PDA

View Full Version : Help with my G75VW



Ryanm0r0z
10-04-2013, 03:27 PM
So, I have been having some issues with my G75VW. I bought it new last September and love it, I had the G73 and G74 prior to the G75. But as of late I have been thinking there is an issue going on. I am getting low FPS on most games that I would normally be getting great FPS. I have a friend that has the exact same laptop and he seems to get better FPS on almost all games. Here is what i have noted

Crysis 3 - 15-20 FPS on max settings, friend gets 30-35 easy

COD BO2 - 22-25 FPS on max settings, friend gets around 35

Battlefield 4 Beta - 5-8 FPS on max. friend gets 25ish (Also mine seems laggy, like the tanks around me are going normal speed but my char wants to walk like my grandma)

RIFT - This one I get 25-30 easy but my friend get 45 in a RIFT

Also tried Furmark and on 1080p test I get 7-8 FPS max and 720 I get 13-14 FPS max

All my settings are right, I have tried overclocked and not overclocked. I did notice with Furmark my temp was getting to about 95 degrees fast so I changed my thermal paste and now my temp does not go above 65 (I like this). It also seems that, using MSI afterburner to see my stats, my GPU is always at 100% when playing ANY game and stays betweemn 95-100% while I play it. Not sure this is normal or not.

So here are my specs as well and maybe someone can help

G75VW
i7 - 3610QM CPU
GTX 660M - 2GB Card
24GB RAM (Upgraded march)
128GB SSD startup drive, 1TB slave

Thanks for any help. Open to trying anything.

Ryanm0r0z
10-04-2013, 03:31 PM
Oh I also should note I have tried 4 different Nvidia drivers over the last 2 weeks, a full clean install of Windows and the games as well.

Ryanm0r0z
10-04-2013, 04:03 PM
Sorry one more note, I have noticed that my battery will only charge to 96%. Odd....

Clintlgm
10-04-2013, 05:33 PM
Sounds as though you may be having some hardware issue. You have clean installed your OS, You have tried several different version of the NVidia drivers. Your GPU and CPU are running cool. That doesn't leave much other than hardware???

Ryanm0r0z
10-04-2013, 05:56 PM
I have to agree, I dont mind putting some money into it, to bad im just over the warranty mark. Any chance the PC just doesnt like the new ram I installed?

Clintlgm
10-04-2013, 07:40 PM
Possible did you match the timings and voltages?

Ryanm0r0z
10-04-2013, 09:08 PM
Voltages are 1600mHz on all 4 RAM, timing is correct is seems as well, I may have to consider a faulty GPU as the source of this issue. Wish there was a way to tell.

I downloaded The Nvidia Dreamscene and that even plays pretty laggy (about 10-12 FPS). MSI afterburner, razor game boost, even Asus tools are not seeming to help even a little.

Know a good tool that can help to diagnose what is faulty or think i will have to go piece by piece?

Clintlgm
10-04-2013, 10:10 PM
Voltages are 1600mHz on all 4 RAM, timing is correct is seems as well, I may have to consider a faulty GPU as the source of this issue. Wish there was a way to tell.

I downloaded The Nvidia Dreamscene and that even plays pretty laggy (about 10-12 FPS). MSI afterburner, razor game boost, even Asus tools are not seeming to help even a little.

Know a good tool that can help to diagnose what is faulty or think i will have to go piece by piece?
Voltage should be either 1.5V or 1.35V
this is what stock ram should look like 11-11-11-28 (DDR3 PC3-12800 SODIMM 1600mhz CL11 1.5V RAM).
If you added RAM to the existing RAM and didn't match up the timings and voltages that could cause problems
If you put in 4 new RAM modules all the same shouldn't be a problem. Memtest could be used to verify your RAM has issues or not.

I have no Idea what tools could be used to test a Video Card out? Every Time one has failed me it just quite working
Hwinfo64 (http://www.hwinfo.com/download.php) will show you what the timings and voltages are for each unit.

Ryanm0r0z
10-04-2013, 11:56 PM
So its looks like it was the new RAM. I still it seems the new ones were conflicting with the original RAM. Voltage was fine but I guess the original RAM is 2 x 4GB of 12800 and the new is 2x 8GB of 10800 so they were conflicting.

I guess now only question is should I get 2 more 8GB 10800 to replace the other 4GB sticks or should I get something else all together?

SHADO
10-05-2013, 12:50 AM
Get 12800, not 10800.

trung_anh
10-05-2013, 11:58 AM
you should update your GPU driver (beta) it support BF4 beta for better performance, i have GTX 660m too( sr for my bad eng)

Clintlgm
10-05-2013, 01:34 PM
Well if you haven't remove the 2 8GB modules do so and see if the problems stop.
If your going to add RAM you have to match the 2 modules your already have installed. The Timings and Voltages have to match. I think if you use 1800 you could limit the speed of the 2 12800 modules to the slower speed. Again the timings and Voltages must match.
That would be your choice which ones to replace, although the 2 4GB are under your keyboard and the notebook will have to be dissembled to replace them. That would also give you the chance to have 32 GB. You would buy 2 8 GB to match the 2 you currently have in the accessible slots.

Clintlgm
10-05-2013, 08:33 PM
See this thread (http://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread.php?23929-Adding-RAM-to-G75&country=&status=) about upgrading your RAM