PDA

View Full Version : G75 Flickering/pulsing at specific shades of grey? What is the problem?



ichigo1000
12-23-2013, 08:59 AM
This screenshot only flickers when you click on the image to zoom in. When i am playing the game, the flickering is really noticable. Please click on the image once to zoom in to see the flicker (if you have it):
http://img163.imageshack.us/img163/8481/0fi8.jpg

Pitcher@asus
12-24-2013, 03:27 AM
sorry, i can not see any flicker? can you mark it? are you install new driver?

ichigo1000
12-25-2013, 01:16 AM
Does new driver help? I installed new nvidia drivers, but performance was really bad so i rollbacked.
By the way, how do i make it so when i get responces, it will email me?

B07EV
09-01-2015, 02:09 AM
Does new driver help? I installed new nvidia drivers, but performance was really bad so i rollbacked.
By the way, how do i make it so when i get responces, it will email me?

Hey, so i just got the ROG G551JM and it does flicker just like you described it on my Photoshop grey background. Not on the posted image though. My previous laptop I've been having for 8 years had only one issue and that would be the same flickering, which i changed the display with the warranty and it stopped. I wonder what's the issue...

brndwn
09-01-2015, 07:43 PM
Hey, so i just got the ROG G551JM and it does flicker just like you described it on my Photoshop grey background. Not on the posted image though. My previous laptop I've been having for 8 years had only one issue and that would be the same flickering, which i changed the display with the warranty and it stopped. I wonder what's the issue...

Hey! This is a thread from 2013, those people are unlikely to ever see your post.

I will say, though, that on some display panels "overclocking" the 60Hz display to 67Hz or 91Hz reduces the problem. This is done by creating an nVidia custom resolution. I'd advise you not to do it if you care for your warranty.

Though, I'd be careful with it even if you didn't. My own G75VW's panel has run at 91Hz for years without any issues (a blurbusters camera test confirms it doesn't skip frames), it might well do damage. If you're going to try it, you've got to advance a few Hz at a time to see how long the display stays stable, just like when overcloking any other hardware.

There's no proper fix.