PDA

View Full Version : Luxmark OpenCL problem.



DarkNido
12-14-2013, 08:32 PM
Luxmark OpenCL seems to not do anthing on my pc on the realbench 2.0b10_rc6
Other test work ok.
Luxmark OpenCL does open in background.
How long does Luxmark OpenCL run for to complete test.

PC specs.
asus P8Z68-V LE motherboard with latest bios update.
intel i5-2400 3.10GHz cpu
PNY PC3-10700 667MHz 4.00GB X2 ddr3 Ram.
OCZ agility3 80GB SSD
Nvidia GeForce GTX 550Ti
Windows 8.1 pro

I have all of the latest drivers installed.
I am using the multi gpu so I see both intel and nvidia in device manager.

Ambidexter
01-16-2014, 07:55 AM
It does something on mine....it dies! :D

I am overclocking at 4.6 + 2400 MHz memory. Prime 95 works for at least 30 mins. Realbench works OK, but sometime in the openCL test, Luxmark stops working.

Below are the details:
--------------------------------------------
Application error:
Faulting application name: LuxMark-x64.exe, version: 0.0.0.0, time stamp: 0x524968de
Faulting module name: MSVCR110.dll, version: 11.0.50727.1, time stamp: 0x5011a017
Exception code: 0xc0000409
Fault offset: 0x0000000000073904
Faulting process id: 0xfe0
Faulting application start time: 0x01cf128c5f2bc729
Faulting application path: d:\Users\Larry\Downloads\RealBench_v2.0b10_RC6_pub lic_beta\RealBench\luxmark\LuxMark-x64.exe
Faulting module path: C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\MSVCR110.dll
Report Id: dfd88742-7e7f-11e3-beb0-a0369f218d00
Faulting package full name:
Faulting package-relative application ID:
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Fault bucket -262032908, type 5
Event Name: BEX64
Response: Not available
Cab Id: 0

Problem signature:
P1: LuxMark-x64.exe
P2: 0.0.0.0
P3: 524968de
P4: MSVCR110.dll
P5: 11.0.50727.1
P6: 5011a017
P7: 0000000000073904
P8: c0000409
P9: 0000000000000007
P10:

Attached files:
C:\Users\Larry\AppData\Local\Temp\WER4700.tmp.WERI nternalMetadata.xml
C:\Users\Larry\AppData\Local\Temp\WER52A9.tmp.appc ompat.txt
memory.hdmp
C:\Users\Larry\AppData\Local\Temp\WER578E.tmp.WERD ataCollectionFailure.txt

These files may be available here:
C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Windows\WER\ReportArchive \AppCrash_LuxMark-x64.exe_619fbed9ad70406916fdb44afbc850665a2654_bb9 9fe57_0f6dd47a

Analysis symbol:
Rechecking for solution: 0
Report Id: dfd88742-7e7f-11e3-beb0-a0369f218d00
Report Status: 4104
Hashed bucket: 7ab43b0222daab9581b3e9eef03562f5
-----------------------
Report.wer file:

Version=1
EventType=BEX64
EventTime=130343309443123188
ReportType=2
Consent=1
UploadTime=130343309443503554
ReportIdentifier=dfd88743-7e7f-11e3-beb0-a0369f218d00
IntegratorReportIdentifier=dfd88742-7e7f-11e3-beb0-a0369f218d00
NsAppName=LuxMark-x64.exe
Response.BucketId=7ab43b0222daab9581b3e9eef03562f5
Response.BucketTable=5
Response.LegacyBucketId=-262032908
Response.type=4
Sig[0].Name=Application Name
Sig[0].Value=LuxMark-x64.exe
Sig[1].Name=Application Version
Sig[1].Value=0.0.0.0
Sig[2].Name=Application Timestamp
Sig[2].Value=524968de
Sig[3].Name=Fault Module Name
Sig[3].Value=MSVCR110.dll
Sig[4].Name=Fault Module Version
Sig[4].Value=11.0.50727.1
Sig[5].Name=Fault Module Timestamp
Sig[5].Value=5011a017
Sig[6].Name=Exception Offset
Sig[6].Value=0000000000073904
Sig[7].Name=Exception Code
Sig[7].Value=c0000409
Sig[8].Name=Exception Data
Sig[8].Value=0000000000000007
DynamicSig[1].Name=OS Version
DynamicSig[1].Value=6.3.9600.2.0.0.256.103
DynamicSig[2].Name=Locale ID
DynamicSig[2].Value=1033
DynamicSig[22].Name=Additional Information 1
DynamicSig[22].Value=ba52
DynamicSig[23].Name=Additional Information 2
DynamicSig[23].Value=ba5287db630ac798a90afa4bbe44b778
DynamicSig[24].Name=Additional Information 3
DynamicSig[24].Value=82ba
DynamicSig[25].Name=Additional Information 4
DynamicSig[25].Value=82ba4d20b937c2a559e09b4d8da6a5b1
UI[2]=d:\Users\Larry\Downloads\RealBench_v2.0b10_RC6_pu blic_beta\RealBench\luxmark\LuxMark-x64.exe
UI[3]=LuxMark-x64.exe has stopped working
UI[4]=Windows can check online for a solution to the problem.
UI[5]=Check online for a solution and close the program
UI[6]=Check online for a solution later and close the program
UI[7]=Close the program
LoadedModule[0]=d:\Users\Larry\Downloads\RealBench_v2.0b10_RC6_pu blic_beta\RealBench\luxmark\LuxMark-x64.exe
LoadedModule[1]=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\ntdll.dll
LoadedModule[2]=C:\WINDOWS\system32\KERNEL32.DLL
LoadedModule[3]=C:\WINDOWS\system32\KERNELBASE.dll
LoadedModule[4]=C:\WINDOWS\system32\apphelp.dll
LoadedModule[5]=D:\Users\Larry\Downloads\RealBench_v2.0b10_RC6_pu blic_beta\RealBench\Qt5Widgets.dll
LoadedModule[6]=D:\Users\Larry\Downloads\RealBench_v2.0b10_RC6_pu blic_beta\RealBench\Qt5Network.dll
LoadedModule[7]=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\OPENGL32.dll
LoadedModule[8]=d:\Users\Larry\Downloads\RealBench_v2.0b10_RC6_pu blic_beta\RealBench\luxmark\FreeImage.dll
LoadedModule[9]=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\OpenCL.dll
LoadedModule[10]=D:\Users\Larry\Downloads\RealBench_v2.0b10_RC6_pu blic_beta\RealBench\Qt5Gui.dll
LoadedModule[11]=D:\Users\Larry\Downloads\RealBench_v2.0b10_RC6_pu blic_beta\RealBench\Qt5Core.dll
LoadedModule[12]=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\MSVCP110.dll
LoadedModule[13]=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\MSVCR110.dll
LoadedModule[14]=C:\WINDOWS\system32\GDI32.dll
LoadedModule[15]=C:\WINDOWS\system32\USER32.dll
LoadedModule[16]=C:\WINDOWS\system32\SHELL32.dll
LoadedModule[17]=C:\WINDOWS\system32\WS2_32.dll
LoadedModule[18]=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\DNSAPI.dll
LoadedModule[19]=C:\WINDOWS\system32\ADVAPI32.dll
LoadedModule[20]=C:\WINDOWS\system32\CRYPT32.dll
LoadedModule[21]=C:\WINDOWS\system32\msvcrt.dll
LoadedModule[22]=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\GLU32.dll
LoadedModule[23]=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\DDRAW.dll
LoadedModule[24]=D:\Users\Larry\Downloads\RealBench_v2.0b10_RC6_pu blic_beta\RealBench\VCOMP110.DLL
LoadedModule[25]=C:\WINDOWS\system32\ole32.dll
LoadedModule[26]=D:\Users\Larry\Downloads\RealBench_v2.0b10_RC6_pu blic_beta\RealBench\icuin51.dll
LoadedModule[27]=D:\Users\Larry\Downloads\RealBench_v2.0b10_RC6_pu blic_beta\RealBench\icuuc51.dll
LoadedModule[28]=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\combase.dll
LoadedModule[29]=C:\WINDOWS\system32\SHLWAPI.dll
LoadedModule[30]=C:\WINDOWS\system32\NSI.dll
LoadedModule[31]=C:\WINDOWS\system32\RPCRT4.dll
LoadedModule[32]=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\sechost.dll
LoadedModule[33]=C:\WINDOWS\system32\MSASN1.dll
LoadedModule[34]=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\DCIMAN32.dll
LoadedModule[35]=D:\Users\Larry\Downloads\RealBench_v2.0b10_RC6_pu blic_beta\RealBench\icudt51.dll
LoadedModule[36]=C:\WINDOWS\system32\IMM32.DLL
LoadedModule[37]=C:\WINDOWS\system32\MSCTF.dll
LoadedModule[38]=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\CRYPTBASE.DLL
LoadedModule[39]=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\bcryptPrimitives.dll
LoadedModule[40]=D:\Users\Larry\Downloads\RealBench_v2.0b10_RC6_pu blic_beta\RealBench\luxmark\platforms\qwindows.dll
LoadedModule[41]=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\WINMM.dll
LoadedModule[42]=C:\WINDOWS\system32\OLEAUT32.dll
LoadedModule[43]=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\WINMMBASE.dll
LoadedModule[44]=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\cfgmgr32.dll
LoadedModule[45]=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\DEVOBJ.dll
LoadedModule[46]=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\kernel.appcore.dll
LoadedModule[47]=C:\WINDOWS\system32\uxtheme.dll
LoadedModule[48]=C:\WINDOWS\system32\dwmapi.dll
LoadedModule[49]=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\CRYPTSP.dll
LoadedModule[50]=C:\WINDOWS\system32\rsaenh.dll
LoadedModule[51]=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\bcrypt.dll
LoadedModule[52]=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\nvopencl.dll
LoadedModule[53]=C:\WINDOWS\system32\SETUPAPI.dll
LoadedModule[54]=C:\WINDOWS\system32\nvapi64.dll
LoadedModule[55]=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\VERSION.dll
LoadedModule[56]=C:\WINDOWS\system32\WINTRUST.dll
State[0].Key=Transport.DoneStage1
State[0].Value=1
FriendlyEventName=Stopped working
ConsentKey=BEX64
AppName=LuxMark-x64.exe
AppPath=d:\Users\Larry\Downloads\RealBench_v2.0b10 _RC6_public_beta\RealBench\luxmark\LuxMark-x64.exe
NsPartner=windows
NsGroup=windows8
ApplicationIdentity=2B0A4162A0E2B7B19B6765E547710A 8D
------------------

Please let me know if you can tell what the error was.


Thanks,

-Ambi

Nodens
01-16-2014, 01:31 PM
@DarNido: I you are using Virtu try to disable it. If you are not then there's something wrong with your drivers. The test needs 130secs. It may also be instability related.

@Ambidexter: Driver issue (driver itself or bad isntallation of driver) or instability. If this happens during the stress test only it could also be bad PSU.

Ambidexter
01-22-2014, 02:10 AM
Hi Nodens,

Thanks!

My issue is definitely an instability issue. What happens, the screen flash and the driver's recovery, looks exactly the same as when I run FurMark on my gtx770-dc2oc-2gd5 and GpuTweak too "aggressively", on the same machine. As I approach the point on GPUTweak/Furmark, the display shows some tearing, then the driver crash and recovery happens...there is no indication on the OpenGL window when it hits during RealBench. I don't get this with the benchmark mode, only the stress-test mode.

I'm exploring the boundaries of my OC'ing ability with this mobo/cpu/gpu, so I guess the OpenCL is having some borderline issue that, if the driver can't fix, it will crash. What I'd like to find out is what's the issue. I like that the whole OS doesn't BSOD, when it does, at other times, it's usually a 124 error. With this, when the GPU crashes, I can time it and then use AI Suite to tweak one voltage or setting, close and open RealBench, and try again. When I see which crashes less, or hopefully not at all, I'll be set. I occasionally put the current "best" setting in the UEFI and save it in one of the profiles.

I like these profiles in the UEFI, and the ones in AI Suite...it would be nice if I could write between them. I can write them both on the same USB drive, but they're different formats, I think.

So, in your experience, would a driver crash in the HAL with a WHEA_UNCORRECTABLE (0x124) error be caused by under- or over-volting? And would it be the CPU or the uncore (cache) that's got the problem? I can try auto settings for some of this, but my OC requirements work better manually, so far. It seems the 124 BSOD's are because of undervolting the CPU...so maybe the driver crashes are overvolting? BTW, on my FurMark tests, the driver crashes when I use GPUTweak to drive the memory to a higher speed that it likes.

I'll keep trying and let you all know, but for RealBench, I'd like it to notice that the driver's crashed, and stop the test. Sometimes I can't control the screen as the stress is still working and the "stop" button is hidden or minimized.

And DarNido, did you get any help with this?

Cheers,

-Ambi

P.S. For what it's worth, OpenGL crashes when I use 100 BCLK and 46 multi (4600 MHz), or a 125 strap and 36 multi (4500 MHz) I suspect I'll get it stable with the 125 strap after a while. But it's frustrating that AIDA64, prime95, etc. doesn't BSOD or crash me...just RealBench in stress mode! :-(


@DarNido: I you are using Virtu try to disable it. If you are not then there's something wrong with your drivers. The test needs 130secs. It may also be instability related.

@Ambidexter: Driver issue (driver itself or bad isntallation of driver) or instability. If this happens during the stress test only it could also be bad PSU.

Ambidexter
01-23-2014, 02:15 AM
I solved my crashing LuxMark issue!!! :cool: I can now RealBench the StressTest all day and everyhing without the driver crash. (I do still get a BSOD when trying 8G, but I'm still tweaking my settings, so I'll figure that out...it's just not the darn video driver crash!)

When we get a crash in LuxMark, and it's caused by an Nvidia driver crash where the video "recovers", this is because the driver for the card did not respond within the stock 2 second default time for the Nvidia drivers.

After reading the links below, I determined that TdrDelay was something I needed to add to my registry. Also, TdrLevel, when set to "0" will disable TDR on the card. So, if the card freezes, it will freeze hard. I didn't want that, I did want to avoid some crashes caused by hangs that may be < 10 seconds, but > 2 seconds. Feel free to tweak the setting by changing the "a" value to something less, if you want < 10 but greater than 2 seconds of delay. I rebooted after changing it, I don;t know if this is required, but just to make sure.

The following registry file can be merged in to accomplish this. Note: I left the line in for TdrLevel=0, remove this if you want the TDR to recover your card's graphics session.

I've not tried this yet, but I should be able to make this fail at will by overclocking my video card with GpuTweak...that's when I first saw this driver crash and recovery. BTW, I'm not clear if an update from Nvida/Asus for the graphics card will overwrite the TDR settings, so keep the .reg file around to merge back in if you need to.

Let me know if this work for anybody else.

Regards,

-Ambi

P.S. The interesting thing about this TDR is that when viewing where the tests used to get the driver crash, I see no delay...not a 8+ second delay and not even a 2 second delay. So it's possible it was queued data or something else, but it's not noticeable, AFAIK. Just like some benchmarks make the system laggy and some don't it seems the TdrDelay fix will allow us to overcome a lag in the video...at least for Nvidia. Have Fun!

================= Begin "Nvidia TDR Settings.reg" file ==========================
Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Contro l\GraphicsDrivers]
"TdrDelay"=dword:0000000a
"TdrLevel"=dword:00000000
================= End "Nvidia TDR Settings.reg" file ==========================

http://http.developer.nvidia.com/NsightVisualStudio/2.2/Documentation/UserGuide/HTML/Content/Timeout_Detection_Recovery.htm

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/2665946

http://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/forum/windows_8-hardware/display-driver-has-stopped-working-and-has/8e8d08de-1d95-4c9b-9aad-7ca32832d425

http://social.technet.microsoft.com/Forums/windows/en-US/77ca3fdd-c52c-4614-8817-d6d6c6c09225/that-old-display-driver-problem?forum=w8itprohardware

Nodens
01-23-2014, 04:38 AM
System instability is system instability. The driver crashes because the system is unstable. You should not do what you did. You should not mess with TDR settings at all. Those settings are there for us developers only and they're meant for debugging. By increasing the value above 2 seconds you are effectively risking huge data corruption. Either get your overclocking to a stable state or reduce the clocks. Messing with TDR is bad. Very bad.

The TDR mechanism was first introduced in Vista. Before that any video driver crash would create a Stop Error (BSOD). The system tries to recover and if it can't recover it will throw a Stop Error in order to protect your data. It is calibrated in a very specific way. By changing the timeout value you're shooting yourself on the foot.

Also this happens with RB stress test and not the others because RB's ST is way heavier than those and utilizes all the available subsystems.

Ambidexter
01-24-2014, 02:01 AM
Hi Nodens,

Thanks for the heads-up! I am certainly happy that the developers of the Nvidia drivers used TDR, as my Asus card will crash via TDR when I push FurMark too hard. As I said before, I prefer the driver crash type of error, vs. the BSOD reboot, rebould my RAID, etc. path! So, I'm glad it works in RB!

One thing FurMark does is notice when the driver crashes, and the bench that's in progress is terminated. That's not the case with RB, the stress still runs after the graphics card crashes. Perhaps it's hard for you to implement something like that, as there are two (or multiple) threads and not sufficient communication between them to tell a process dies? Maybe a way to disable the OpenCL part of the test, or a way to slow it down to the benchmark level would help for initial stability testing? Then we can incrementally see "how far away" we are from OK.

It is a nice thing to see a bench that was failing with the driver error, run after changing a voltage via AI Suite. So, I'll back out the TDR change, and see if there's some way to tell what to change when a driver crash happens.

When in GPUTweak, I can tell that incrementing memory speed or voltage, etc. is what the issue is and just dial it back...FurMark displays graphs of voltage, current, power, etc., I wish I could tell what parameter RB was having issues with. (I know, getting a stable rig - even at 3900 MHz and proceeding with one change at a time, until it starts to crash is the way to go). But most of my crashes are 124 BSODs which I take as "not enough voltage", and tweak the volts some more, and then see it continue. Do you think the crash is caused by a voltage or a timing issue when I get the driver recovery? It would be nice if RB could throw an error that states what happened other than the driver crash itself, perhaps from key fields of the windows message log or driver return code(s), or even sensor data (temps, fan RPM, voltages, current, card % of TDP, whatever you could measure or synthesize to help us when it crashes would be appreciated!

Thanks for all your work! I love this tool!

Cheers,

-Ambi





System instability is system instability. The driver crashes because the system is unstable. You should not do what you did. You should not mess with TDR settings at all. Those settings are there for us developers only and they're meant for debugging. By increasing the value above 2 seconds you are effectively risking huge data corruption. Either get your overclocking to a stable state or reduce the clocks. Messing with TDR is bad. Very bad.

The TDR mechanism was first introduced in Vista. Before that any video driver crash would create a Stop Error (BSOD). The system tries to recover and if it can't recover it will throw a Stop Error in order to protect your data. It is calibrated in a very specific way. By changing the timeout value you're shooting yourself on the foot.

Also this happens with RB stress test and not the others because RB's ST is way heavier than those and utilizes all the available subsystems.

Ambidexter
01-24-2014, 04:18 AM
Hi Nodens,

My M6F has a ROG_EXT and ROG Connect port. Can I use either of these to check for instability? When something is unstable, how does it manifest, other than rebooting your PC? Do you see voltage droop before a BSOD if it's low? Do you see extra heat or wattage being spent if a voltage is too high, etc.?

Thanks,

-Ambi

Nodens
01-24-2014, 02:44 PM
You are comparing a driver crash with a system wide crash when you should not. The first happens when there's something wrong with the driver or the hardware and the second happens in order to protect your data. Without it you would reinstall Windows several times per month. A system wide crash (Stop Error AKA BSOD) can happen because of a variety of reasons. One of which is a driver crash from which the system can not recover. In video driver's case, one of the methods of detecting this is the TDR mechanism.

Furmark detects the driver crashing because it is actively and directly using the video card, through the GFX API and video driver. RB uses Luxmark which uses the video card and in a different way (OpenCL libraries and driver). You can not compare them as the design is entirely different. Inter-thread communication is irrelevant. I do not think you understand these things properly.
For initial stability testing you can use the plain benchmark mode. Disabling any component of the ST mode would render the ST useless as the point is to load everything at the same time.


The only way to troubleshoot overclocking is making one change at a time and test. There is no magic way of knowing anything. The Stop Errors just shows you specific stuff related to the OS and how it failed. It's true purpose is troubleshooting OS issues and not overclocking ones. How that translates into platform parameters can only be seen through experience and careful testing and again there's no real recipe to follow (Eg 124 can be caused by any condition that throws the CPU off and that includes a variety of voltages/parameters).

ROG_EXP port is for the OC Panel. And the ROG Connect port is for ROG connect. They are not for troubleshooting stability. Actually nothing is. There is no tool for what you are asking.

Bags333
04-27-2014, 08:32 AM
I overclocked my CPU and thought this was the cause of Luxmark crashing, but it stops working for me during RealBench stress test at stock

MB: ASUS Z87 Sabertooth
CPU: Intel i7 4770k 3.5GHz
RAM: Corsair 32G 1600Mhz
GPU: EVGA Geforce GTX 780 Ti
OS: Windows 8.1 pro

My drivers have all been updated

Any help appreciated

WeelyTM
05-23-2014, 07:22 AM
Same as you Bags333... find any solid steps to fix this? RealBench was giving me 'instability detected' after using the auto-optimized-overclock thing in AI Suite 3, and got a handful of 124 BSODs (once running Starcraft 2, of all things, a few others running Prime95 et all). Temps never exceeded 70s, voltages were left adaptive but seemed stable enough in HWMonitor. Anyway, removed all of the OC settings, loaded optimized defaults in BIOS, and changed only mem setting to XMP. Now, I somehow pass the stress test, but Luxmark always crashes with the same event info as OP. Drivers and Windows all up-to-date. Any ideas?

MB: ASUS MAXIMUS VI Hero
CPU: Intel i7 4770k 3.5GHz
RAM: G.Skill Ripjaws X Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) 2133MHz
GPU: EVGA Geforce GTX 780 Ti
OS: Windows 8.1 x64 Enterprise
http://pcpartpicker.com/p/3pg8b

Alaxang
05-23-2014, 02:38 PM
BSOD 124 I think you need more vcore. if you set all to optimized default and running xmp profile. I believe you can up your Vccsa with step increment of 0.02v per increase and see if luxmark still crash after every increase.
For my case. luxmark.exe stop crashing after I slowly up my vccsa from 0.9v to 1.05v.

WeelyTM
05-26-2014, 02:17 AM
BSOD 124 I think you need more vcore. if you set all to optimized default and running xmp profile. I believe you can up your Vccsa with step increment of 0.02v per increase and see if luxmark still crash after every increase.
For my case. luxmark.exe stop crashing after I slowly up my vccsa from 0.9v to 1.05v.
Thanks, that seems to have helped. It now seems stable enough at 4.2, upping the Vccsa a bit and the CPU analog I/O voltage offset a bit as well. Didn't know those could help stability when using memory over 1866 until now :)

Alaxang
05-26-2014, 06:02 AM
Cause default ram speed is 1333mhz. Anything frequency above that is consider overclocking. even the same model of ram at 1866mhz may have different tolerance . some may work well at say 1.00v , some may need a bit more juice at 1.05v VCCSA/VTT , other factors like CPU speed also plays a part. you can only find stability by running stress test and tunning these voltages(Vcore, VTT, VCCSA, etc)

WeelyTM
05-27-2014, 03:47 AM
Cause default ram speed is 1333mhz. Anything frequency above that is consider overclocking. even the same model of ram at 1866mhz may have different tolerance . some may work well at say 1.00v , some may need a bit more juice at 1.05v VCCSA/VTT , other factors like CPU speed also plays a part. you can only find stability by running stress test and tunning these voltages(Vcore, VTT, VCCSA, etc)
Hmm, so luxmark doesn't crash anymore, but I'm still getting the occasional 124 BSOD when playing Starcraft. Upped the VCCSA and IO A voltage some more, which seems to be extending the time I remain stable... or it could be a coincidence/placebo effect and the BSOD timing is just random and happens to have occurred further out each time. Know of a program that will log current voltages/temps every few seconds to disk? Guessing at which is the culprit really blows, and of course windows error reports can't be bothered to log that info.
Still at 4.2ghz, VCore is adaptive 1.2V, highest spike I saw running realbench was 1.264. Maybe I should try manual at 1.264, see if it stays stable there? DRAM is set to 1.6 but is showing 1.611 to 1.614, maybe that requires even more VCCSA? I don't know what a safe max on those is. Its hanging at around 0.888 with my offset of 0.03, I'll try upping it toward 1.05V like you mentioned. What speed/voltage is your ram running, if you don't mind me asking?

Alaxang
05-27-2014, 09:03 AM
wait wait, do not raise VTT or VCCSA anyhow lol. if you have raised VCCSA and VTT up to the point where your luxmark not crashing anymore. hold on to that voltage. BSOD 124 is an indication that you may need more vcore . You can try to go for manual vcore voltage from 1.26 and run some stress test. if you encounter bsod 124 again , up the vcore by 0.02 to 1.28 and see if it help. once you have found the stable vcore voltage for your rig, then you can proceed to use offset mode to reach the desire vcore.

I am running XMP profile for my ram at 1866mhz 1.5V

I am not an expert in OC-ing, these are just my experiences and observation which I had during my oc of the rig.

You should read up on Raja overclocking guides for more in depth detail. but basically the main voltages to play around are vcore/vtt/vccsa . there is a relationship between the 3 voltages which you have to understand.

rosefire
07-02-2014, 01:52 AM
I get this same error running at un-OC optimized settings on my RIVBE+4930+Geforce 760. Here is the event log entry:

Faulting application name: LuxMark-x64.exe, version: 0.0.0.0, time stamp: 0x53231270
Faulting module name: MSVCR110.dll, version: 11.0.50727.1, time stamp: 0x5011a017
Exception code: 0xc0000409
Fault offset: 0x0000000000073904
Faulting process id: 0x1eb0
Faulting application start time: 0x01cf965b9e6afbaa
Faulting application path: D:\Downloads\RealBench_v2.2\luxmark\LuxMark-x64.exe
Faulting module path: C:\Windows\SYSTEM32\MSVCR110.dll
Report Id: 55c2938a-0251-11e4-8328-e03f496f5166
Faulting package full name:
Faulting package-relative application ID

If it is instability related it must be a MB, processor, or graphics card defect because I'm not overclocking, but I suspect it is either a windows or driver problem as my rig developed this problem recently when overlocking. The problem did not go away when I backed out the overclocked settings. It occurs a bit over one hour into RealBench as if it is deterministic (e.g. some type of overflow or underflow). Ambitexter's solution is starting to look attractive, despite the nay-saying (provided it works). I may try it tomorrow.

rosefire
07-02-2014, 12:33 PM
I tried Ambidexter's registry settings For the record, they didn't work on my system.

Praz
07-02-2014, 12:45 PM
I suspect it is either a windows or driver problem as my rig developed this problem recently when overlocking. The problem did not go away when I backed out the overclocked settings.
Hello

This indicates it is time for a fresh install of the operating system.

rosefire
07-03-2014, 05:19 PM
Praz, we think alike.
Last night I reinstalled windows 8.1 and all its DOS-like productive-crippling flat-looking non-intuitive ugly 2D full-screen only programs on a formatted drive then installed the ASUS and GeForce graphics drivers. Luxmark crashed just the same at some point in the night.

Based on an event log "unexpected error" and Google findings of the associated code, my newest theory is that one of my drives is causing a disk driver deadlock. When I was home for lunch I disconnected the other drives and started RealBench again. If this fails, I'll install Windows 7 tonight to see if the problem is resolved or I get more information. Windows 7 is a far more usable desktop OS anyway.

I should mention again that I'm not overclocking, so this may be a different problem from the one others are seeing, but perhaps not.

rosefire
07-05-2014, 02:28 PM
Nope, luxmark.2.2 crashes after a while on my system with a fresh windows 8 install with minimal hardware and no overclocking. About all that's left to blame is the GeForce 760 and driver software, assuming this isn't a windows 8.1 bug.
I'll try an older graphics card, I suppose.

CrisInuyasha
04-04-2015, 03:03 AM
I'm sorry to reply an old thread, but I had the same problem of luxmark crashing here. For some days I tried to troubleshoot the problem, and I discovered that if the stress test was run with hfinfo64 closed (I was using the program to monitor my system temps), the test would run ok and pass with no problems (no ocasional screen freezes anymore on any cuda/opencl intensive apps while running hfinfo64). Try closing all the programs to see if the problem still persists (here I tried gpu-z to monitor gpu temps and coretemp to monitor cpu temps, and they didn't cause any problem with realbench stress test).

Edit: disabling the monitoring of my gpus inside hfinfo64 also solved the problem.

latinott@yahoo.com
11-05-2016, 10:54 PM
Guys the problem is not that the system is no stable is your luxmark software and windows 10... because i try it at stock and still get luxmark error and my system pass all other stress software for 10 hr prim95 aida intel stress utility cct etc ...is a problem with luxmark and windows 10 because if i try real bench on windows 7 it passes stress test + lumark no problem for 10 hrs stock and overclock as well but in windows 10 luxmark fails after seconds ..i also try to change compatibility to windows 7 using win10 on both luxmark and real bench and nothing ...
both windows with same video drivers ..i was braking my head for 3 days thinkin it was my overclock and it was your software..

Arne Saknussemm
11-06-2016, 07:19 AM
I'm on windows 10 and have no problem so...

Clean install Graphics driver after using DDU

Paolinni
12-20-2016, 03:22 AM
I'm on windows 10 and have no problem so...

Clean install Graphics driver after using DDU

Getting luxmark crash on stock settings as well. I will try this.

Paolinni
12-20-2016, 04:58 AM
DDU and clean nvidia drivers seemed to fix it.

Ran RB stress test 15min by itself and another run with AIDA64 for monitoring. Both successful.

Thanks!