PDA

View Full Version : Regaining windows 8



skidoo
10-25-2013, 02:47 AM
Okay...I lost widows 8 when I converted my g75 vx from windows 8 to win 7 pro.
the reason was to run some software big $$$$ that would not run on win 8.
I tried to back up win 8 using the windows feature ( name???) onto a portable hard drive.
Wasn't successful...
At the time I didn't care, but now am curious how to get windows 8 back possibly.

Can I just download a copy of windows 8 from the internet and then install it.
Question...if possible, will this copy of win 8 find the serial # stored in my bios to make the
downloaded version legit???

Also, what version of win 8 did this notebook come with.

Lastly, what cloning software aand version is best for win 8 as well as win 7??

Thank You

Pitcher@asus
10-25-2013, 03:02 AM
so sound like you already broke your recover partitation, you can buy restore CD from asus e-store, sent to asus service center to recover back, also you can download win 8 iso and install it, i think win 8 key save in bios, maybe it is able to auto active again, also you can call asus hotline that can be finding in asus website for your county to ask.

skidoo
10-25-2013, 05:22 AM
yes, definitely lost the recovery partition at that point!

Don't have any extra partitions with win 7.
So another question is....does win 8 create this recovery partition, if I were to install win 8 again???
or was this something that was done thru Asus???

Will try and contact Asus about the serial # in bios for win 8, but I am hoping someone here (forum) would have the answer,
and would please post.

Still curious also about what software and version is best for cloning win 8 and win 7

Thanks

meber0624
10-25-2013, 12:20 PM
There are actually a total of 5 partitions that get built for Windows 8. Using a backup utility doesn't capture the image of these partitions, so you lost everything. AFAK the install of Windows 8 >> might << get all of the partitions back. As to the certificate in BIOS, that is used in the reverse...the BIOS reads the certificate on the PC and compares to what is in BIOS. Not the other way around.

Clintlgm
10-25-2013, 02:08 PM
You can download a ISO to preform a Clean Install, I would suggest you get the Win 8.1, Your original Win 8 would have been the standard version! I'm pretty sure.
Cloning software that seems to have worked for many in these forums Maciurm Reflect (http://www.macrium.com/reflectfree.aspx)
I just completed a clean install of Win 8.1 Pro Upgrade. I used a ISO Retail Pro, and Rufus (http://rufus.akeo.ie/) to create the Install media.
I had no issues with this clean install, the upgrade and Notes (http://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread.php?28758-GUIDE-G55-G75-Upgrade-Notes&country=&status=)sticky thread should work, I used another guide off the internet. The right Google search should get you to it. As far as I can see there is no difference Clean Installing Win 8.1 than Win 8
I have MS Office 2007, CS4, AutoCAD, all installed and working correctly and continue to configure this new OS Build.

skidoo
10-26-2013, 12:36 AM
okay , thanks for the help.
does that mean even the windows utility when I had windows 8 would not have captured all the partitions.
And, if I understand correctly.....I no longer have a legit serial of windows 8, even if I download a iso of windows 8
from the net, and install....the serial is now lost???

Clintlgm
10-26-2013, 02:33 AM
I'm not sure what windows back up is capable of! last time I looked at it, it was just a file back up program. Not an Imaging tool?
No you still have your key embedded in your BIOS. You just need to match up the ISO To the version you originally had. It would have been better if you had extracted the win 8 key and kept it but as long as you get a win 8 standard ISO and it may require a OEM version? No sure? Its worth a try to just barrow a win 8.1 standard dvd and use Rufus to create a Install USB media or find a ISO somewhere? and give it a try

skidoo
10-29-2013, 05:42 AM
update..

Before i changed my OS from windows 8 ( came w/ g75vx ) and switched to Win7 pro, i made an
image of Win8 using Macrium Reflect ( think I read on this and other websites to use Macrium, as
Norton Ghost was having issues for some in Win8)

So, I did make a recovery disc from Macrium ( unsure of Version # ) , and as well an image of Win8.
Then later i tried to install..( downgrade ) to win7.
Ran into problems....so...I tried to re-image my hard drive using the newly made recovery disc as well as the image.
Problem at the time was, the recovery disc could not find the external hard ( note. USB "3" ) drive on which I placed the image.

So...now i see that others had the same problem 9 locating the Ext. HD because it was usb 3.0.

Tonite, i downloaded Macrium ver5.2....made a recovery disc , and there is now my external hard drive showing
and as well...my image of Win8.

Upon verifying the image...and looking at it...it shows 2 partitions in c: Drive, as well as a Fat 32???
One shows C: OS, the other i cant recall right now, but was also showing as a part of C: Drive.
And then an I: Drive....I think this was the Fat32 ???? not sure...would have to re-check later.

Now, I have always used Norton Ghost, I don't feel I am a "newb" in the computer world, but after reading other posters,
I am feeling a little wet behind the ears!

Questions

Does it matter that this recovery disc was made in a window7 enviroment, and not in windows8 if I decide to re-image my drive
using the original image I made of win8 using Macrium?
And
If I can do this, will this image re-create what I had on my g75vx when I purchased it....meaning, will those extra partitons ??
all be back....or will something be missing.

If something is missing...will it matter??

I would rather ask stupid questions now, then to assume all is good and go for it...if I decide to go back to win 8 at some point.

I like Win7...the fact that it runs my programs that are older and without support for win8...BUT...
I would like to know that I haven't lost that Windows 8 serial# ( I wasn't aware that of software to use to obtain it from the Bios )

Still think that is a Dumb move by Microsoft and the Computer manufacturers...
But admittably...I was hasty trying to get the notebook running with Win7 pro.!!

Clintlgm
10-29-2013, 08:13 PM
If I understand what you are asking. In order for you to restore a boot disk you would have had to create a DISK Image while it was still a bootable disk.
Yes Macrium Reflect will clone/copy all partitions on any UEFI GPT Disk and restore your your disk or a different disk as in SSD to the original factory condition. But it would have had to be THE boot OS disk when you made the Image.
As to whether it will work since you created the image under Win 7 I don't know for sure either way, Reflect tech support is very good and the may be able to answer that question.

All that said, if you did create the win 8 DISK Image before you installed win 7. It should indeed restore your Disk to the condition it was in at the time you created the Image. The Key is if you created a "Disk image"
If you only made partition images or Back up's, its not going to work

I just clean installed Win 8.1. i'm making it look and work just like Win 7, it takes a few tweaks but I'm happy so far. I have been running Win 7 HP for over a year now since bought this G74VW.

Clean Installing UEFI GPT, I think created 5 partitions one of witch is a recovery partition, no not an Asus one a win 8 one. You really don't need the factory anyway. Reflect will create reliable Images that will restore with out issues on UEFI GPT Disk I don't know of any other Imaging software that will for sure. Several say that they will, but for some reason they can't create the boot partition correctly.

I hope this has been helpful

skidoo
10-30-2013, 01:31 AM
thanks for the reply...appreciated.
The win 8 image I made at the tome was made while I still had win8 on my g75.
It is an "image"...I believe....not a clone.
when I use macrium to verify image...tos is what the image shows.

1 - SYSTEM ( none ) 3- (None) 4 - OS(C:)
FAT 32 (LBA) Primary Unformatted Primary NTFS Primary
30.8 MB 128.0 MB 47.61 GB
300.0 MB 128.0 MB 279.45 GB

2 , 5 & 6 are just blank with just GB sizes

1. So does this look correct? as in a proper image to restore Win8.???
2. Do I need to change my bios from the settings I am using to run Win 7....or can I leave it...go ahead and restore win8 and all is good????

If the 2 questions above are yes....

If I were to buy an SSD ( say 256 GB size ).
Can I restore this Win8 image to this size SSD, even though my HD presently is 750 GB???

Thinking maybe I should buy a 256 SSD...clone Win 7 that I have presently to it ( SSD ),
then before swapping out my HD, re - image this HD ( 750 Gb ) back to Win 8 using the macrium Image.

Then also purchase another HD to install with the SSD to use for saving files.

3. Anything I need to know if I go this route??

thanks to all again....you all have been very helpful

Clintlgm
10-30-2013, 02:30 AM
Here is what my Disk looks like 4 partitions and unused space I left for overprovisioning
28923

Again this is what I got after a clean install of 8.1

perhaps Asus also had a Recovery partition in addition to these 4 partition, I don't know as mine came with win 7

skidoo
10-30-2013, 03:08 AM
don't have a "recovery partition in my image.

Is it possible Win 8 didn't have recovery partition??

thanks for replying...
anyone else have a macrium image of their original wn 8 system from a g75??

I am starting to wonder if I didn't select something correctly before I made my only image of Win 8...or perhaps,
maybe I deleted a partition...( although I doubt I did that ),

still curious on the other parts to my questions on my last post as well
thanks

Clintlgm
10-30-2013, 03:31 AM
thanks for the reply...appreciated.
The win 8 image I made at the tome was made while I still had win8 on my g75.
It is an "image"...I believe....not a clone.
when I use macrium to verify image...tos is what the image shows.

1 - SYSTEM ( none ) 3- (None) 4 - OS(C:)
FAT 32 (LBA) Primary Unformatted Primary NTFS Primary
30.8 MB 128.0 MB 47.61 GB
300.0 MB 128.0 MB 279.45 GB

2 , 5 & 6 are just blank with just GB sizes

1. So does this look correct? as in a proper image to restore Win8.???
2. Do I need to change my bios from the settings I am using to run Win 7....or can I leave it...go ahead and restore win8 and all is good????

If the 2 questions above are yes....

If I were to buy an SSD ( say 256 GB size ).
Can I restore this Win8 image to this size SSD, even though my HD presently is 750 GB???

Yes you Macrium Reflect will restore to dissimilar hardware IE you new SSD, go ahead you got nothing to lose. If the image is good your ready to go. If it fails you clean install. Be sure to remove you 750 hard drive while you do this!!

Thinking maybe I should buy a 256 SSD...clone Win 7 that I have presently to it ( SSD ),
then before swapping out my HD, re - image this HD ( 750 Gb ) back to Win 8 using the macrium Image.

Once you have your OS on your new SSD, you will still have your 750 for data no need for another hard drive? unless you want one for back up. That's what I do, WD 2GB Passport.

Then also purchase another HD to install with the SSD to use for saving files.

3. Anything I need to know if I go this route??

thanks to all again....you all have been very helpful

hope this helps

skidoo
11-02-2013, 04:10 AM
okay...some confusion still in regards to bios settings??

As I have said...g75vx came with Win8.
I am fairly sure?!?, that I made an IMAGE of win 8 using Macrium, not a clone of Win 8.
And as stated, I then had Win 7 pro installed on this G75vx.
Now as many know ( and believe me, asus support wanted me to mail in my g75vx...cause I couldn,t get it to boot or run ), win 8uses secure boot etc. in bios.......win 7 does not use it. ( thus the issue I was having with asus support....think they could have told me this....no)

So, what I need to understand is......
If I use my macrium image of Win 8 that I made to restore this OS....
" Do I need to change my bios settings"????...back to secure boot etc....OR can I leave the bios like I have it NOW with WIn 7 running.

I would prefer to just leave the bios the way it is now .

But if I need to make changes to get win 8 running after restoring....

"what do I change and when do I change it"??

Also a thank you to "Clint", I appreciate the replies.

(Just a final word )...my intent at the moment is to just get the Win 8 KEY, which I never knew before how to retrieve.
I think I have the proper win 8 core iso downloaded now, and I see there is a way to bypass the entering of a key if I
do a clean install.....but why...I think he image would be faster?

Thanks all

Clintlgm
11-02-2013, 01:40 PM
okay...some confusion still in regards to bios settings??

As I have said...g75vx came with Win8.
I am fairly sure?!?, that I made an IMAGE of win 8 using Macrium, not a clone of Win 8.

Image,Clone same thing different ways of saying that you have complete image of a hard drive, clone usualy refers to directly copying your current hard drive to a new hard drive or SSD. You don't copy it you clone it, different process. Different software stated it differently.
And as stated, I then had Win 7 pro installed on this G75vx.
Now as many know ( and believe me, asus support wanted me to mail in my g75vx...cause I couldn,t get it to boot or run ), win 8uses secure boot etc. in bios.......win 7 does not use it. ( thus the issue I was having with asus support....think they could have told me this....no)

So, what I need to understand is......
If I use my macrium image of Win 8 that I made to restore this OS....
" Do I need to change my bios settings"????...back to secure boot etc....OR can I leave the bios like I have it NOW with WIn 7 running.

I would prefer to just leave the bios the way it is now .

But if I need to make changes to get win 8 running after restoring....

Just look in your BIOS and confirm that Secure boot is disabled and that CSM is enabled. After your win 8 image has been restored successfully you can enable secure boot and disable CSM if you so choose!

"what do I change and when do I change it"??

Also a thank you to "Clint", I appreciate the replies.

(Just a final word )...my intent at the moment is to just get the Win 8 KEY, which I never knew before how to retrieve.
I think I have the proper win 8 core iso downloaded now, and I see there is a way to bypass the entering of a key if I
do a clean install.....but why...I think he image would be faster?

I guess if you had most of your software and configurations completed before you made the image? it would save you some time. Otherwise if you set up a USB thumb drive as an install media Clean installing is very fast. I think much faster than restoring a full disk image.

Thanks all

Please read this thread (http://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread.php?28758-GUIDE-G55-G75-Upgrade-Notes&country=&status=) and understand if your going to do a clean install, insure that you create a UEFI Bootale USB thumb drive. And when booting it make sure you select the UEFI USB Drive to Install with on booting this USB Media you will have a choice of booting the USB Thumb Drive or Booting the UEFI Usb thumb drive. If you select the USB Drive you will get a BIOS MBR installation. If you select the UEFI USB boot you will get a UEFT GPT install. Be careful, I know this and still selected the wrong one and had to start over again LOL, Hope this helps

skidoo
11-02-2013, 07:45 PM
thank you for your time clint! !

skidoo
11-05-2013, 07:50 AM
okay...

I used the Macrium image I had, and re imaged my drive from win 7 back to win 8.
Also....after I had hd re-imaged with win 8, I did not change my bios back to secure boot etc....I left the same bios settings that
I had for win 7...for whatever reason though, I couldn't get to windows 8 without changing the boot priority to hd first??? it would just hang.
no big deal ...just confused about that??

So...once I did get into win 8...I checked to see what was on the drive.
Sadly...I saw it had no recovery partition on it??
Also, don't see it when I scan the macrium image I had.
So...I assume I either removed it or failed to add it to the image at the time I made the image before trying to install win 7 pro.

Anyways, I then used "jellybean" do get my Win 8 serial # ( key ).
( that was my main reason ).

Then I thought...since I am here ...why not download win 8.1.
read stuff on internet about how to go about obtaining win 8.1 ...but rather how to obtain the "ISO".

So with my serial # ( win 8 # )...I try to use it when I am asked to during win 8.1 download process....
and it tells me " Not Valid " or something to that effect.

So...no go on the download thru Microsoft site.

My next attempt was thru win 8 and "my store" on my notebook.
No problem....download takes place ( yet I have no idea where the download save to, if it even did save anywhere??)

So it goes ahead and installs itself ( all I really was hoping for was the download .. ISO to save )

Anyways...I ended up with win 8.1....BUT !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Then I look at my Hard drive.......

I have a " 750 GB " hard drive ( I know it isn't exactly that big in reality )

But NOW it shows it is only about half that size ...TOTAL????????????????????????

Made an Image using Macrium none the less....and then used the win 7 image to go back to where I want to be for now.

Questions.

1. If I understood correctly....I did not need to go back to secure boot etc. in bios once back to Win 8 ??
2. How important was this recovery partition that I failed to image at the time and no longer have ??
3. Why was my serial # not valid to allow me to download the ISO version of Win 8.1.
4. when I did get it to download and install ( win 8.1 )...did it save the download anywhere on the C:
( it didn't leave me an option to save...it just started to download and then run )
5. What happened to the size of my hard drive after Win 8.1 was running
( the physical size of the hd was less then half when I looked at it, once back to win 7.1...all was fine )

That was truly a frustrating experience...hoping I can get some answers to what I did wrong...or did I ???????

thank you

Clintlgm
11-05-2013, 03:32 PM
I'm lost on your hardware situation? Do you have Win 8 and Win 7 on one single hard drive?
the image below shows you exactly the selection to create a disk Image that will restore an Drive with an OS bootable. This is the only selection that will restore a bootable OS. Other than to use Clone disk then you would clone one disk to another disk this would happen in one single operation!

29341

29344

skidoo
11-06-2013, 02:10 AM
No...I don't have both win 8 and win 7 on one disc.
originally...when I purchased my g75vx...it came with win 8.
I needed win 7 pro to run some software that I have.

So, before I did anything I looked online for info about how to downgrade.
I am a former user of Norton ghost, but read that Norton had issues and to use macrium.

Now, I cant remember what I did.
meaning, did I delete the recovery partition before making an image using macrium ...not sure.
Could be that I didn't select it when making the image ( of win 8 )

I believe I used "Image all local drives"...not the " image to restore windows" section as you show.

1)is that a mistake???.
thought I was making an image of the whole disc.

thought all was good at that point, so I tried to install win 7 pro....I screwed up...
I then tried to reimage my drive back to win 8, but for some reason macrium couldn't detect my external USB HD where I stored the image.
so with no other option, I then took it to a place to install win 7 pro for me.

Once back at home, I made images using macrium and alsol with acronis of win 7. ( just for safety)

lately I read that there was an issue with macrium recovery and the use of 3.0 usb hd.
( I was unable to find my usb hard drive with image when trying to recover win 8 ).

Now , with that knowledge I was able to restore my g75vx back to win8.
The main reason for this was to retrieve my Win8 KEY.( as I did not know how to get it access to it when I first bought my notebook.

So...the other night I went ahead and restored to g75 back to win 8....to get the serial key #.

And while I was at that stage....using jellybean to get key #....I thought I might as well get win 8.1.

The rest of the story is in my previous post.

As I state at the end of the last post....I got fed up....restored my g75 back to win 7 pro...

tonite I tried Gotti's link ( in another thread on this site ) for win 8.1 ISO download...and again...the key that I
retrieved for win 8 ( using jellybean...while win 8 was installed from thi notebook )states again" not valid "!!!!

so...right now I have win 7 pro again.

hopefully I am making sense...my typing skills are slow!

If it does make sense...I am hoping to get answers to the previous post I had as well.

Sorry for any confusion.