PDA

View Full Version : Thinking of upgrading my G75VW screen



StereoROG
01-25-2014, 06:04 PM
Got a G75vw anti glare 60Hz screen

Thinking of changing it to the below:

ASUS G75VW-DS73-3D,120Hz 3D ,17.3" WUXGA FULL HD LED LCD

Any advice?


Laptop specs :

Intel Core i7-3610QM Processor 2.3GHz
16 GB SO-DIMM RAM ( 2x4gb elpida's + 2x4gb corsair vengeance ) = Dont ask : x ordered 2 more vengeances so its all good
1TB 5400rpm Hard Drive + 256GB Solid State Drive
17.3-Inch Full-HD LED Screen, Nvidia GTX 670M
Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit

upgrading my wifi soon to Intel Network 7260

SHADO
01-25-2014, 09:00 PM
Can't be done. The cables/connectors for the 3d screen are different. 40 pin for your screen, 50 pin for the 3d screen (if memory serves).

StereoROG
01-25-2014, 10:33 PM
ASUS G75VW-DS73-3D,120Hz 3D ,17.3" WUXGA FULL HD LED LCD replacement

Max Resolution; 1920*1080
Pins: 40 Pins
Screen Finish: Glossy
Screen Size; 17.3"
Backlight: LED

ASUS G75VW-TS72 17.3" WUXGA HD LED LCD replacement

Max Resolution: 1920*1080
Connector Pins: 40
Screen Finish: Glossy
Screen Size: 17.3"
Backlight: LED


Taken from Amazon

SHADO
01-26-2014, 02:39 AM
ASUS G75VW-DS73-3D,120Hz 3D ,17.3" WUXGA FULL HD LED LCD replacement

Max Resolution; 1920*1080
Pins: 40 Pins
Screen Finish: Glossy
Screen Size; 17.3"
Backlight: LED

ASUS G75VW-TS72 17.3" WUXGA HD LED LCD replacement

Max Resolution: 1920*1080
Connector Pins: 40
Screen Finish: Glossy
Screen Size: 17.3"
Backlight: LED


Taken from Amazon

Interesting. It has been discussed here a few times before (not by me) and claims were made that it wasn't doable for the reasons I previously stated. I'd like to hear from you if this works out! :) Replacing the display itself is a piece of cake. Half hour job (max) if you REALLY take your time.

EDIT: Just went to screen country and looked for a replacement screen for the ASUS G75VW-DS73-3D (as shown in your last post), and it shows a 50 pin connection, not 40.

http://www.screencountry.com/index.php?section=products&model=G75VW-DS73-3D&brand=ASUS&series=OTHER%20ASUS%20MODELS

Same info here.

http://www.laptopscreen.com/English/model/ASUS/G75VW-DS73-3D/

StereoROG
01-26-2014, 09:29 PM
Thank you for clarifying my search was on Amazon so i guess they put the wrong info.

SHADO
01-26-2014, 10:36 PM
Thank you for clarifying my search was on Amazon so i guess they put the wrong info.

You're welcome. Sorry it can't be done. I would've liked to do it, too. :(

Although I did replace my matte screen with a glossy one.

NikkuROG
11-20-2014, 04:17 AM
So... I have a slight deformity in the middle of my Asus G75vw's Screen... I am looking to replace it with the 3D one, not for the "3D".. but for the 120hz. I have gone to many sites. for 3D model: http://www.laptopscreen.com/English/model/ASUS/G75VW-DS73-3D/ For My Model: http://www.laptopscreen.com/English/model/ASUS/G75VW-TH72/ They both have the exact same 40pin requirement. They are both 1080p and LED.

I guess my question is if it really isn't possible to make the 120hz work. I have a 120hz HDTV and it outputs to that refresh rate through hdmi. I have a gtx 670m in my ROG Laptop, why wouldn't this be possible? I hope someone can make this clear to me with facts. I am planning to get one but return it if it doesn't work... I just would rather not go through the hassle of returning it. If the motherboards are different then is it still possible to use the 120hz output? Please clear this up for me. I am not a pro at upgrades but I have built a few Desktops...

NikkuROG
11-20-2014, 04:26 AM
Interesting. It has been discussed here a few times before (not by me) and claims were made that it wasn't doable for the reasons I previously stated. I'd like to hear from you if this works out! :) Replacing the display itself is a piece of cake. Half hour job (max) if you REALLY take your time.

EDIT: Just went to screen country and looked for a replacement screen for the ASUS G75VW-DS73-3D (as shown in your last post), and it shows a 50 pin connection, not 40.

http://www.screencountry.com/index.php?section=products&model=G75VW-DS73-3D&brand=ASUS&series=OTHER%20ASUS%20MODELS

Same info here.

http://www.laptopscreen.com/English/model/ASUS/G75VW-DS73-3D/

Actually both of the links you provided say that the 3D model has 40pin connector. So you are wrong about the edit of 50pins unless I missed somthing.. can you provide a link that says its 50pins.

EckoInLasVegas
11-21-2014, 08:02 PM
From what I recall, on all previous models (g74, g73), the 3D screens were always 50-pin.

Essentially all you NEED to know is the manufacturer and part/model number of the screen itself. Once you have that I suggest you go to panelook.com and verify all the info you need to know.

Also, on previous generations the 3D models had more memory on the VCard (1gb usually)