PDA

View Full Version : Stable Refresh Rate? (Hz)



rawpure
10-14-2013, 02:50 PM
So have accepted that the screen isnt the best of its kind, so been thinking what i can do to satisfy the loss abit :P

Been running 85Hz with no errors, and im wondering how do i notice if the refresh rate is stable, does it totaly flip out or are there small pixels i need to check for? running on 100hz now and it seems fine to me.

Are there any sideeffects of running in 100? or 85?

Hugs :P

Dream
10-14-2013, 04:12 PM
+1, I'd also like to know.

hmscott
10-14-2013, 05:25 PM
So have accepted that the screen isnt the best of its kind, so been thinking what i can do to satisfy the loss abit :P
Been running 85Hz with no errors, and im wondering how do i notice if the refresh rate is stable, does it totaly flip out or are there small pixels i need to check for? running on 100hz now and it seems fine to me.
Are there any side effects of running in 100? or 85? Hugs :P

rawpure, I asked Asus these questions toward the end of July/2013:

HI XXX, ...

1) I would still like to know if it is ok to set the refresh rate at 85hz, 90hz, or 100hz, as
the image display and the motion in graphics programs improves.

2) Is there anything negative about doing it? Will it generate too much heat in
components, etc. I realize the default setting is 60hz, but since it is possible to set
higher, and it looks better, I would like to set it higher than 60hz. I also realize this
isn't a 120hz supporting panel, but it works up to 100hz.

3) Will the LCD panel electronics update the LCD faster than 60hz. If I set it to 85hz
is it updating 15 times more per second than at 60hz? (yeah, I know I should have said 25 times :) )

Thank you for contacting ASUS Customer Service.
My name is XXX and it is my pleasure to help you with your problem.

For the first question, it is OK to set the rate at 60-100hz.But you may feel the screen is flashing.

For the second one, it won't be negative for your laptop.Acturally, you can choose any rate among 60-100hz.

For the third one, the refresh rate of 85 means the image is refreshed 85 times in a second.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

For me 100hz is stable. And, by stable I mean that there aren't any display artifacts under any use conditions that I have tried, for a number of months.

The unstable symptoms, starting at 105hz for me, are tearing pixelated lines - that start up randomly - at 110hz they start up right away - at 120 hz it is unusable.

For gaming, the thing to note is that for some games VSYNC is still 60hz, but newer games notice the 100hz setting and for those games VSYNC is at 100hz.

kingfish
10-14-2013, 07:05 PM
thanks hmscott for the info. :)

im having 120 here..everything fine so far, but when i watch 3D movies, 100 is the stable one...any advice?

kingkaan
10-14-2013, 07:07 PM
Mine is good at 100hz... i tried 120hz and it was unstable so i had to rollback to 100hz

jsarver
10-14-2013, 07:45 PM
What graphic issues will be noticed if you set 100hz but ur frame rate is only able to hit say 80 in game? Tearing/dips?

hmscott
10-14-2013, 07:55 PM
thanks hmscott for the info. :)
im having 120 here..everything fine so far, but when i watch 3D movies, 100 is the stable one...any advice?

Well, you have a 3D panel, which is supposed to be stable at 120hz. Not sure how that equates during a 3D movie as I think there are 2 image streams, both taking half the 120hz - so not having one I can't say what the correct setting will be 60hz or 120hz...

What was the original refresh setting? 60hz or 120hz? Is there a configuration for normal use and 3D use, I would think there should be 2 settable settings, one for 3D mode and one for non-3D mode.

Nvidia provides the ability for per application settings, but I don't know if that includes refresh rate. That would make it easier, just set the default to be 120hz (or?), and drop it down to 60hz for the 3D movie application.

If you think about it, if you are able to sustain 100hz on both image streams for a 3D movie that is 200hz... I am not going to recommend trying to set the 120hz panel above 120hz, but if I had one I might ask Asus about that possibility, like I did for running the 60hz panel at 100hz.

But, that 100hz/200hz setting means you also need to be sync'd with the IR laptop/glasses sensor - and that needs to run at the same sync rate / refresh as the screen.

Please come back and let us know what you figure out :)

hmscott
10-14-2013, 08:00 PM
What graphic issues will be noticed if you set 100hz but ur frame rate is only able to hit say 80 in game? Tearing/dips?

I haven't seen any tearing for FPS less than 100hz in the few games I have had a chance to try. I also test enabled VSYNC in games at 60FPS and didn't notice an issues when the panel was at 100hz. Enabling VSYNC at 100FPS is probably not a bad idea - as with 60hz refresh - why burn CPU/GPU if the extra frames are only being tossed - save the heat build up for tough sections that really need 100% CPU/Graphics for VSYNC refresh matching.

kingfish
10-15-2013, 06:28 AM
Well, you have a 3D panel, which is supposed to be stable at 120hz. Not sure how that equates during a 3D movie as I think there are 2 image streams, both taking half the 120hz - so not having one I can't say what the correct setting will be 60hz or 120hz...

What was the original refresh setting? 60hz or 120hz? Is there a configuration for normal use and 3D use, I would think there should be 2 settable settings, one for 3D mode and one for non-3D mode.

Nvidia provides the ability for per application settings, but I don't know if that includes refresh rate. That would make it easier, just set the default to be 120hz (or?), and drop it down to 60hz for the 3D movie application.

If you think about it, if you are able to sustain 100hz on both image streams for a 3D movie that is 200hz... I am not going to recommend trying to set the 120hz panel above 120hz, but if I had one I might ask Asus about that possibility, like I did for running the 60hz panel at 100hz.

But, that 100hz/200hz setting means you also need to be sync'd with the IR laptop/glasses sensor - and that needs to run at the same sync rate / refresh as the screen.

Please come back and let us know what you figure out :)
when using 3d glass that comes with the unit, and the asus 3d vision application for 3d viewing, and if i set the refresh rate (RR) to 120, there is flickering when ever i turn the keyboard lights on. at 100, it s perfect, no flickering and others, but also if i bring down the RR, again flickering starts.

but on my normal viewing like not using the 3d, i can set the RR to 120 and its working fine too.

im not familiar with things functions. any advice is very much welcome.

BTW, using asus 3d vision, all movies are in 3d mode. :)

hmscott
10-15-2013, 07:45 PM
when using 3d glass that comes with the unit, and the asus 3d vision application for 3d viewing, and if i set the refresh rate (RR) to 120, there is flickering when ever i turn the keyboard lights on. at 100, it s perfect, no flickering and others, but also if i bring down the RR, again flickering starts.

but on my normal viewing like not using the 3d, i can set the RR to 120 and its working fine too.

im not familiar with things functions. any advice is very much welcome.

BTW, using asus 3d vision, all movies are in 3d mode. :)

Cool, I love watching 3D movies :)

What refresh rate is default? What was it set to before you started trying higher speeds? Does the refresh rate change when you open a 3D movie?

When I am not using the built in keyboard, I put the white sheet of protective paper/cloth over the screen to keep dust out and keep light in if the keyboard is lit. That might cut out enough light from the keyboard to not interfere with the IR sensor.

The IR sensor might be getting interference at the higher refresh rates - the signals from the IR sensor are prone to light interference from the screen / keyboard. See if you can shield the IR sensor from the screen/keyboard light - kinda like an SLR camera lens with a hood - it will need to be wide enough for the signal to be seen by the glasses - if you get too far to one side or the other - or stand up - if hooded it might cut out the signal. Of course this would just be a test, having a cone coming out from your laptop screen top is gonna look weird. :)

How about non-3D gaming at 120hz?

rawpure
10-16-2013, 07:35 AM
Nah the IR signal to the glasses cant get blocked that easy, i have the dekstop kit for 3d vision 2, and that transmitter i have hidden under my desk like 5 meters away, no problem at all.. but that IR transmitter in the g750 could be weaker, not sure. but the glasses are not^^
Also visit helix.mod for best games with 3d vision.

on my dsktop i always use 144hz even in windows, becuase it gives 10x more fluidity to moving windows and everything, its night and day ^^
and having 120hz or 144hz all the time isnt any problem atleast for my dekstop monitor, but with this hong bong suck screen on the g750 you cant be sure :P

hmscott
10-16-2013, 08:12 AM
Nah the IR signal to the glasses cant get blocked that easy, i have the desktop kit for 3d vision 2, and that transmitter i have hidden under my desk like 5 meters away, no problem at all.. but that IR transmitter in the g750 could be weaker, not sure. but the glasses are not^^
Also visit helix.mod for best games with 3d vision.

on my desktop i always use 144hz even in windows, because it gives 10x more fluidity to moving windows and everything, its night and day ^^
and having 120hz or 144hz all the time isn't any problem at least for my desktop monitor, but with this hong bong suck screen on the g750 you cant be sure :P

Yeah, I wondered about that too. I have played with IR transmitters and they are pretty good at not being interfered with by visible light. That is why I suggested blocking the light to remove it from the equation - it might be coincidental.

Thanks for the http://helixmod.blogspot.com/ site.

What monitor are you running at 144hz?

Chi Mei is based in Tainan City, Taiwan, and Innolux Corporation is based in JHUNAN, Taiwan - not Hong Bong :)

Chi Mei Corporation : Bringing you Real Happiness
http://www.chimeicorp.com/en-us/

InnoLux Corporation
http://www.innolux.com/Pages%2fen%2fIndex_en.html

rawpure
10-16-2013, 08:37 AM
Using a Benq XL2411T gaming monitor, its "posted" as a 120hz monitor but can do 144hz easy and always :P so saved some money there :D

The IR sensor is kind like how your LED is behind the screen, they need to refresh at same speeds, of you are using 100hz on desktop and game wants 120hz you will notice some errors in paralax and shutter speeds, the IR sends out signal to tell your glasses at what speeds its supposed to open and close at. and i have never had any interferance from any UV sources, also screen and keyboards dont emit UV, only candles and old light bulbs do or if the sun is in the window.
But that have never stoppped my emitter from working ^^ but as i said the emitter on the asus screen can be a cheaper version :P

Haha chi mei, hong bong, same stuff :P

kingfish
10-16-2013, 05:35 PM
hey hmscott, do i have install a game for me to test the laptop? no games right now :)

hmscott
10-16-2013, 11:08 PM
hey hmscott, do i have install a game for me to test the laptop? no games right now :)

No problem, when you get a game with 3D installed, let us know how it works :)

There aren't many 3D G750 laptops out there, and I am thinking of holding out for a G750JH 3D, so I am curious how a G750 with 3D, JH or not, performs. I am also interested in how well a G750JH 780m OC's :)

hmscott
10-17-2013, 12:00 AM
Using a Benq XL2411T gaming monitor, its "posted" as a 120hz monitor but can do 144hz easy and always :P so saved some money there :D
The IR sensor is kind like how your LED is behind the screen, they need to refresh at same speeds, of you are using 100hz on desktop and game wants 120hz you will notice some errors in paralax and shutter speeds, the IR sends out signal to tell your glasses at what speeds its supposed to open and close at. and i have never had any interferance from any UV sources, also screen and keyboards dont emit UV, only candles and old light bulbs do or if the sun is in the window.
But that have never stoppped my emitter from working ^^ but as i said the emitter on the asus screen can be a cheaper version :P
Haha chi mei, hong bong, same stuff :P

It looks like Benq updated their website specs, it lists the XL2411T as doing 144hz :)
http://www.benq.com/product/monitor/xl2411t/

Nice monitor.

Yup, that is the refresh issue I was wondering about when running at 100hz for 3D movies, outside the spec for syncing the glasses with the IR sensor. It might be better to keep at the published sync rate for 3D movies, and then have higher refresh settings for other functions.

Maybe the lamps for the keyboard are putting out IR :)

If you can, try putting the IR receiver such that it gets a full dose of the G750 keyboard backlight, and see if you get interference too - but I think you will need to "OC" the refresh rate like kiingfish did.

Thanks for humoring me on these tests, if I had a 3d G750 I would set them up myself... :)

DeltaActual
10-18-2013, 06:47 PM
Pimped my Hz to a 100 here, but struggling to run Modern Warfare 2 at that. Graphics menu always shows my refresh rate @60Hz and no matter what i do (was playing with mpconfig)- it stays that way. Anyone knows anything about this zombie title?
Thanks

slowcivic2k
10-18-2013, 08:27 PM
Will changing the refresh rate help reduce or eliminate the flicker that is produced, most noticeably on grey backgrounds? I only have 40hz and 60hz options for refresh rate. G750JW

DeltaActual
10-18-2013, 08:30 PM
Will changing the refresh rate help reduce or eliminate the flicker that is produced, most noticeably on grey backgrounds? I only have 40hz and 60hz options for refresh rate. G750JW
You can always try. Go to Nvidia control panel/change resolution/customize, set your refresh rate to 80-90-100 whatever works for ya.

hmscott
10-18-2013, 11:56 PM
Will changing the refresh rate help reduce or eliminate the flicker that is produced, most noticeably on grey backgrounds? I only have 40hz and 60hz options for refresh rate. G750JW

slowcivic2k, you can set a Custom Resolution, including the refresh rate, in the Nvidia Control Panel - Resolution

Here is a fun calibration page to look at at each refresh setting, to see if the flicker goes away in image 4a/b:
http://www.lagom.nl/lcd-test/inversion.php

I don't see any flicker at 100hz :)

From my post here:
http://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread.php?38472-G750J-LCD-Display-Granulation&p=323878&viewfull=1#post323878

kingfish
10-19-2013, 09:38 PM
hi, i installed Splinter Cell Blacklist just to try the refresh rate, BTW i got samsung monitor on my JX. So, at first i play with 3D effects using the glasses @ 100hz, everything is working good, no flickering and so forth...but i don't like playing with 3D effect.

Without 3D, the game is running @ 120hz. feel better :)

thanks hmscott for sharing to us your knowledge :)

BlapX
10-19-2013, 11:52 PM
I wanna thank u peeps for changing my refresh rate aswell... just had it on the 60hz randomly.. so i created some full hd reso`s with 100hz & 85hz and so far everything is fine.. 1 Thing i still wonder is, when i set my refresh rate to 100hz my screen gets pretty bright, on 85hz it does look good (the brightness) Maybe i will just play something around with nvidia panel to create my own colour scheme there ;)

Any tips are more then welcome! :)

Keep up the good work! Nice community and such :)

hmscott
10-20-2013, 12:51 AM
I wanna thank u peeps for changing my refresh rate aswell... just had it on the 60hz randomly.. so i created some full hd reso`s with 100hz & 85hz and so far everything is fine.. 1 Thing i still wonder is, when i set my refresh rate to 100hz my screen gets pretty bright, on 85hz it does look good (the brightness) Maybe i will just play something around with nvidia panel to create my own colour scheme there ;)
Any tips are more then welcome! :)
Keep up the good work! Nice community and such :)

If you have a Chi Mei LCD, or even a Samsung, loomitz used a professional color calibration tool to make 2 ICC Color Profiles for the G750.

http://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread.php?36153-Personal-Color-Profile-for-the-Chi-Mei-173HGE&p=298099&viewfull=1#post298099

It takes some time to get used to the difference between the overly bright relatively washed out colors of the stock settings, but after a few hours of letting my eyes get used to the new profile, I like the 6500k ICC profile.

nagooro
10-20-2013, 04:34 PM
Anyone know why I can only choose 40 or 60 for refresh rate?

DeltaActual
10-20-2013, 05:05 PM
Anyone know why I can only choose 40 or 60 for refresh rate?
Go back a page AND READ!