PDA

View Full Version : g750jh video card and post sound



RogStark
01-04-2014, 06:05 PM
Hy everyone,
I bought last week an Asus g750 jh, and i wonder if can anyone give me a little help.
First, when i power on my laptop, the post sound from bios is enabled, the volume is 8, and there is no post sound.
I have an older Asus, and on that one, the post sound plays. Can this be a faulty motherboard, or something else?
And the second question, after the screen with logo, and the one with checking the drives, for a second or two, it appers a black screen, but in the top of the screen, there are some red dots or something like that.Is this normal?!

Thank you!

hmscott
01-05-2014, 12:12 AM
Hy everyone,
I bought last week an Asus g750 jh, and i wonder if can anyone give me a little help.
First, when i power on my laptop, the post sound from bios is enabled, the volume is 8, and there is no post sound.
I have an older Asus, and on that one, the post sound plays. Can this be a faulty motherboard, or something else?
And the second question, after the screen with logo, and the one with checking the drives, for a second or two, it appers a black screen, but in the top of the screen, there are some red dots or something like that.Is this normal?!
Thank you!

There isn't a BIOS setting for a start up sound. There is a Windows Startup Sound setting in Windows, which makes the Welcome to Windows type sound/music after booting to the login screen. Is that what you are talking about? I always disable it, but just turned it on and rebooted to make sure it still worked, and it did :)

Windows Startup Sound Disabled
31972

The red dots, can you take a video/photo?

I haven't noticed any video artifacts showing up during boot on my G750JH, it is typical to see some screen syncing going between VGA and higher resolution during boot up, so it might be that.

RogStark
01-05-2014, 01:52 AM
31975
31976

RogStark
01-05-2014, 02:08 AM
In the first image is the post sound in the bios. On that setting it shoud play a sound, after the rog logo, but before boot up. The windows startup sound is something else. And i'm sure that it has to play a sound, because i have another asus notebook with the same setiings and it plays the post sound. post comes from "power-on self-test" which means that when you power up the pc, it's making a quick test of the components. The beeps are different according with the errors found, but there have to be a specific beep when everything is ok(when enabled)

In the second image are the artifacts before the windows boot-up screen.

Thanks for the response!

wrangler
01-05-2014, 02:21 AM
My JX has BIOS 208 and does not beep during POST. My BIOS setup does not show choices "POST logo type", "Play POST Sound", and "Speaker Volume". I didn't see any mention of beep codes in the section of my eManual about POST.

I'm wondering if these machines just don't beep, and you have an older BIOS with POST options that don't apply to these machines.

RogStark
01-05-2014, 02:27 AM
The jx has a different bios. Actually there are two models of the jh- the the jh and the jha, and i tried to flash a new bios, but it says it's up to date for the v 203(this is the newest version for jha). But what about the artifacts? Do you have any artifacts on startup screen?

Thanks!

wrangler
01-05-2014, 02:31 AM
I understand that the JH has a different BIOS. I was just guessing that even though some 750s may have shipped with those POST options listed in BIOS, the hardware may not actually have those options. And later BIOS versions might then have deleted those options.

I do not have anything like what you show on your screen. I have the AUO non-3D screen.

hmscott
01-05-2014, 03:46 AM
RogStark, the BIOS is different than I saw on my JW/JX, or my current JH - can you show a screen shot of the first page of the BIOS, like this:

31978

The same as the other BIOS's on the JW/JX, my JH doesn't have those settings:

31977

The lights across the top are well defined? Do they all come on at once, or 1 at a time?

Did you enter a control sequence once in the BIOS to enable debug mode, or to show hidden BIOS options? :)

RogStark
01-05-2014, 04:04 AM
No, i didn't entered a control sequence. I will come back later with the screen shots that you requested. As for the red artifacts, they appears just right before the windows boot screen and it last for a half a second ,max a second,and is a static image. Thank you!

hmscott
01-05-2014, 04:10 AM
No, i didn't entered a control sequence. I will come back later with the screen shots that you requested. As for the red artifacts, they appears just right before the windows boot screen and it last for a half a second ,max a second,and is a static image. Thank you!

I thought it might be a progressive indication of elements in the boot sequence, I have seen that before as a non-audible indicator.

If you aren't getting any bad video during normal operation, then I wouldn't worry about it.

I have the JHA 203 BIOS too, and I am not seeing this. Perhaps you got an interim version? I would re-download the BIOS from Asus and use Winflash with the /nodate option to allow installing the same BIOS over itself. Then set Defaults and Save and restart - let us know if your symptoms are gone.

RogStark
01-05-2014, 09:47 AM
I've attached the requested screen shots. Seems like we have the same bios. But why the differences i'm wondering!31980

hmscott
01-05-2014, 11:42 AM
I've attached the requested screen shots. Seems like we have the same bios. But why the differences i'm wondering!31980

RogStark, wild, it is like we have laptops from alternate universes :)

The Serial numbers have a different prefix, which is odd for being the same model... My model number is G750JH-DB71, bought in the US about a month ago... it is the Assassin's Creed model.

RogStark
01-05-2014, 12:12 PM
Yes, that is very strange. Hmm, i'm froum Europe, but next month i plan to go to Japan. I regret know, that i didn't wait to buy it from there.:(..I really don't know if that artifacts are a problem or are normal. But i will go to the store and i think i will replace it, since nobody seems to experience this problm. I had in the past nvidia graphics with the almost same artifacts but worked just fine for years.Of course those graphics where 100-150 dollars, so for that is acceptable, it's not a huge ammount, but when you pay almost 3000 dollars, there are some great expectations. Thanks again for the replyes!

wrangler
01-06-2014, 12:28 AM
RogStark, I see that you have version 2.15.1236 of the Aptio Setup Utility. I have the same version, but my screen looks like hmscott's. Quite curious.

RogStark
01-06-2014, 02:29 PM
Please tell me, from where did you bought yours? Maybe is't different because i'm from Europe, he bought his from Us , and am curious about yours. Maybe are different because of the continents..i don't know..Thanks!

wrangler
01-07-2014, 01:59 AM
I bought mine in the U.S.

RogStark
01-07-2014, 10:26 AM
That's explain it, i think. Thank you!

eddieboy912
11-29-2014, 04:24 AM
the second screen with the red borders has something to do with the csm I believe. My system was doing the same thing. Windows 8 had no problems, but when I did the settings and brought it down to 7 the second screen started happening to me too.