PDA

View Full Version : G750JW Screen Resolution Issue



scribz718
10-31-2013, 03:17 AM
Hey guys, so I've searched and searched and can't find any answers. Got a G750JW-DB71 fresh out of the box. Installed Win 8.1, updated NVidia drivers, and a few other drivers. Anytime I install a program, let the laptop go to sleep, or close the screen, the laptop will try to duplicate my screen to a phantom screen. It will change the resolution until I use the fn key to put it back to one screen. Pretty annoying overall. Please help with any tips.

Pitcher@asus
10-31-2013, 03:37 AM
i think you NVIDIA driver have not download from asus support site right, i think it will have problem.

scribz718
10-31-2013, 03:55 AM
yes you are right, ill try

scribz718
10-31-2013, 04:02 AM
ok so I installed the asus support site drivers and the problem is still the same. the screen resolution will be 1600x900 everytime the screen is closed or a program gets installed. then I have to change it manually back to 1920x1080

sasikumardr
10-31-2013, 04:58 AM
There is a setting in Nvidia control panel to set screen resolution. Have you tried setting that to 1920x1080 ? I am not having this problem as I am also using G750JW with windows 8.1

sasikumardr
10-31-2013, 07:33 AM
@scribz718 I read some other thread that old bios firmware (v207) had this issue and updating to v208 will solve this problem. I am on latest version. may be that's why everything works perfect for me.

scribz718
11-03-2013, 04:08 PM
ok I will give that a try. im still having issues with the computer changing resolution and tring to duplicate the screen by itself.

scribz718
11-03-2013, 04:18 PM
208 bios already installed. same issues....very frustrating. stupid asus live update likes to pop up a lot too.

scribz718
11-08-2013, 05:40 PM
no one else is having issues with the monitor switching resolutions automatically? please help, this is super annoying

cl-Albert
11-08-2013, 07:12 PM
I haven't seen that problem on my Win8 G750JW unit either or heard anybody else complain about it.

Might seem a little extreme, but if it's not too late, consider getting the unit replaced, or at least comparing with another unit if it can be done.

Before you do, reset/recover back to Win8 if possible and try to sleep, close the lid etc. to see if the problem is still there before you install anything else. Also, unplug any external devices if attached.

Trying Safe Mode is another idea.

The Power4Gear Software (Fn+Space) under 'enable/disable' has an option for presentation mode that you may want to check, but will not kick in until you attach an external display and will automatically change back when you disconnect it, so shouldn't be related to this.

scribz718
11-08-2013, 09:48 PM
I have gone through several options. It seems to be related to the ASUS Live Update software. An example, live update was running in the task bar, I updated iTunes and the resolution did its freak out think and Live update decided to pop up letting me know everything was up to date.

cl-Albert
11-08-2013, 10:14 PM
If you don't care about the ASUS Live Update software, you probably know you can just remove it and manually check the ASUS G750JW download site for updates (the date will be listed on the website when the item was posted) which is what I prefer to do.

scribz718
11-08-2013, 11:17 PM
I don't mind uninstalling the software, but its quite irritating that software from the company would cause such a problem. I'm hoping there was another explanation.

scribz718
11-09-2013, 02:21 PM
still having the issue. took it back to the store and they said its a driver issue. uninstalled all drivers, did a clean boot, low and behold still jacked up.

Maxter
11-11-2013, 07:14 PM
ASUS live update is useless... Better to check the support.asus.com site every so often. Did you try uninstalling all nVidia drivers and then downloading and installing the latest? (from ASUS or from nVidia site? - they both work, ASUS is a little older but works better for me). nVidia latest R311 is not supporting all mobile GPUs yet (they been having issues even with desktop cards (they keep rushing this driver patches too)

scribz718
11-11-2013, 10:47 PM
I have given that option a chance as well. I have just come to the realization it may be a quirk ill have to live with.

Maxter
11-11-2013, 10:57 PM
There must be a software that is pushing for the resolution change...