PDA

View Full Version : Maximus formula 6 and Raidr and crossfire amd7970



Jomsdk
10-01-2013, 12:39 PM
Hey All

Just a quick question before i order some new hardware.

Is the 3 items compatible?

Asus Maximus Formula 6
Asus Raidr
2 AMD 7970

I've heard theres no place to put the Asus Raidr is that correct if you run crossfire?

HiVizMan
10-01-2013, 12:52 PM
May I remind you that the new AMD graphic card are about to be released in the next few weeks. If you do not have the VGA's yet I might just hold on.

Now to answer your question.

If you are selecting 3 slot or 2.5 slot VGA's then you are going to struggle to get the RAIDr card in the bottom slot.

Jomsdk
10-01-2013, 12:59 PM
I have the 2 amd 7970 but its the MB and Raidr im worried about?

HiVizMan
10-01-2013, 01:13 PM
In that case which two cards do you have?

Jomsdk
10-01-2013, 01:22 PM
I have the 2 AMD7970 gfx but i want a new motherboard and i like the M6F board and i like the RAIDR cards but im worried its not combatible with the sockets on the the M6F mb.

HiVizMan
10-01-2013, 01:47 PM
Yes I know you have two 7970 cards.

Which two.

Two like this.
27069

Or two like this

27068


Or are the cards water cooled?

Wiggilis
11-24-2013, 06:47 AM
I have a similar question and have been looking for an answer. I am getting a Maximus VI formula board with a Raidr SSD but im worried it wont fit with two Asus GTX 780's

Graphics card:
30131

HiVizMan
11-24-2013, 02:27 PM
If you are going with that air cooler then it will be tight.

This bloke has two cards in system http://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread.php?22883-Show-us-Share-your-PCs!&p=323810&viewfull=1#post323810

Water cooled no worries air cooled....

Wiggilis
11-25-2013, 12:38 AM
umm i would do water cooled but i'm unsure of my skills putting it together so i'm worried. I dont want to ruin anything if i mess up. Would it fit even if it was tight though?

HiVizMan
11-25-2013, 09:42 AM
It is for that reason (will it fit :) ) that I suggested that reference cards are used for multi card configurations.

It will not fit, two DCII cards and a RAIDR card

kkn
11-25-2013, 09:39 PM
If you are going with that air cooler then it will be tight.

This bloke has two cards in system http://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread.php?22883-Show-us-Share-your-PCs!&p=323810&viewfull=1#post323810

Water cooled no worries air cooled....
thats a rive or extreeme board and not a formula board ( hence 2 rams on each side of CPU )

Wiggilis
11-26-2013, 04:52 PM
cool thanks ill find an alternative then :)

sureshot40sw
01-14-2014, 01:49 AM
would a pair of the new Poseidon cards fit on a Maximus Vi Formula (all water cooled) with a Raidr in the bottom slot and would it work correctly ?