PDA

View Full Version : need help :)



silentfreak
12-02-2013, 01:18 PM
Hi everybody,

need some help...

i am using maximus formula 3(LGA1156),
and the problem is that the card reaches maximum 375MB/s on PCIx 16x third slot...
i have tried before using PCIx slot 1 or 2 but there the system didnt recognize the hardware?!

Did anybody know why it doesnt work for me on slot 1 or 2?
And the second question is if it is the maximum on speed i can get on this MB(M3F)???

thank u for answering me :)

Nodens
12-03-2013, 08:22 PM
Did you try the second red slot and the white slot? The 2 short black slots are x1 and will make the drive slow. The 2 long black slots are plain old PCI and they're incompatible.

Praz
12-03-2013, 08:54 PM
The third slot (white) is connected to the PCH and only has 2.5GT/s data rate capability. Need to use one of the first two PCIe x16 slots (red). Those two slots are capable of providing the needed 5.0GT/s data rate.

silentfreak
12-03-2013, 09:08 PM
thanks for both answers! :)

@Nodens:

yes, i have tried all slot of the three "16x" PCIx slots but only the third(white slot) recognize the raidr :(


@Praz:

yes, i have seen it 2,5GT/s(test: 377MB/s)... but only the third recognize the raidr... i thought it have to work in the second or first? but the system dont see anithing... :(

- is my mb to old for that?

- or is there a way for me to get it work in the second(red) slot?

- or is it because of the "newest" bios update

Nodens
12-04-2013, 02:07 PM
This is strange. Not sure about this specific board as I don't have it but it's possible that the red slots are Video card only. In which case you'd be out of luck. If I understood correctly you are on the latest BIOS version. If so do try to downgrade and check with a couple of other versions. It may be a firmware issue. If you're not on the latest and I got that wrong, then try updating to the latest or more recent version.

silentfreak
12-05-2013, 10:24 AM
ok, i got it directly from asus technician support:

it's my MB(maximus 3 formula) the white slot can't get more bandwidth then 2,5GT/s... my motherboard is to old for that :( so i have "normal" ssd performances ;) but not more :(

Nodens
12-05-2013, 01:15 PM
We already knew about the white slot. Praz told you so above.:) Did support tell you why the drive won't work in the red slots? Because those slots have adequate bandwidth for sure.

silentfreak
12-05-2013, 01:51 PM
yes, the red slots are only for video :(

Nodens
12-05-2013, 04:01 PM
Out of luck then mate, sorry:(

silentfreak
12-06-2013, 07:48 AM
no problem ;)

i think about new hardware, mb(maximus vi extreme) + cpu(i7 4770K) ;)

Nodens
12-06-2013, 01:44 PM
Huge performance upgrade there:)