PDA

View Full Version : G75VW Will not hibernate or sleep WINDOWS 8.1 !



Richaard Finland
10-16-2013, 01:12 AM
MY G75VW Will not hibernate or sleep on WINDOWS 8.1, I don't think it is a hardware issue cause my windows 8 did it and windows 7. I also have realized when i tried to uninstall Nvidia with REVO uninstaller and ccleaner it NEVER ACTUALLY deleted all the files cause i restarted and did it again and again!!! WTF 660m gtx btw.

Don't ask why i got 8.1 or how I just do. ? What the heck? I tried re installing the 600mGTX but never did it. In the meantime i guess i will check the windows 7 partition and do a system restore before having to wipe clean which i don't want to. HELP

When i click hibernate or it gets to 7% either way or hit FN+F1 ( sleep zz'ds) it goes black but stalls and then like 6 mins later goes off but never actually wakes up into a resume mode (As if it shutdown)

Also when i start it seems like it goes slower than normal and shutdown is slower than normal weird.

I am a Technician also but this one I want to get from others before I make a drastic tIME consuming Decision which would prolly be revert to 8.0 then update to .1 on 18th free.

My question is how would Microsoft do that roll out via the store? Available immediately to all ? OR like a windows GDR2 update everyone gets rolls outs throughout a course of few days and i may not get it til 20th?

Clintlgm
10-16-2013, 01:34 AM
I think I would delete your hiberfil.sys file, its probably corrupted. It should rebuild itself on a reboot? not sure but its worth a try.
I guess we will all find out how the roll out will go? I'm thinking we should be able to download it with our Win 8 product keys? I'm guessing it will be this way since MS is really considering this a new OS rather than a SP??

Richaard Finland
10-16-2013, 02:49 AM
O Gotcha. I just did a system restore and its working solidly i jut have to re install a few programs including games.

What i am thinking about doing since I have to re install all the ASUS branded bloatware (i actually like most of it unlike HP and etc)

Which would you do . Go back and undo system restore and try deleting hibernate.sys or just re install those items?
and why from you experience and knowledge of course? :-)

BTW THANKS ALOT! for you input i always wanted to take part in forums but never realy did and now i got this bad baby i am on it!

EXCITED!

Clintlgm
10-16-2013, 03:14 AM
I always like a clean install so reinstalling software isn't a problem and gives me a chance to get rid of crap I had put on. The ATK package is needed and power 4 gear is good to put back on. You'll need the Virtual Camera that is your camera driver.
I always like to have the latest Chipset drivers, IRST Drivers, Intel management engine.

Yes this is a very helpful Forum. There are some very sharp friendly people here to help people out.

Richaard Finland
10-16-2013, 03:36 AM
I know this is off key but uhhh... ( BTW yeah didnot think of it like clean install DUH!)

How can i get a banner that has al the colors and says what my system is I have the g75 BHI7 N07

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/90718927/rog_sig_rbn.jpg

liek that or similar?

Richaard Finland
10-16-2013, 03:43 AM
I know this is off key but uhhh... ( BTW yeah didnot think of it like clean install DUH!)

How can i get a banner that has al the colors and says what my system is I have the g75 BHI7 N07

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/90718927/rog_sig_rbn.jpg

liek that or similar?

Richaard Finland
10-16-2013, 07:50 AM
OK! It went back to not doing it after i installed a few things. I am going to try another system restore But SLEEP Nor Hibernate works . It goes black instantly but then stalls and the indicator lights stay on :-(

ANy HELP?

Maybe this 8.1 pro is buggy

Richaard Finland
10-16-2013, 08:20 AM
Ok its me again i JUST FIXED IT on another forum someone uninstalled the VM oracle (virtual box ) someone also had some sort of cisco driver that was network related and it worked for about 4 of them out of 4!

BTW I had did a system restore at first & everything worked after it would not hibernate or sleep.. installed a few programs later and BOOM back to my problem. Just uninstalled VM again after installing it and BOOM SLEEP and HIBERNATE WORKS!

SO the key is to make sure you don't have some sort of NETWORK interface virtual or physical that is interfering or has a setting that blocks it!

Clintlgm
10-16-2013, 12:49 PM
Yes it hasn't been release to the public yet.

Richaard Finland
10-16-2013, 04:54 PM
lol true thing. But I checked it out and it happens with vista + more.


BTW did you click that dropbox link?

How can i get a banner that has al the colors and says what my system is I have the g75 BHI7 N07

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/90718927/rog_sig_rbn.jpg

liek that or similar?

Clintlgm
10-16-2013, 06:30 PM
If you want all the details of you Notebook, I suggest you run hwinfo64, (http://www.majorgeeks.com/files/details/hwinfo64.html) it will show you all the details of your notebook. Sorry I 'm not a graphics guy maybe someone else can help you with that.

Check out this link http://rog.asus.com/downloads/ I guess you'll need a graphics program to set it up to the required maximum size.