 04:44 PM
but...

without any connections it's impossible that windows update worked during the night! and the pc was shutted down!!!

so we can skip that possibility! :D...

:cool:

As long as it is working, why reload the OS again? Let it run while it does, and perhaps it will keep running.

innamorente
09-15-2013, 04:48 PM
you're definitely right...but the point is that I want to know how it works, for keep a record on a txt of what happened...

so eventually in the future I'll be prepared for any type of "emergency" :D...

I read your edit on the previous post...thanks for the tips...maybe it's REALLY the answer...I'm going to check with that program if I have to change the channel on the router :D...

but my wireless chipset is a 802.11ac 5ghz only, and the router it's a normal bg(n?) one, at 2,4ghz...maybe it will be a problem :(....

hmscott
09-15-2013, 05:45 PM
I have the same broadcom chipset and I use / see 2.4 and 5ghz.

I wouldnt worry about the mystery it is likely it was just the right number of reboots and idle time to complete the install / integration in to Windows.

Do you have any VM software installed like virtualbox/vmware? That can add time to integrating new devices.

Also 5ghz can be iffy through walls / obsticles. I lost connectivity once in a warehouse because stuff got stacked 3' higher overnight - it was blocking the path to the router. Gnomes, working through the night, thats what it was ;-)

innamorente
09-15-2013, 06:15 PM
vmware? mmmm no, I just installed win7 and all the drivers...that's it!...

now I'm writing from a completely reformatted pc with ONLY the drivers for bluetooth and wireless, I used this package:

Communications_Driver_W49DT_WN_6.30.95.31_A00

It worked right after the first normal reboot...

I installed the wireless console and the atk drivers for managing the wireless/bluetooth virtual switch...and it works...

now the final format for check if the other package (BCM4352_W74_X04_A00_Setup-W49DT_ZPE) is good too! I can't understand which are the differences...

I really appreciate your interest regarding my issue! :D...

(you think is normal that I have to press twice the " ' " button??? I mean, I have to press twice the button and cancel one char for writing things like this <I'm>, otherwise will be <I''m>

edit:

the solution for the "apostrophe" problem was simple, I simply changed the layout of the keyboard, from international us to us...because I'm italian so I use the italian version of the os, but with the canadian layout of the keyboard...

anyway...

I can confirm that now the system is stable...

I was able to install ALL the windows 8 drivers but the bluetooth/wireless one, and without tweaking the services.msc! ehehehhe...

the package I used for the bt/wf drivers is this one:
BCM4352_W74_X04_A00_Setup-W49DT_ZPE

works without any problems, and without the need to reboot the pc, compared to the other...I still can't understand the difference...anyway^2...

soon I'll post my personal "setting up step by step"...this way ANYBODY with my same laptop (RB71) will be ready to go for upgrading to windows 7...

thanks again for the support...but I think I must thank the dwarves in my laptop uh???!!!! AAHAHHAHAHHA...