PDA

View Full Version : Partitioning harddrive with Linux dual-boot



Theorize
01-14-2014, 05:48 AM
So when I bought my g55vw, I included a hybrid drive.
This came with 500 gb of physical memory and 500 gb of cached memory.

Well I recently had to put my comp in the shop, because that hard drive crashed. I have a new one now, so its all good...

However, I was wondering if any advice could be given.

I want to install a clean installation of windows 7, as well as Ubuntu on my comp. I would love all of my program data to go on my physical drives, and my OS's to go on my cached for a quick boot.

Any ideas? Thanks!

Theorize
01-14-2014, 07:35 PM
bumping

cl-Albert
01-14-2014, 08:13 PM
So when I bought my g55vw, I included a hybrid drive.
This came with 500 gb of physical memory and 500 gb of cached memory.


I'm probably not the best person to talk to about this, but thought I would give it a try.
Sorry, I'm more familiar with the G75VW than the G55VW although they should be pretty similar in many ways other than the screen size.

Anyway, was wondering if your statement about the 500Gb cached memory is really correct?
What is the physical size of your hard drive or what do you see under disk management, and what partitions and sizes do you see under Windows/File Explorer?

Haven't looked at the hybrid drives too much, but expect the cache size will be less and wonder if you have a way to access it directly in Windows, so have all those questions above.



I want to install a clean installation of windows 7, as well as Ubuntu on my comp. I would love all of my program data to go on my physical drives, and my OS's to go on my cached for a quick boot.


Sounds good in theory and you would probably do a similar thing if you had a SSD drive, but not sure that you can access your hard drive cache memory in the same way and if the cache memory would be of sufficient size if you can even access it.
If you had an SSD drive it would usually be the 'C:' drive where you install most of your programs, and if you had a 'normal' mechanical hard drive too, it would be the 'D:' drive where you kept your data, so wondering if you see or can set up anything like this with your hybrid hard drive.
If you can provide the brand and model of your hard drive, it should help us check the specs more.

Well, hopefully we can get more suggestions if any of my info is not correct.

Edit: Changed the thread title to get more info from Linux users.

Theorize
01-17-2014, 03:23 AM
Sorry, I have a 750gb hybrid drive

Here is what my properties looks like...

It seems, my partitions are already set up- I just don't know how to put my programs on my other partition.

32377

Clintlgm
01-17-2014, 03:28 AM
Simply install them to D: drive most programs will give you options to you use the custom option during set up.

Theorize
01-17-2014, 10:02 PM
So I have to do a fresh install? When I am installing, how do I do a "clean install" - without all the blotware?

Also... I don't have the disk, how would I go about that without the physical disk?

Thanks for all the information

Theorize
01-21-2014, 07:02 PM
bumping, really looking for some help here guys.

Just gotta re-install windows I believe... and I tried to install Ubuntu with no luck

http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/notebook-hard-drive-review,3270-2.html

I do believe I'm working with an Hitachi Travlestar

Zygomorphic
01-23-2014, 03:07 AM
@Theorize, to clean install, just download the .ISO legally from Microsoft, and install from that. Then, at the license key prompt, enter the key printed on the sticker on your laptop. That's perfectly legal, and removes all bloatware, though you will have to install all the drivers manually.

Theorize
01-27-2014, 07:40 PM
So I've done the clean install!

Works beautifuly except for one thing...

Whenever I try to install Adobe Reader or WinRAR, along with other programs that I havent discovered yet, the installation is inturrupted.
I get this error!

"the ordinal 459 could not be located in the dynamic link library urlmon.dll"

Does anyone know how to fix this? Or do I just have to do another installation?

Zygomorphic
01-28-2014, 02:42 AM
I don't know. Strange error, to say the least. I haven't seen it before, could you try running system file checker ("sfc /scannow") from the command prompt as an administrator?

haihane
01-28-2014, 06:19 AM
I want to install a clean installation of windows 7, as well as Ubuntu on my comp. I would love all of my program data to go on my physical drives, and my OS's to go on my cached for a quick boot.


i remember reading about hybrid drives sometime back, then went to search for it again. here's what it said:



Two years ago, Seagate (quickly followed by Samsung) introduced a drive that married a small SSD with a mechanical drive. The objective was to deliver the superior speed of an expensive SSD, while retaining the higher capacity and lower cost of a conventional hard drive. Now that Toshiba and Western Digital are joining the party, it's a great time to explain in more detail what hybrid drives are and how they operate.

Hybrid drives work much in the same way as the current dual-technology configurations in many gaming and power-user PCs, as well as some ultraportable laptops. Such systems have a small, discrete SSD to hold the operating system and frequently used data, augmented by a more capacious conventional hard drive for less frequently accessed data and large collections of documents and digital media.

Current hybrid drive designs, in contrast, deliver both technologies within a single physical unit, and they employ software caching algorithms (rather than relying on the user's brain) to decide which data belongs on the SSD portion and what goes on the drive’s platters.

These caching algorithms reside in the hybrid drive's firmware, not the device driver. To the computer’s operating system, a hybrid drive appears as a single unit with the SSD portion acting strictly as a large cache. The cache is nonvolatile, so the data doesn't disappear when power is absent.
source: http://www.pcworld.com/article/2012223/hybrid-hard-drives-how-they-work-and-why-they-matter.html

if this is true, i don't think you can manually determine which goes where.

Zygomorphic
01-28-2014, 11:18 AM
i remember reading about hybrid drives sometime back, then went to search for it again. here's what it said:



source: http://www.pcworld.com/article/2012223/hybrid-hard-drives-how-they-work-and-why-they-matter.html

if this is true, i don't think you can manually determine which goes where.
That is correct, that is how the Seagate Momentus XT drives operate. I have one. They employ an MRU (most recently used) algorithm for determining what goes into the cache. It tracks frequent sector reads, with few sector writes, and then caches that location. That's why it accelerates things like Windows boot, which accesses a bunch of little files read-only.