PDA

View Full Version : OC with fx 8350 and asus Formula V Z



harvydent
12-24-2013, 12:18 AM
hello guys and first of all, sorry for my english, i am from argentina. And my partners/friends cant clear my doubts
i want to oc my fx 8350 to 4,5 and i have it but my problem is temperature and voltajes ejejejeje
with prime95 70C fullLoad stable
idle: 40
my case is: thermaltake level 10 gt
PSU: real power pro 750 w ( i have conected to my motherboard 8 pins only from PSU to motherboard )
mems: 1600mhz gskill ddr3 8GB.
my multi in bios is 22.5, vcore 1.41
CPU LOAD LINE CALIBRATION : HIGH
cool and quit, c1, c6 off
CPU cooler: Coolermaster V8
what is my problem guys? can helpme please!?

HiVizMan
12-24-2013, 09:56 AM
Please fit both the 8 pin and the 4 pin if you want to OC that CPU.

harvydent
12-24-2013, 05:33 PM
Thanks HiVizMan i will do it i didnt know thanks

HiVizMan
12-24-2013, 06:01 PM
All good mate you do not want to hurt your CPU and the board.

harvydent
12-25-2013, 02:29 AM
All good mate you do not want to hurt your CPU and the board.
thnaks againt, but i have a question, the 4 pin conector
Have anything to do with temperature?

ganji
12-25-2013, 07:16 AM
thnaks againt, but i have a question, the 4 pin conector
Have anything to do with temperature?

The extra 4 pin is for extra power to the cpu, without that connected the cpu will draw too much from the 8pin alone and can damage your motherboard. The 8350 is a hungry chip when oc'd :)

Take a look here http://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread.php?34774-Advise-for-FX-9590-9370-(Centurian)-users-on-C5F-Z-Sabertooth-990FX-R2.0

This is what could happen if you don't have both connectors plugged in http://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread.php?27942-Can-someone-PLEASE-explain-to-me-why-my-Crosshair-V-Forumla-Z-catches-on-FIRE!&country=&status=

harvydent
12-25-2013, 01:44 PM
The extra 4 pin is for extra power to the cpu, without that connected the cpu will draw too much from the 8pin alone and can damage your motherboard. The 8350 is a hungry chip when oc'd :)

Take a look here http://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread.php?34774-Advise-for-FX-9590-9370-(Centurian)-users-on-C5F-Z-Sabertooth-990FX-R2.0

This is what could happen if you don't have both connectors plugged in http://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread.php?27942-Can-someone-PLEASE-explain-to-me-why-my-Crosshair-V-Forumla-Z-catches-on-FIRE!&country=&status=

o my good,!! thanks, with a vcoe 1,51 obiusly can damege your hardware but with a vcore 1,41 too?
i have all ready installed but my temperaturo dont help
thankls again!

HiVizMan
12-25-2013, 01:58 PM
If your cooling is up to the job then 1.500 is just fine.

harvydent
12-28-2013, 01:27 AM
hello guys again, i have allready installed the 4 pin conector to my motherboard and the 8 pin conector to.
i have installed a water cooler performer thermaltake 3.0.
1) anyone knows what is the voltage limit to AMD FX8350?
2) anyone knows what is the limit temperature for the same processor?
3) anyone knows how i reduce the RPM of my 2 coolers of radiator? i have 24/7 2000rpm and is very noise
thnaks and regards

chrsplmr
12-28-2013, 02:39 AM
HarveyDent .. Please Excuse my Manners for not saying so before .. Welcome to ROG.

1. 1.5 puts you in the Red on the V. Just watch you temps. Make sure you only have one
temp meter running at a time. I like HWMonitor, but in extreme OC'n it is a resource hog.

2. Some say 70. My V defaults @ 90. I have had the board shut down from that temp.
[OC'n .. not 24/7.. lol] If your system overheats and shuts down then the cooling system
is simply inadequate or your overclock is to high for the rest of your system to handle.

3.What are your temps. ? Is there reason for them to be that high ? What is the ambient
temp. of the room ? Maybe they need to scream. 0r .. you need more fans ??? maybe.

First thing. Download>> HWMonitor (http://www.cpuid.com/downloads/hwmonitor/1.24-setup.exe) . .. .c.

HiVizMan
12-28-2013, 09:59 AM
hwmonitor if you use the free standing app and not the installed version uses very few resources.

harvydent
12-28-2013, 01:28 PM
HarveyDent .. Please Excuse my Manners for not saying so before .. Welcome to ROG.

1. 1.5 puts you in the Red on the V. Just watch you temps. Make sure you only have one
temp meter running at a time. I like HWMonitor, but in extreme OC'n it is a resource hog.

2. Some say 70. My V defaults @ 90. I have had the board shut down from that temp.
[OC'n .. not 24/7.. lol] If your system overheats and shuts down then the cooling system
is simply inadequate or your overclock is to high for the rest of your system to handle.

3.What are your temps. ? Is there reason for them to be that high ? What is the ambient
temp. of the room ? Maybe they need to scream. 0r .. you need more fans ??? maybe.

First thing. Download>> HWMonitor (http://www.cpuid.com/downloads/hwmonitor/1.24-setup.exe) . .. .c.

hello chrsplmr, thanks to you and all the collage of the forum.
my ambient temp is 27/30 is summer in argentina. but in stock frecuency and bios stock to the rpm of my water cooler is 2000 i use SpeedFan to reduce the RPM but whe i restar the computer again 2000rpm. with coolermaster v8 in the same situation the speed of cooler is reduced by bios 1000 rpm aprox, i dont know what is the problem in water cooler rpm.
i have thermaltake level 10 gt with 4 fans stock at 1000rpm ( no noise at all )
anyway this is for other forum or thred i think, my dubt was cleared.
here my capture
3166131662

thanks partner

harvydent
12-28-2013, 03:12 PM
guys another questions, this temps are normal?
4,5ghz vcore 1,40v = almost 68c 70c
bios settings

http://imagizer.imageshack.us/v2/xq90/440/v8q4.jpg (https://imageshack.com/i/c8v8q4j)
http://imagizer.imageshack.us/v2/xq90/546/peye.jpg (https://imageshack.com/i/f6peyej)
http://imagizer.imageshack.us/v2/xq90/9/7upp.jpg (https://imageshack.com/i/097uppj)
http://imagizer.imageshack.us/v2/xq90/707/t5kh.jpg (https://imageshack.com/i/jnt5khj)
http://imagizer.imageshack.us/v2/xq90/547/u5a8.jpg (https://imageshack.com/i/f7u5a8j)
http://imagizer.imageshack.us/v2/xq90/716/piug.jpg (https://imageshack.com/i/jwpiugj)

harvydent
12-30-2013, 05:16 PM
guys anybody can tell me if my oc is ok or not?
i change this settings to and i think my temperature is ok right now, this is possible?
the change are.

CPU load line = Ultra High
CPU Current Capability 130%
CPU power phase = extreme
CPU power switching frequency = ultra fast
CPU power duty control = extreme
VRM spectrum = enable
cpu/nb load line calibration = High
cpu/nb current capabiliity = 110%
cpu/nb power response = ultra fast

this is fine? or not

HiVizMan
01-02-2014, 02:36 PM
I see no reason to have ultra high for 24/7 use.

If you are benching then I could understand.

harvydent
01-03-2014, 12:45 PM
I see no reason to have ultra high for 24/7 use.

If you are benching then I could understand.

ok i wiill change it.
but my question is, there no problem to break something, i meen is not dangerous?,

HiVizMan
01-03-2014, 12:53 PM
It is way to much for 24/7 you do not need it at Ultra. But you will not have broken anything.

harvydent
01-03-2014, 11:52 PM
It is way to much for 24/7 you do not need it at Ultra. But you will not have broken anything.
ok thanks a lot, i can rest ejeje
but im thinking I can not cool down my processor i think is to high with a vcore 1,39 4,5ghz in test1 of prime95 55C
How could I lower the temperature of my processor?
i have watercooler, thermaltake water 3.0 performer is the exact model,
can you help me? or anybody?
in test 4 prime95 i have 68C (here right now the ambient temperature in my house is 25C) is too much, i dont like it.
please anybody?

HiVizMan
01-04-2014, 12:00 AM
Please understand one very important thing, you will never use your CPU in the real world like Prime does. I do not even use Prime as a stability test any more, well not since LGA 775 days. The reason is quite simple, it does not reflect real world use, so what does running prime prove to me? Only that I can run prime, so now I use real world stuff to test my systems. I do use prime as a heat generator to test my cooling. But that is all. Now 24/7 your system will be just peachy temp wise.

harvydent
01-04-2014, 01:42 AM
Please understand one very important thing, you will never use your CPU in the real world like Prime does. I do not even use Prime as a stability test any more, well not since LGA 775 days. The reason is quite simple, it does not reflect real world use, so what does running prime prove to me? Only that I can run prime, so now I use real world stuff to test my systems. I do use prime as a heat generator to test my cooling. But that is all. Now 24/7 your system will be just peachy temp wise.

ohh ok, i understand,
yes idle temp are 39/40c
in game aprox 55/58C

thanks and sorry dude,

with intel burn test, to prove stability how much test i have run? 4, 10?

HiVizMan
01-04-2014, 10:41 AM
Zero, either your system can do the things you bought it to do or it can not. Play the games you bought the system for, use the applications your system was bought to use.

Those tests only tell you that your system could pass those tests they do not tell you anything more.

But run what ever you need to rum my friend it is your system after all. If you need to have some third party application tell you that your system is able to pass that third party application before you are happy then go for it. :)

harvydent
01-04-2014, 03:06 PM
Zero, either your system can do the things you bought it to do or it can not. Play the games you bought the system for, use the applications your system was bought to use.

Those tests only tell you that your system could pass those tests they do not tell you anything more.

But run what ever you need to rum my friend it is your system after all. If you need to have some third party application tell you that your system is able to pass that third party application before you are happy then go for it. :)

ok but my question was how many times i must run intelburntes to know estability

HiVizMan
01-04-2014, 04:38 PM
And I have answered. Zero times.