PDA

View Full Version : G74SX Memory (recommendation wanted)

digitaleyes
09-17-2011, 02:08 PM
Has anyone added an extra 4GB memory module to the g74SX for a full 16gb? I really want to upgrade, but don't know exactly what to go with. I know I need 204 pin DDR3 1333. But I was always under the impression that one wants the same exact memory modules for best performance. But I'll also admit I'm a noob when it comes down to laptop hardware. What would you guys recommend? Would I be better off buying 4 new sticks of the same exact sticks of memory or buying just one that has matching specs???

TIA
mike

jorlanm
09-17-2011, 02:28 PM
If your buying 4 new sticks make sure that they are faster than the ones installed already...otherwise its just a waste of money...If you just want to pickup the same one its not hard just take a snapshot of wat mem stick you have and go to the store and buy the same one...

Do note though your not realy goin to see a performance increase...Majority of programs are still made to run on 32-Bit environment...hence they are not made to use more than 4GB...to some extent 8GB RAM is already overkill...

Boosted_R
09-17-2011, 07:40 PM
not worth it..... I have 8GB and that's way more than enough, i assume you have 12GB........ 8, 12, and 16 will have very little change, save your money...... I also was going to upgrade to 16GB till i saw the benefits was next to nothing.....maybe in a couple of years

Chastity@ASUS
09-18-2011, 08:35 AM
Has anyone added an extra 4GB memory module to the g74SX for a full 16gb? I really want to upgrade, but don't know exactly what to go with. I know I need 204 pin DDR3 1333. But I was always under the impression that one wants the same exact memory modules for best performance. But I'll also admit I'm a noob when it comes down to laptop hardware. What would you guys recommend? Would I be better off buying 4 new sticks of the same exact sticks of memory or buying just one that has matching specs???

TIA
mike