PDA

View Full Version : G75vx RAM



TotalONE
01-09-2014, 03:11 AM
Hey guys, I just want to know what is the max band with of ram I can put in all 4 slots of my G75vx. It currently has 8 gigs in slots 2 & 4.
32111

Clintlgm
01-09-2014, 03:53 AM
I think 4 8GB = 32 GB you'll likely void your warranty changing the 2 modules under the keyboard! If your running a bunch of VM's it might be worthwhile? otherwise you could put in 2 8GB for 24 GB total and not void your warranty. Just match the timings and voltages if you only add 2 modules

Pitcher@asus
01-09-2014, 05:19 AM
DDR3 1600 MHz SDRAM, 4 x SO-DIMM socket for expansion up to 32 GB SDRAM for spec.

TotalONE
01-15-2014, 02:35 AM
Thank you, what voltage do I have now though? Im a little confused how to read this graphs.

rewben
01-16-2014, 10:16 AM
1.5V. from the images at the top, the last row of info labelled voltage.

TotalONE
01-18-2014, 01:43 AM
will this model accept 1600 mhz?
how can I tell how many mhz this 2 sticks i have in now?

Zygomorphic
01-18-2014, 11:19 AM
will this model accept 1600 mhz?
how can I tell how many mhz this 2 sticks i have in now?
Download and run memtest86+, and post a picture of the screen when it starts running the test. We can then tell you (the MHz value is about half-way down the screen - one line per stick of RAM).

lieutenantdan
02-07-2014, 01:57 AM
Is this RAM ok for G75?? Going to install 4x8 for 32gb.

33249

Zygomorphic
02-07-2014, 11:16 AM
Looks good! :) Let us know how it works!

lieutenantdan
02-11-2014, 06:00 PM
OK. Installed Corsair Vengence 2x8gb sodimms in place of the two factory installed 2x4gb Hynnix sodimms located under the back cover panel. Now have 24gb instead of 16gb. So far no problems. Laptop is snappier. If everything continues as is, I am going to replace the other two Hynnix sodimms located under the keyboard as well to go from 24gb to the maximum 32gb. I will be selling the Hynnix sodimms if anyone is interested.

lieutenantdan
02-11-2014, 07:16 PM
Well when you mix Corsair 1600 and Hynnix 1600 the speed drops from 1600 to 1333. Still works. 24gb at 1333 is faster than 16gb at 1600. Go figure. Should revert back to 1600 when I go to all Corsair inplace of original Hynnix.

TJ Hooker
02-12-2014, 02:41 PM
Well when you mix Corsair 1600 and Hynnix 1600 the speed drops from 1600 to 1333. Still works. 24gb at 1333 is faster than 16gb at 1600. Go figure. Should revert back to 1600 when I go to all Corsair inplace of original Hynnix.

How did you establish that 24GB at 1333MHz is faster than what you had? If you convert the CAS latencies from # of cycles to time, you'll get 13.5 ns for 1333MHz @ CL9 (Corsair memory) vs. 13.75 ns for 1600MHz @ CL11 (Hynix memory), a 1.8% decrease in latency. If you're just relying on your perception of speed as you're using the computer, I highly doubt you'd be able to notice any difference. To be honest, I'm a little skeptical that you'll be able to notice the difference even after you get the memory back to 1600MHz.

TotalONE
02-12-2014, 03:07 PM
Can you please post a guide how you installed 32gigs, I want to see how difficult it is to get to other 2 sticks that under keyboard.
Thank you.

Clintlgm
02-12-2014, 03:16 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z9KHrJKInmA here is the information you requested. remember you'll be voiding your warrany.

lieutenantdan
02-12-2014, 03:30 PM
How did you establish that 24GB at 1333MHz is faster than what you had? If you convert the CAS latencies from # of cycles to time, you'll get 13.5 ns for 1333MHz @ CL9 (Corsair memory) vs. 13.75 ns for 1600MHz @ CL11 (Hynix memory), a 1.8% decrease in latency. If you're just relying on your perception of speed as you're using the computer, I highly doubt you'd be able to notice any difference. To be honest, I'm a little skeptical that you'll be able to notice the difference even after you get the memory back to 1600MHz.


Faster depends on a number of factors. Not just memory. CPU-Z reports the resulting memory combination as 9-9-9-24. Also the faster Corsair memory is loaded in the first memory bank however that matters. May be only perception, but my G75VX is performing processes faster, i.e. OS, Internet, Word, Excel, Outlook and others.