PDA

View Full Version : WiFi gets disconnected ( connection unavailable or limited ) all the time



psychosocial81
11-26-2013, 03:42 PM
Hello everyone,

Bought my asus rog g750jx about a week ago, love it so far but one persistent problem I cant seem to be able to fix.

When I connect to wifi, my laptop gets disconnected within a minute or as soon as I try to access internet. Called asus support who made me reset and unplug my router, and even do a complete reinstall, so far nothing works.

I did notice that the problem seems to be only at certain places, at work, it connects no problem and works fine, at certain other place like unfortunately my home, it disconnects all the time.

Someone told me it was a router problem, and that I need to assign and reserve an ip address to my laptop, just dont know how or where to go for that, I have a dlink dir-615 router.

Wondering if any of you guys had that problem? and what fixed it, at this point I just feel discouraged, paid nearly 2k for a laptop that cant stay connected :(

Thanks for your help!

Krebb
11-26-2013, 03:47 PM
http://www.fixedbyvonnie.com/2013/10/how-to-fix-limited-or-no-connectivity-wi-fi-issues-in-windows-8/#.UpTDg8Ssgl4

Should do the trick.

psychosocial81
11-26-2013, 04:07 PM
Thanks ill try it out tonight and give feedback :)

psychosocial81
11-26-2013, 06:37 PM
Actually, just a quick question, seeing it works elsewhere just fine, would I need to actually look for a specific configuration in my router? Or I do try these steps up anyway?

Prostar Computer
11-26-2013, 06:53 PM
Actually, just a quick question, seeing it works elsewhere just fine, would I need to actually look for a specific configuration in my router? Or I do try these steps up anyway?

It likely is a router setting... perhaps DHCP?

psychosocial81
11-26-2013, 07:06 PM
I thought as well, any pointers on what I could try with it? I know how to acess the router and everything, but when it comes to programing more than wireless and security I get a bit lost, just dont want to mess up the thing lol.

psychosocial81
11-26-2013, 07:17 PM
found that online : http://support.dlink.ca/emulators/wbr2310/lan.htm

Does that ressembles something I could try out?

Prostar Computer
11-26-2013, 09:51 PM
found that online : http://support.dlink.ca/emulators/wbr2310/lan.htm

Does that ressembles something I could try out?

Yeah, that's a good tool! Don't worry too much about playing with the settings; as a last ditch effort, you should have a restore defaults option. Be sure to have MAC filtering disabled and your settings for IP addresses and a DNS server are set to "dynamic" (unless you need them set to static). It's not a bad idea to check for a firmware upgrade too. :)

Bdtry
11-26-2013, 11:33 PM
I am having the same problem.

For the first month or so everything worked perfect. Then about 3 weeks ago it would randomly drop the connection. If I disconnected and reconnected it would start back up and work fine for quite a while.

After a week or so it would drop the connection several times in a row. Disconnect/reconnect several times and it would usually work again.

More lately it has stopped connecting automatically when I start the laptop. I have to actually select connect. I check the "connect automatically" but it does not remember it. I was watching a stream on Twitch.tv and the stream was running fine but I could not connect to another webpage, youtube videos would not load etc. I found that one really weird.

I have tried everything in this thread as well as others. Nothing seems to help. Every thing I tried seemed to work for a bit (a few minutes sometimes) then it would just go back to disconnecting.

It is very random. Sometimes I will be able to get it back up with a single disconnect/reconnect and it will be fine for hours but lately it has needed several tries to get it back up and it just dumps again a minute later. What seems to help it the best is to right click on the connection and select "forget this connection" then set it up again. After I do that it reconnects on the first try.

Sometimes it will lose connection 5-6 times in a row. This is getting to be quite aggravating.

Is there anything that somebody can suggest?

Thank you.

psychosocial81
11-29-2013, 03:07 AM
Well I tried all the above options, worked the other day while playing a game for at least 30 mins, connections were good etc.

Trying to relog tonight and had to reset my router to actually be able to access internet, then the whole thing drops again. Asus told me to send my laptop to them, Im just not sure if the problem comes from a faulty wireless card or a ****ty router lol.

What has me wondering is it does that at certain places, while at others it works just fine.. really confused


Anyway I could test out something that would and could prevent me from sending my laptop for nothing?

hmscott
11-29-2013, 07:19 PM
Well I tried all the above options, worked the other day while playing a game for at least 30 mins, connections were good etc.

Trying to relog tonight and had to reset my router to actually be able to access internet, then the whole thing drops again. Asus told me to send my laptop to them, Im just not sure if the problem comes from a faulty wireless card or a ****ty router lol.

What has me wondering is it does that at certain places, while at others it works just fine.. really confused


Anyway I could test out something that would and could prevent me from sending my laptop for nothing?

It could be your router is flaky, my Netgear WNDR3700's 2.4GHZ side became flaky before it died completely - common problem with that model after the first year or two.

If it is a location based issue, it is usually due to interference from another device, like a close by router/AP on the same channel, or even a phone/microwave.

You can download an app for Windows, or Android, etc to look at the wireless router landscape around you, and see if there are other routers/AP's already on your channel, or overlapping your channel.

Your router takes up a number of channels depending on if you are using narrow or wide mode, but your center channel is what you can change to move onto a more clear area. Most people run the router/AP with the default channel setting, so everyone piles up at one end of the spectrum or the other.

I use inSSIDer on Windows or WiFI Analyzer on Android to look at the 2.4ghz spectrum around my Dlink DIR-655 router.

Here is what I see on my G750JH, about 25 local Wifi stations - which BTW is the most I have ever seen at this location. I think the WiFi card in the G750JH, the Killer Wireless-N 1202 (2.4GHz and 5GHz), is more sensitive than the ones in the G750JW or G750JX:

30349

Even though it looks like I am over a more populated part of the 2.4ghz band, I get less interference here than when I am at the other end, where you see the large presence of the local municipal Wifi.

Here is the download for the tools I use:

inSSIDer: http://www.metageek.net/products/inssider/

Wifi Analyzer: https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.farproc.wifi.analyzer&hl=en

Note that you need to watch the Wifi viewing program for a while, and at different times of the day, especially when things get flaky and you are disconnecting. If I am having connectivity issues I keep the Wifi viewer running all the time to catch what is causing the problem.

For example, while I was watching just now, I caught a new router AP, with a very strong signal, drop in over me, and then disappear again - and it hasn't shown up again in 10 minutes:

30350

Here is another one, this one is staying... could be a problem if both overlap at the same time persistantly. If I were relying on Wifi only, I might need to bump up my router power if I started getting Wifi drops.

30353

Because there are so many local Wifi routers/AP's I use Ethernet most of the time. I don't have a drop out problem on Wifi, but because I can run Ethernet I do most of the time, so I don't contribute to the RF noise around me..

When I run Wifi, I run Wide, but with low power. I set my router to min power and the same for my device if it gives me that level of power control. That way I don't interfere with others, but still have great connectivity.

Compared to the JW/JX the JH is getting better 2.4Ghz throughput, I am actually getting the same Internet download speed on Wifi as I am on Ethernet.

Ethernet
30351

2.4Ghz Wifi
30352

I should also mention that you can overload the front end of a Wifi receiver by running too much power too closely to the access point or router. Reducing power, and putting some distance between the router/AP and your device can help too. I am talking about less than 10 feet in distance.

On the other hand, if you regularly run a long distance between you and your router/AP, especially with walls/floors in between, you might think about moving the router/AP closer to you rather than relying on higher power to make the connection. Even putting in a wireless repeater dedicated to keeping the link up over the distance would be a good idea.

Take a look at the wireless landscape at both the location where the router is sitting, and the location where you are sitting with your laptop, and come back and share what you found. :)

Kirtan
11-29-2013, 07:56 PM
Yes its problem with Win8.1 , even when i upgraded , my wifi used to drop frequently , and i was cursing my friend for wifi dropping lol,
had found out that wifi used to sleep when kept idle for sometime ,


i tried this one and it worked for me,
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wbHjc19i_-w

or else you can also try changing your router to WPA/PSK -TKIP or WPA/PSK -AES vice versa if you already have one setting and it should work too.

hmscott
11-29-2013, 08:11 PM
Yes its problem with Win8.1 , even when i upgraded , my wifi used to drop frequently , and i was cursing my friend for wifi dropping lol,
had found out that wifi used to sleep when kept idle for sometime ,


i tried this one and it worked for me,
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wbHjc19i_-w

or else you can also try changing your router to WPA/PSK -TKIP or WPA/PSK -AES vice versa if you already have one setting and it should work too.

Good point Kirtan, I assumed psychosocial81 was plugged in at each location, but if he is on battery then the power options come in to play. I have the defaults set myself, for the Balanced Power plan:

30354

FYI, I am running Windows 8.1.

I have had problems with Android and some routers/AP's not reconnecting after idle power disconnects, so I know that pain. But so far I haven't noticed a problem with Windows 8.1 with my router, work router, or Sony Xperia Z Ultra Hotspot mode and Battery power on the G750JH..

I should mention that AES is needed if you want to run more than 54mbits, using TKIP limits throughput. I run WPA2/AES on all my newer hardware.

http://www.intel.com/support/wireless/wlan/4965agn/sb/cs-025643.htm