PDA

View Full Version : HDMI Audio problems



mstcobra
09-13-2011, 04:11 PM
Hi everyone. I have a g73jh and I recently received a LG 32" Full HD flat panel as a gift. I don't always have the TV plugged in, I just plug it in to watch movies from my external HDD.

The problem I am experiencing is that normally when I plug the TV in my audio also switches over to the TV (I want that) however there are times when I connect the TV my audio continues coming out of the laptop. When I open the Sound options in the control panel it shows the HDMI Audio Out as disconnected. The only way to show it as connected and to make it work right is to restart the computer. The TV is new, the HDMI cable is new and the laptop is relatively new and completely dust free. I am using the Realtek HD Audio 2.65 audio driver downloaded from Guru3D.

I doubt this is a hardware problem since a restart always resolves it. Can this be a driver bug or something others are experiencing with the g73jh?

Also on the same note I have always found this confusing. Which is better to use the ATI HDMI Audio driver or the realtek?

xeromist
09-13-2011, 05:30 PM
Sounds like a driver bug. Also, does it matter whether audio is already playing? I'm wondering if that may be causing some of your problem in switching outputs.

Chastity@ASUS
09-13-2011, 05:45 PM
Pullout the HDMI cable, wait 3 secs, and plug it back in.

Cyrekk
09-13-2011, 06:43 PM
The ATI HDMI audio driver is the one you are using when you push audio through HDMI, the Realtek one is for your other audio jacks on your laptop. The last time I checked there was a major sound issue with the ATI HDMI audio driver where if you muted the device in Windows, it would remain permanently muted until a restart occurred (or if your lucky, unplugging and replugging the HDMI cable). Is it possible that this is related to your problem?

mstcobra
09-13-2011, 10:18 PM
Sounds like a driver bug. Also, does it matter whether audio is already playing? I'm wondering if that may be causing some of your problem in switching outputs.
Seems to have no effect.



Pullout the HDMI cable, wait 3 secs, and plug it back in.
Also has no effect.



The ATI HDMI audio driver is the one you are using when you push audio through HDMI, the Realtek one is for your other audio jacks on your laptop. The last time I checked there was a major sound issue with the ATI HDMI audio driver where if you muted the device in Windows, it would remain permanently muted until a restart occurred (or if your lucky, unplugging and replugging the HDMI cable). Is it possible that this is related to your problem?
I understand which driver does what, what I don't fully understand is what driver is best to use ATI HDMI or realtek HDMI or are they both the same. I had thought about what you said about how muting could be my problem and tested it and the problem occurred once again on a time when I know nothing was muted since my last restart.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Does anyone have a link for the latest HDMI Audio driver? And any recommendations as to what driver is the best ATI or Realtek and version?

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

To avoid spamming the forum by creating another audio related thread I gotta ask. The only controls on my Volume Panel that work are the volume controls. The other things like EAX Effects, CMSS - 3D and the Graphic Equalizer seem to have no effect. I have already reinstalled my audio driver and the whole creative package once and have tried the Windows 7 fix and the problem is still there. (the windows 7 fix was downloaded from another forum, I would have preferred to use Chastity's but her server is down. So I am not sure if it's the same fix or not) Any ideas?

Thanks for the replies guys & gals :)

Chastity@ASUS
09-13-2011, 10:23 PM
In the past I've had good results with the Realtek HDMI driver.

mstcobra
09-14-2011, 09:59 PM
I installed the Realtek HDMI driver v2.64 from the Realtek website and so far the problem seems to be resolved.

Thanks for the help everyone. I will report back if anything changes.

colklink
09-15-2011, 04:40 PM
just an fyi i had the same issues me and my wife would watch movies on our hd via the g73 it is important to note that newer catalyst will fix this but you still need to flash your vbios