PDA

View Full Version : Overclocking gtx560 on the asus G74SX



Naits
09-07-2011, 09:43 AM
Hi,

I am considering overlocking my laptop when I'm gaming crysis2 with the msi afterburner tool. However, I have never done this before and I have no idea how much this card can take before it melts down lol..

Could any one tell me a "safe-zone" (although overlcocking is never safe) that the gtx560 can handle without too much of a risk?

thanks!

Br4nd3n
09-07-2011, 11:01 AM
A specific "safe zone" really isn't present when considering a laptop GPU overclock. My best recommendation would be to monitor your the laptops temperatures and voltage usage with each little increase while doing intensive gaming.

I.E: Play Crysis 2 for at least 5-10 minutes without an overclock and record your internal component temperatures and voltage usage. Then afterwards do a slight overclock tweak and play again for 5-10 minutes and record your internal component temperatures and voltage usage again. As long as you are not putting your hardware at risk of malfunction then you should be ok. Be aware though that laptop overclocking is a very risky field.

You may want to do research into the computer first to find what the area of safe temperatures and voltage usage are.

Naits
09-07-2011, 01:43 PM
I did excactly as you said; play crysis, check temp, tweak clocks and repeat. In the beginning I only did small tweaks which seemd to do nothing. However, In the end I just put core, memory and shader clock to max frequency. (I couldn't adjust voltage or fan speed.) Anyways, there was no temperature or fps increase while playing at max overclock? With no overclock crysis runs at an avarage of 45fps on "high-setting" which is the lowest setting. Also, the gpu temperature stays on 65Celcius. Unfortunately the results were excactly the same when all clockbars was on the highest frequency possible in MSI afterburner.. please explain :3

jorlanm
09-07-2011, 01:53 PM
In all honestly...I dont see much difference between Ultra and Extreme setting...and quite frankly not even that noticable going down to Very-High setting...

Even at very-High its still a good looking game...

id say Overclock when you need too.

The GTX 460m can go as high as 115c before damage accurs.
The GTX 560m can go as high as 100c according to spec.

Naits
09-07-2011, 01:57 PM
totally agree with you, but i feel like i need atleast a stable 60fps if im going to play multiplayer in this games on max settings the game in running at like 18fps which is unberable .. but i would appriciate if anyone got any input on my last post, the overclocking doesnt seem to work >.<

Br4nd3n
09-07-2011, 08:36 PM
I did excactly as you said; play crysis, check temp, tweak clocks and repeat. In the beginning I only did small tweaks which seemd to do nothing. However, In the end I just put core, memory and shader clock to max frequency. (I couldn't adjust voltage or fan speed.) Anyways, there was no temperature or fps increase while playing at max overclock? With no overclock crysis runs at an avarage of 45fps on "high-setting" which is the lowest setting. Also, the gpu temperature stays on 65Celcius. Unfortunately the results were excactly the same when all clockbars was on the highest frequency possible in MSI afterburner.. please explain :3

You can try going to your NVIDIA control panel and go to "manage 3D settings". Change Power Management mode to "Prefer maximum performance". You may see an increase in FPS on some games with this settings changed, however with Crysis 2 it would be unlikely. Note though that the Adaptive setting is reccomended because it allows the GPU to lower its clock speed when it doesn't require maximum output; which therefor prolongs the life of the card. Crysis 2 is a very high maintenance game, you may not notice much of an increase if any when overclocking the 560m. Crysis 2 was built for high end GPU's, which is what the 560m is. However the game's maximum potential was built for extreme GPU's such as the 6990 and 580m. If I were you I would stick to the high setting when it comes to Crysis 2.

khruel
09-07-2011, 10:23 PM
I have pushed my 560m on my G74Sx to 920/1840/1625 MHz @0.962V and in 3DMark11 temps never got above 55C.
I think I'll get it down to 900/1800/1625 for playing games @1080p with high detail settings.

Since the voltage is set to default and temps are quite low, I'm guessing it's safe to say this is a safe zone :D .. Right? RIGHT?

fearfromtron
09-07-2011, 10:25 PM
That's almost the exact frequencies I've had and been using for a few weeks now. I barely even hear the fan.

Naits
09-08-2011, 02:00 PM
thx for feedback guys :D I found Nvidia inspector to work better

Br4nd3n
09-09-2011, 02:16 AM
thx for feedback guys :D I found Nvidia inspector to work better

Nvidia inspector is what I use, because it's specifically designed for Nvidia GPU's. MSI Afterburner is a universal tool, which makes it less specific with a one particular GPU. Good luck with your overclocking. Post your set-up if you find something to be a noticeable healthy change in gameplay.

Naits
09-09-2011, 12:36 PM
don't noticed much change in crysis, maybe a 5fps increase which made the game run smoothly even in busy situations :D but 3d-mark 11 got boosted from p2200-ish to p2700ish with the core clock set to 952 and memory to 1710 (i took these settings from chastity)

MatG
09-10-2011, 07:30 PM
Thx, nvidiainspector was just was i was looking for :D

grungeboy2
09-11-2011, 01:31 AM
i use the RoG GPU Tweak tool.

i had crysis 2 installed sometime back and played thru it on high settings with AA enabled. that was on a stock G51vx. what benefit would overclocking a G74 provide? i would imagine that any of the G series that are newer than mine would provide better performance, considering when i played it i had no issues at all and ran without a hitch.

if you're having issues with that game that a marginal 10% increase in GPU or CPU power would fix, i think you might have other issues altogether that aren't related to the game.

Batsika
01-07-2013, 07:18 PM
Can you guys tell and explain how to use nvidia inspector please. I did tried it but never got any difference. 3d max has awlays showed me the same clock.
Thank you