PDA

View Full Version : G750JH - Upgrade to Windows 8.1 (or 8) "Enterprise" Edition... ?



rizwan.wangde
10-22-2013, 05:30 AM
Hi Folks,

I just received my G750JH yesterday, and I want to upgrade my ASUS G750JH from it's default 'just' Windows 8 to the Windows 8.1 (or 8) Enterprise Edition...

Has anyone done this? Will there be any issues related to drivers?

I think there's no straight way to upgrade, and I might just have to perform a clean installation. I'd appreciate it if you can share your experiences or your views.

Pitcher@asus
10-22-2013, 06:24 AM
i think win 8.1 need reinstall some new driver, not can be using all win 8 driver. you can visit asus support site and download it.

DeltaActual
10-22-2013, 07:43 AM
i think win 8.1 need reinstall some new driver, not can be using all win 8 driver. you can visit asus support site and download it.
kill me now.....

ANyway, go here http://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread.php?38627-When-will-the-Windows-8.1-Drivers-become-available/page9 there is driver list - get'em all

rizwan.wangde
10-22-2013, 07:55 AM
So all in all, I can migrate to any edition of Windows 8, but will have to wait before I move to 8.1?

Also, this is the first time I am working on an SSD setup and that too in RAID 0 configuration. So do I need to do anything special or different if I decide to format and reinstall the Windows?

DeltaActual
10-22-2013, 08:46 AM
I don't understand your problem with Windows. The link above have all needed drivers for Win 8.1. "Search" is your friend too.

rizwan.wangde
10-22-2013, 09:00 AM
There's no problem as such... I find the stock Windows 8 installed on the lappy lacking some smooth transitions and a few fautures I need that are available in Professional or Enterprise versions... I checked the link, and looks like i might have to wait a lil longer before I move to 8.1.

So my next dilema is:
As this is the first time I am working on an SSD setup and that too in RAID 0 configuration. So do I need to do anything special or different if I decide to format and reinstall the Windows? So I need to take care of something?

I checked a blog which says that I should remove my HDD if I want the SSDs to be used as the booting drive... I find that weird. So looking for answers from people in this forum who have done such experiments.