PDA

View Full Version : G750jw bios

Qlix0804
10-20-2013, 08:32 PM
New member, first time poster.

Installed a new SSD, cloned the main drive, now i want to make the SSD the first boot option. I bought this thing used, with no manuals. How do i get into the bios? delete and F8 arent working at the ROG loading screen.

edit: also, since theres no product key on the bottom I used magical jelly bean keyfinder to get the CD key. SHould that key work with any OEM WIndows 8 iso?

z3540
10-20-2013, 10:35 PM
Welcome! I'm no expert but I too cloned the original HDD to SSD. Here are several things I tried and all worked for me (note: I use Left and Right looking at the bottom of the computer with the access panel removed):

1. Remove the original HDD and turn the computer on with only the SSD installed. I kept the SSD in the Right bay. You can return the original HDD in the original (Left) bay and the computer will boot from the SSD.
2. Placed the SSD in the Left bay. Kept the Right bay empty and stored the original HDD in a safe place. This is what I ended up doing (see last paragraph below). I didn't have to go into BIOS to change the boot sequence.

The manual is stored in the computer = C:\eSupport\Manual. The English version is 0409. I renamed it "English Asus Manual" so I don't have to open every file looking for the English version when I want to reference it. You can also download it here: http://support.asus.com/download/options.aspx?SLanguage=en&type=1 . You'll have to type in G750jw and choose the OS. The manuals are at the very bottom of the page.

To get to the BIOS see this thread: http://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread.php?34035-Silly-Question-How-to-enter-BIOS-G750JW
See my post (#3). That is how I enter the BIOS. The other posts describe other methods as well.

Not sure about the product key. My guess is yes, it should work with any OEM Windows 8 iso.