PDA

View Full Version : Wifi "limited" problem----Need help!



tonycao
12-05-2013, 10:09 PM
Hi there.

I just brought my brand new G750jw couple hours ago. I'm so happy with it! It truly is a wonderful laptop for me!

Everything was good in the first hour, until at some point where the wifi connection is "limited".

Now I've tried lots of method on the internet that I can find with my iphone (since my laptop "hates" the internet connection), and non of them worked. So please at least don't tell me to un-check the "Allow this computer to turn off the device to save power" option under "power management" found in network and sharing center.

I really do need help with this issue. I've also asked my friends but the only answer I got was "switch back to win 7"...which I have no intend of doing. Please, help me with this issue!

Thank you!

And btw, the keyboard is awesome!!

WatchGuard
12-05-2013, 10:39 PM
1) What type of 802.11 Wireless network are you trying to connect to? B/G/N on 2.4 or N/AC on 5ghz?
2) Are you using DHCP or a static IP?
3) What does ipconfig /all show?
4) Are you able to ping the default gateway?
5) If yes to 4, are you able to ping 8.8.8.8?
6) What is the device that is broadcasting the wireless?

Please don't ask us *not* to ask you simple questions when you only list 1 method you checked, otherwise we will. I can't guess what you have looked at :-/.

cl-Albert
12-05-2013, 10:57 PM
If you haven't tried it already, restart Win8 (instead of shutting down) to make sure the problem is still there before you start worrying about the other stuff since this should clean out or reset your software some (in a manner of speaking anyway).

Although it may not help too often, it's easy enough to try.

If you don't have anything you're worried about though, you might also consider either system restore if a restore point is available to set the system back to an earlier date, or just erase everything and reset/recovery back to the factory original condition to really clean everything out and start over since your system is so new.

tonycao
12-05-2013, 11:07 PM
WatchGuard, thank you for replying.

I asked "not" to because all I've seen is that solution.

So here's what I've done so far:

1). I tried to reset the TCP/IP using netsh.exe
2). I tried using command prompt typing "ipconfig /all" - "ipconfig /release" - "ipconfig /renew" which I have no idea what it is since I'm a total idiot about computer system settings.
3). I tried diable WMM, and since it doesn't work I switched back to "auto"
4). All those reconnecting/rebooting both router and cable/rebooting laptop, these helped me to be able to post thread...

To answer your question:

1). Netgear N300, WNR2000. It's a 802.11b/g/n 2.4 GHz type. After looking up some websites I wonder if this is the problem:confused:
2). I believe it is a DHCP
3). It shows a bunch of stuff which I don't even know where to begin
4). No, I'm not able ping my default gateway. It shows "request time out"
6). Arris TM822G from Optimum with the Netgear router.

I hope these answers are useful, except the third answer since I really don't know what information do you want, or just the whole thing.

Again, thank you for your reply!

jbreeze228
12-05-2013, 11:10 PM
I don't know if you're having the same issue as me. I have the G750JW also and almost on a daily basis the wireless adapter will get a "limited connection". I have to right click the signal icon at the bottom right and go to "Open network and sharing center" the click "Change adapter settings" all the way on the left pane and manually disable the wireless adapter and then renable it and connect to my network and it fixes it instantly. This didn't happen to I upgraded to 8.1.. but like I said idk if this is the exact issue you're having but give it a try.

tonycao
12-05-2013, 11:19 PM
cl-Albert, I restarted several times. Didn't work tho:(

I really don't want to back to the factory original condition unless it is absolutely necessary.

But still, thanks for the advice!

tonycao
12-05-2013, 11:20 PM
jbreeze22b, I tried your method just now. It didn't work for me:(

But I'm glad it worked for you:)

jbreeze228
12-05-2013, 11:28 PM
Did you restart your computer after doing the ipconfig /renew? If that doesn't work you might have to restore your computer back to factory... it's not fun and is very time comsuming, especially if you do the full format which I do when I've formatted in the past. I'm out of ideas but good luck. Hope you get it resolved!

cl-Albert
12-05-2013, 11:39 PM
If you haven't had the notebook for more than a day, wondering if there could be any issues related to radio interference (I may be totally wrong).
If it's easy to move somewhere else to connect to a different wireless access point, or try a different system at your location, you may want to compare this way.

Also, unplug any USB devices temporarily just to see if this makes any difference.

Well, hopefully others have better ideas if these aren't helpful.

tonycao
12-06-2013, 12:48 AM
Guys, Thank you again for offering methods:)

I'm now having no problem connecting internet using a cable instead of wifi.

Since I'm not planning to take it outside anytime soon, I'll stick with actualy cable for now and try to find more information. I still think it could be my router's problem since it's a 2.4GHz which seems to work better for b/g/n's.

Anyway, I'll try to get a new router soon, and then post here for updates about this problem. I hope these can help other people who have the same issue.

Thanks again!

WatchGuard
12-06-2013, 04:49 AM
Sorry for the lack of detail, I was in the middle of something and I was trying to get something out.

1) B/G/N is fine; the only issue with it is on the AP(Access Point). If the WiFi is setup to support B clients, then if one joins, everyone gets slowed down to B speeds. However, I use mine on 802.11n on the 2.4 spectrum most of the time.

2) DHCP means the router is supplying the network information, including IP address, default gateway, and DNS servers. If it was static, we could have ruled it out by going to DHCP.

3) IPconfig and IPconfig /all give us basic information about your NIC (Network Interface Card). The /all can give quite a bit more. Just for reference:
ipconfig /release - this releases the DHCP lease, meaning you lose everything you got in #2. This is useful sometimes if you made a change on the router and need the client machine to get the new information.
ipconfig /renew - this sends out another request to a DHCP server, basically saying "Tell me what I need to know!" Sometimes in networks, the wrong person might respond as well. But this is rare in SOHO (Small Office/ Home Office) networks.

The information I wanted to know is what your IP address was. There is a special kind of address called APIPA: This is an address that is given if you 'yell' for a DHCP server and no one responds. It looks like:
169.254.X.X, where X is a random number between 1-255.

Now, I did run into an issue a couple days ago where my wireless was on, but I couldn't see any SSID (Wireless broadcasts of AP, what you connect to). I didn't have Airplane mode on, but I simply couldn't get the Wireless to turn on. I had to disable/enable toggle it a couple times from the control panel and eventually the OS was able to re-enable it with the "Troubleshoot" right click options.


TL;DR: Sounds like you lost connectivity to the wireless. There are more steps, but they are a bit technical. If you can show your output from ipconfig /all, I can take a better look at it, as well as "arp -a"(This shows the Layer 2 <-> Layer 3 routing table)

To get the output, you can right click on the command prompt and hit edit to be able to highlight and copy.

tonycao
12-06-2013, 03:29 PM
Sorry for the lack of detail, I was in the middle of something and I was trying to get something out.

1) B/G/N is fine; the only issue with it is on the AP(Access Point). If the WiFi is setup to support B clients, then if one joins, everyone gets slowed down to B speeds. However, I use mine on 802.11n on the 2.4 spectrum most of the time.

2) DHCP means the router is supplying the network information, including IP address, default gateway, and DNS servers. If it was static, we could have ruled it out by going to DHCP.

3) IPconfig and IPconfig /all give us basic information about your NIC (Network Interface Card). The /all can give quite a bit more. Just for reference:
ipconfig /release - this releases the DHCP lease, meaning you lose everything you got in #2. This is useful sometimes if you made a change on the router and need the client machine to get the new information.
ipconfig /renew - this sends out another request to a DHCP server, basically saying "Tell me what I need to know!" Sometimes in networks, the wrong person might respond as well. But this is rare in SOHO (Small Office/ Home Office) networks.

The information I wanted to know is what your IP address was. There is a special kind of address called APIPA: This is an address that is given if you 'yell' for a DHCP server and no one responds. It looks like:
169.254.X.X, where X is a random number between 1-255.

Now, I did run into an issue a couple days ago where my wireless was on, but I couldn't see any SSID (Wireless broadcasts of AP, what you connect to). I didn't have Airplane mode on, but I simply couldn't get the Wireless to turn on. I had to disable/enable toggle it a couple times from the control panel and eventually the OS was able to re-enable it with the "Troubleshoot" right click options.


TL;DR: Sounds like you lost connectivity to the wireless. There are more steps, but they are a bit technical. If you can show your output from ipconfig /all, I can take a better look at it, as well as "arp -a"(This shows the Layer 2 <-> Layer 3 routing table)

To get the output, you can right click on the command prompt and hit edit to be able to highlight and copy.

I thank you for your detailed response.

So here's some information:

ipconfig /all:

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : TonyC
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Wireless LAN adapter Local Area Connection* 11:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft Wi-Fi Direct Virtual Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 26-0A-64-3A-6C-E7
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Wireless LAN adapter Wi-Fi:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom 802.11ac Network Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 24-0A-64-3A-6C-E7
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Ethernet adapter Ethernet:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Qualcomm Atheros AR8171/8175 PCI-E Gigabi
t Ethernet Controller (NDIS 6.30)
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : AC-22-0B-AF-4F-B5
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::d518:f80:a6da:af5%3(Preferred)
IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.4(Preferred)
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Friday, December 6, 2013 1:11:47 PM
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Saturday, December 7, 2013 10:09:26 PM
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 262939147
DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-19-92-13-7C-AC-22-0B-AF-4F-B5

DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

Tunnel adapter isatap.{E0B559D5-8D1D-41CC-908E-9B1834EAB2BC}:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 13:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:9d38:90d7:2461:219:ba87:5f8f(Prefe
rred)
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::2461:219:ba87:5f8f%10(Preferred)
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : ::
DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 167772160
DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-19-92-13-7C-AC-22-0B-AF-4F-B5

NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

arp -a:

Interface: 192.168.1.4 --- 0x3
Internet Address Physical Address Type
192.168.1.1 44-94-fc-62-af-36 dynamic
192.168.1.255 ff-ff-ff-ff-ff-ff static
224.0.0.22 01-00-5e-00-00-16 static
224.0.0.252 01-00-5e-00-00-fc static
224.0.0.253 01-00-5e-00-00-fd static
239.255.255.250 01-00-5e-7f-ff-fa static
255.255.255.255 ff-ff-ff-ff-ff-ff static



I'm now using a Ethernet cable to connect, and I have no problem so far. However, I do need wifi connection otherwise I would buy a desktop instead of laptop (although G750 is so awesome to be "just a laptop"). So I really appreciate your help.

Please let me know how can I fix this problem.

Thank you.

WatchGuard
12-06-2013, 06:13 PM
Hi,

Thank you for the output. However, since its showing you with your ethernet plugged in and not the Wireless NIC during the issue, it doesn't shine any line on it. Could you try to recreate the issue while on wireless and just do the ipconfig /all again when the issue is occurring? With your ARP table, I can tell you are using a Netgear router. Have you checked the firmware for it lately? Also, I see this in your IPconfig list:

Wireless LAN adapter Local Area Connection* 11:

There could be a chance you were trying to route over that incorrect one?

tonycao
12-07-2013, 06:35 PM
Hi,

Thank you for the output. However, since its showing you with your ethernet plugged in and not the Wireless NIC during the issue, it doesn't shine any line on it. Could you try to recreate the issue while on wireless and just do the ipconfig /all again when the issue is occurring? With your ARP table, I can tell you are using a Netgear router. Have you checked the firmware for it lately? Also, I see this in your IPconfig list:

Wireless LAN adapter Local Area Connection* 11:

There could be a chance you were trying to route over that incorrect one?

Hi, I'm sorry for giving you the wrong information.

So I'm now using wireless connection. I don't know how, but it's not saying "limited" anymore and it works just fine.

I've upgraded to windows 8.1 yesterday. I don't know if this is a fix, or it's just because I used Ethernet cable which probably makes no sense.

Anyway, here's the ipconfig /all output:


Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : TonyC
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Wireless LAN adapter Local Area Connection* 11:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft Wi-Fi Direct Virtual Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 26-0A-64-3A-6C-E7
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Ethernet adapter Bluetooth Network Connection:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Bluetooth Device (Personal Area Network)
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 24-0A-64-07-D4-F8
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Wireless LAN adapter Wi-Fi:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom 802.11ac Network Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 24-0A-64-3A-6C-E7
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::10bd:9df8:5f2:9d21%4(Preferred)
IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.11(Preferred)
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Sunday, December 8, 2013 1:16:42 AM
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Monday, December 9, 2013 1:16:41 AM
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 321129060
DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-19-92-13-7C-AC-22-0B-AF-4F-B5

DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

Ethernet adapter Ethernet:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Qualcomm Atheros AR8171/8175 PCI-E Gigabi
t Ethernet Controller (NDIS 6.30)
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : AC-22-0B-AF-4F-B5
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter isatap.{4E251800-0E2B-495C-8FF7-7AAE3D9021F0}:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 13:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:9d38:6ab8:10c3:3ffe:ba87:5f8f(Pref
erred)
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::10c3:3ffe:ba87:5f8f%10(Preferred)
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : ::
DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 167772160
DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-19-92-13-7C-AC-22-0B-AF-4F-B5

NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

I don't know what the line "Wireless LAN adapter Local Area Connection* 11" means. But I'm certain that I'm connecting to my router.

It seems like the problem is somehow fixed. But still, thank you so much for helping me out :)

I'll let you know if this fix is just temporary.