PDA

View Full Version : G750JH msata



SoulSlayerPT
12-09-2013, 12:01 PM
Hello all,

Does G750JH has msata ports or just 2hdd bays?

If yes, can anyone post a print where they are located?

Thank you

cosmicmango
12-09-2013, 10:17 PM
Here's a picture from the net, both right under the lid.

30864

I've got two Samsung 840 256GB SSD that I would like to swap out, but haven't figured out how to remove the msata drive.

SoulSlayerPT
12-10-2013, 09:49 AM
Hmmm, Thank you but that two msata are on the 2.5 hdd place. Some notebooks have msata slots, but G750 only have place for 2 hdds right?

I think if you dissasembly the g46 you have a msata port, does the G750 has msata ports if i disassembly it?

Zygomorphic
12-10-2013, 11:15 AM
@cosmicmango, I would suggest removing the little black screws around the person's fingers, if those are screws. I can't tell from the resolution of the picture, but that would not surprise me. It looks like you can fit a drive there thickness wise, if only a 7 mm (normal drives are 9.5 mm)

khmergod
12-10-2013, 06:52 PM
Got a simple question. In the JH with ssd128gbx2 raid 0. Is the operating system on the rpm drive or the ssd?

Prostar Computer
12-10-2013, 09:52 PM
Hmmm, Thank you but that two msata are on the 2.5 hdd place. Some notebooks have msata slots, but G750 only have place for 2 hdds right?

I think if you dissasembly the g46 you have a msata port, does the G750 has msata ports if i disassembly it?

No, the logic board with the two mSATA drives shown in the picture is connected to the SATA port, inside the primary storage drive bay. This is how the G750JH is designed, leaving one more bay open for a storage drive. There are no other mSATA connections on the board.


I've got two Samsung 840 256GB SSD that I would like to swap out, but haven't figured out how to remove the msata drive.

The drives should lift out after you remove the screw(s) that secure them.


Got a simple question. In the JH with ssd128gbx2 raid 0. Is the operating system on the rpm drive or the ssd?

By default the Windows installation is on the RAID 0 array on the mSATA SSDs.

khmergod
12-10-2013, 10:00 PM
Thank you much Prostar.

cosmicmango
12-10-2013, 10:29 PM
The drives should lift out after you remove the screw(s) that secure them.

Took out the two front screws and the two back screws but couldn't get it to move. Didn't have the guts to try to pull it out. I'll probably just wait, sooner or later there will be a video on youtube. @Zygomorphic & @Prostar Computer Thanks for the help.

hmscott
12-11-2013, 09:18 AM
Took out the two front screws and the two back screws but couldn't get it to move. Didn't have the guts to try to pull it out. I'll probably just wait, sooner or later there will be a video on youtube. @Zygomorphic & @Prostar Computer Thanks for the help.

cosmicmango, you can't pull the RAID out easily, and if you did manage to disconnect the connectors on the other side of the RAID card and remove it, there wouldn't be a connector to plug in your 2.5" drive. The 2nd bay drive plugs into a custom connector on the end of the RAID card.

It would be nice to have a 2nd RAID card available to put in the 2nd bay, but it would be a different card as the bay is smaller than the length of the RAID card in the 1st Bay.

There are 512GB Msata cards, it might be worth imaging the original RAID volume and swapping in larger Msata cards to RAID for a really big SSD volume. :)

SoulSlayerPT
12-11-2013, 09:24 AM
No, the logic board with the two mSATA drives shown in the picture is connected to the SATA port, inside the primary storage drive bay. This is how the G750JH is designed, leaving one more bay open for a storage drive. There are no other mSATA connections on the board.



The drives should lift out after you remove the screw(s) that secure them.



By default the Windows installation is on the RAID 0 array on the mSATA SSDs.

Thank you! That is all i need to know!

pscza
12-11-2013, 05:37 PM
There are 512GB Msata cards, it might be worth imaging the original RAID volume and swapping in larger Msata cards to RAID for a really big SSD volume. :)

1TB Now available (Samsung EVO mSATA) :cool:

hmscott
12-11-2013, 06:54 PM
1TB Now available (Samsung EVO mSATA) :cool:

pscza, that would be a nice replacement for the 1TB HD in the 2nd bay :)

The RAID SSD runs 2xMSata at 2x the fastest SSD speed I have seen. If there were 1TB mSata drives those would rock in the RAID SSD slots.

Here is what I get on the stock 2x128GB SSD's:

30978

Here is what I got on the single SSD Samsung 840 Pro 512GB in the JX/JW:

30980

The RAID really opens up the potential of the SSD. The only drag about the mSata drives is they seem to run about 1/2 speed on Writes, but that is made up when in RAID x2. It would be nice to get a Samsung Pro class performance in a single mSata.

The RAID card allows the JH to have 3 drives in the 2 bays as well, you could configure the mSata cards individually. There is always a risk with running RAID Stripe - you could lose it all - so backup frequently :)

Zygomorphic
12-11-2013, 09:19 PM
1TB Now available (Samsung EVO mSATA) :cool:
Sweet. :) That is awesome.

Oh, and those read/write speeds are awesome! My read benchmarks are 88.1 MB/s... :(

hmscott
12-12-2013, 11:36 AM
Sweet. :) That is awesome.

Oh, and those read/write speeds are awesome! My read benchmarks are 88.1 MB/s... :(

Zygomorphic, the 1TB drive in the G750JH seems dead slow compared to the SSD:

31000

What would be fun would be to get 2 512GB mSata drives on the RAID card and a 512GB SSD in the 2nd bay, and RAID all 3 into a 1.5TB partition, with 3 SATA port speeds combined :)

Someone please do that and come back and post the results!

Zygomorphic
12-13-2013, 01:04 AM
Zygomorphic, the 1TB drive in the G750JH seems dead slow compared to the SSD:

31000

What would be fun would be to get 2 512GB mSata drives on the RAID card and a 512GB SSD in the 2nd bay, and RAID all 3 into a 1.5TB partition, with 3 SATA port speeds combined :)

Someone please do that and come back and post the results!
Now you make me feel better. Thank you! :)

Winter.Wayne
04-27-2014, 04:47 PM
Does it mean that we are able to fit 2 HDD/SSD and 2 Msata all together ??

hmscott
04-27-2014, 09:19 PM
Does it mean that we are able to fit 2 HDD/SSD and 2 Msata all together ??

Winter.Wayne, it turns out that the Asus G750 RAID0 are built from NGFF M.2 format SSD's, not mSata - there are no mSATA slots in the G750's.

Here is a longer thread with some NGFF M.2 info:
http://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread.php?39905-G750JH-DB71-Who-has-replaced-the-M.2-drives-with-larger-drives&p=336034&viewfull=1#post336034

In the G750's with 2 NGFF M.2 drives, there is 1 2.5" bay, for a total of 3 drives + the Blu-ray SATA drive

The JZ now has a configuration that has 1 NGFF M.2 in a 2.5" adapter + 1 2.5" drive for a total of 2 drives + the Blu-ray SATA drive.

dblkk
04-30-2014, 11:12 PM
wondering if m.2 was a standard size? all m.2 ssd would fit in Asus then?

http://www.amazon.com/Crucial-512GB-Internal-Solid-CT512M550SSD4/dp/B00ITFZTHC/ref=sr_1_11?s=pc&ie=UTF8&qid=1398899482&sr=1-11&keywords=m.2+ssd

found crucial new 550 series in m.2. speeds are supposed to be equal to Samsung 840 evo. and they're available up to 512gb.

wondering if I could pick up 2 512gb of these to replace stock 128gb SanDisk.

and upon further digging, I've found that the given SanDisk ssd have decent read but poor write speeds, which explains why benchmarks show 1000mb read and only 500mb write when hooked up in raid 0

hmscott
04-30-2014, 11:49 PM
wondering if m.2 was a standard size? all m.2 ssd would fit in Asus then?

http://www.amazon.com/Crucial-512GB-Internal-Solid-CT512M550SSD4/dp/B00ITFZTHC/ref=sr_1_11?s=pc&ie=UTF8&qid=1398899482&sr=1-11&keywords=m.2+ssd

found crucial new 550 series in m.2. speeds are supposed to be equal to Samsung 840 evo. and they're available up to 512gb.

wondering if I could pick up 2 512gb of these to replace stock 128gb SanDisk.

and upon further digging, I've found that the given SanDisk ssd have decent read but poor write speeds, which explains why benchmarks show 1000mb read and only 500mb write when hooked up in raid 0

dblkk, can you post a link to the JS you ordered? None of the JS/JM's have M.2 NGFF RAID0 AFAIK...